I’m Puzzled–Not!

Puzzle 1 thek9harperlee

A few days ago, I had a visit from After-Christmas Santa. Are you familiar with After-Christmas Santa? He’s the Santa who shops all the after-Christmas sales and then brings you twice as many surprises as regular Santa . . . at half the cost. Well, apparently After-Christmas Santa walked into my local pet supply store (I wonder if he was still wearing his Christmas outfit?) and right there, immediately inside the store, he saw a huge display of pet puzzles . . . ON SALE . . . HALF PRICE! Lucky, lucky for me!

Puzzled 3 thek9harperlee

My human mommy had been looking for a really good puzzle for me for a very long time, so I think she was just as excited as I was with After-Christmas Santa’s delivery. (Mommy is obsessed with exercising my body and my mind. You might recall the IQ test I took a few months ago.) Mommy helped me open the box (I don’t have opposable thumbs so, while I can open boxes, the result is usually a bit of a mess), and then showed my brand new Treat Hunter puzzle to me.

Puzzled 5 thek9harperlee

She then placed some super yummy extra special Christmas gift treats into each of the little slots while I watched, closed the sliders, looked at me, and said, “Get it, Miss Lee!” Game on!

Puzzled 6 thek9harperlee

In no time at all, I was shoving those little sliders to the side with my big nose, reaching into those little slots with my long tongue, and gobbling treats like there was no tomorrow. I’m not bragging–really, I’m not–but I must tell you that I caught on to it fairly quickly . . . and that’s when things took a bit of a turn. Instead of filling the little slots with my super yummy extra special Christmas gift treats, Mommy started to put one tiny morsel of my regular food into each little slot. I still raced through the puzzle, but it was a little less fun. Then my human daddy said, “Let’s put the one tiny morsel of regular food [he may not have used those exact words] into just a few of the little slots.” What? Leave it to the humans to take a really fun new toy and suddenly make it not so fun.

Puzzled 2 thek9harperlee

So, I’ve given this a little thought, and I have a plan: I think it’s time to play dumb. If I start pretending that I have absolutely no idea how to move those little sliders, my humans will go back to filling the little slots–every single slot–with my super yummy extra special Christmas gift treats. And then, if I play even dumber, they may just find something even better than my super yummy extra special Christmas gift treats to fill those little slots. Yes, I have a feeling that my new Treat Hunter puzzle from After-Christmas Santa is going to be a very, very good gift.

46 Comments on “I’m Puzzled–Not!”

  1. fredrieka says:

    the shut down works I have tried it. Mom though figured it out and stopped with the treats. So now I do the task she asked for even if I get bored.

  2. Emma says:

    That is just awful, bordering on abusive behavior by your humans! It is supposed to be fun, and fun means treats, geez! I could see obedience or something awful like that using boring food, but a game, seriously!

  3. cafall says:

    After Christmas presents are the best! Love the last photo!

    Monty and Harlow

  4. PigLove says:

    I like the way you think my friend. It’s no fun unless there are plenty of treats to be had. Why put out the effort if there isn’t? Mommy does the same thing with me on my busy wheel. These humans – what are we going to do with them? XOXO – Bacon

  5. lol, playing dumb always works. What a great puzzle and review. You are so pretty, have a wonderful day.

    • As a blonde, I have found that I can be super convincing when playing dumb. Fools the humans every time. BOL! Mommy is thinking of getting in touch with After-Christmas Santa to see if there are any other puzzles that I might like. :-)

  6. OMD…. dat looks like soooooooo much fun. Good plan on playing dumb. You’ll show dem who is really da smart one in the family. hehehe
    Now I want a puzzle toy.

    • I hope you get a puzzle toy, Ranger, because I know that you would love it. But a little word of advice: Even though I know you’ll catch on immediately, try to act a little puzzled (get it?) for a while. I promise your tummy will appreciate it. ;-)

  7. Ya, I would hold out for treats too.

  8. Don’t you just love after Christmas surprise gifts.
    Now if the humans would just leave well enough alone.
    I like your idea close your eyes and maybe the good treats will reappear.

  9. Fernando1958 says:

    I like that after Christmas Santa.
    I think that toy is suppose to train humans to fill them him more than force your dog to go through all the slots. So you have to train them to put quality products. If they put “regular” food try limping when you walk to the toy. They will feel sad and replace them with the good stuff :)

  10. Misaki says:

    i think that sounds like a good tactic to me, hopethey get the message soon!

  11. I have a few of those IQ puzzles for my tiny brain, and Mom does the same thing!! She starts out strong, but soon, she puts ONE lousy Cheerio in only a few of the doors. Gah! You should try The Tornado puzzle. That’s a tough one. I hope Santa finds it on sale soon.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    • Oh, Cupcake, I am so sorry to hear that your mom is one of “those” moms too. :-) Now I’m going to grab Mommy’s cell phone and give After-Christmas Santa a call to ask for the Tornado puzzle. Thanks!

  12. Kuruk says:

    Miss Lee you are so smart! Big nose kissie fur your cutesie nosie! xoxoxoxo, Ku

  13. ThatJenK says:

    After-Christmas Santa is the best! Short work was certainly made of that puzzle.

  14. Cool puzzle HL! And you model it sooo well!

  15. Mom and dad ran into After-Christmas Santa while they were in New York – he is the best!! Mom was actually looking for a puzzle toy for us too but the Petco they visited didn’t have any…she was pretty disappointed.

    Pawsome puzzle Miss HL…little does your mommy know that you don’t need a fancy puzzle to outsmart her *BOL* you’re secret is safe with us ;-)
    Wally & Sammy

  16. dogdaz says:

    That looks like fun, The puzzle we have is so complicated that Mommy even gives up and opens it for us. BOL

  17. goldenwoofs says:

    Golden LAUGHS! LOVE LOVE the last photo. Oh I got a similar toy (its not a toy) last Christmas, Yours is harder and a bit too much work. You did a PAWsome job. Lots of Golden Woofs, Sugar

  18. Ooo I love puzzle toys! I have 3 of them at home. The first puzzle…I destroyed partially but quickly learned the ropes. Let me link you to the first puzzle on my youtube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QuR2a13gpkY

    • So cute! Love the way you were digging your foot into the tile floor when you got really serious. ;-) Mommy just saw that puzzle on Instagram, and now she’s obsessed with finding it for more.

  19. Marcie says:

    I’ve always wanted to try the slider pet puzzles with my dog too. I think I would debate forever on which one to get with all the different styles they have. However, a great after-holiday sale on one would definitely help sway me on which one to get! :)

  20. 2browndawgs says:

    After Christmas Santa sure found a great puzzle. :) I think you are on the right track to getting more treats, that is how smart you are. :)

  21. You are some lucky girl Miss Harper Lee. Sounds like you have everything figured out.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 700 other followers