“Celebrating” the Fifth Season

5th Season 1 thek9harperlee

Where I live, we’re preparing for our fifth season. We have spring and summer and fall and winter just like the rest of you. But here in South Louisiana, we also have a “bonus” season. It’s called Hurricane Season. It started June 1, and we don’t like it one little bit.

5th Season 4 thek9happerlee

A hurricane named Gustav did this to my back yard in 2008. Fortunately, that was before my time, but my humans still talk about (or should I say complain about) clearing this 75-foot pine tree and living without electricity in stifling heat for two weeks. I was around in 2012 for another storm named Isaac. By the time Isaac knocked on our door, he was just a strong tropical storm, but we still lost power for almost a week. Let me tell you, being a Golden Retriever in hot and humid South Louisiana without air conditioning is not fun.

5th Season 2 thek9harperlee

That’s why I’m so happy that my humans found this battery-operated fan for me. Of all the hurricane supplies we have in our hurricane-supply storage bin, I think this is the single most important.

5th Season 3 thek9harperlee

It’s crucial for humans living in areas affected by hurricanes to plan and prepare. You can click here for some valuable tips from the National Hurricane Center. And please don’t forget about your pets. Click here for disaster preparation plans from my friends at the LSU School of Veterinary Medicine. As for me, I have my plan all set. I’m keeping my paws crossed that we make it through November 30–the final day of the fifth season–without having to pull out my battery-operated fan. But if the fan does have to come out, I plan on plopping myself right in front of it, enjoying the refreshing breeze, and channeling my inner Beyoncé.

30 Comments on ““Celebrating” the Fifth Season”

  1. Kuruk says:

    Be safe in those scary hurricanes Beauwooowooootiful Miss Lee!

    • Thank you, Ku. At least we have days of warning when one is headed our way. Mommy says she’d be a nervous wreck if we had to worry about earthquakes! Hope you don’t feel any movement beneath your beautiful furry feet. :-)

  2. We are praying for a quiet 5th season for you all.
    Marty and Mom

  3. dorysbackyard says:

    That is some very, very, very good advice Harper Lee!!
    Smileys!
    Dory, Jakey, Arty & Bilbo

  4. noahzbark says:

    OMGoodness Harper, I pray that you don’t have to endure any damages or stifling heat this year. You, Mom & Dad deserve to be in comfort. That’s what I wish for all of you.

  5. We definitely need to invest in one of those. Louisiana doesn’t play when it comes to storms, heat, and humidity. I might would rather have a fan like that than food! hahaha!

  6. Hurricanes are not fun. We had SuperStorm Sandy not long ago. I didn’t mind the power outage as much as Mom. We’re both afraid of the dark, but to me, it mostly meant more time riding in the car. We drove to McDonalds for breakfast and ate at the park. Then we sat in the car to charge the cellphone. We even sat in long gas lines to fill the tank. It was a week of car rides! Pretty cool. Even still I hope no more storms come your way. Or ours.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    • Ha ha! After Isaac, we spent time just riding around in the car too . . . mostly so that we could enjoy the air conditioning and charge cell phones. We never actually went anywhere. Here’s hoping that none of us will be going for post-storm car rides this year!

  7. Yeesh! Gustav looked pretty destructive! South Africa, and Johannesburg in particular, is a pretty placid place…we have summer thunderstorms, the occasional flood and veld fire and even more occasionally an earth tremor but other than that we’re pretty dull actually. We do lose power usually in winter butt that is because of our poorly run parastatal power company who suck us dry with high prices butt are unable to keep the lights on regardless….sorry…that just popped out.
    We’re keeping our paws crossed that you have an uneventful 5th season Miss HL
    Wally & Sammy

    • Mommy had to Google veld fire and we had no idea that South Africa experiences earth tremors. You boys are always educating my mommy and me! Don’t even get my mommy started on our power company. After the last storm, she went to a meeting with the power company to see if they could possibly do anything about restoring electricity to our neighborhood in a more timely manner (we are always the very last neighborhood in our city to regain power). After the meeting, she came home and said to Daddy, “We need to get a generator.” Instead she spent her money on a fancy vacation, so she is absolutely not allowed to complain if we lose power this year . . . but she probably will. ;-)

      • Ooops, we forgot to explain what a veld fire is – sorry. As for the tremors, those are mostly felt in the old mining areas like Johannesburg and Bloemfontein. Johannesburg in particular is virtually one big hollow cavern below the surface because of all the mining that took place here – it worries mom terribly *BOL*

  8. fozziemum says:

    We hope you stay safe from the hurricanes sweet one..seems so many people have times of year when the stress levels go up due to Mother Nature! hugs and loves Fozziemum xx

  9. fredrieka says:

    oh high paw that fan looks great. Old Cissy would be miserable , I am skinny not much hair, wet me down I am ready to go or sleep for a while.

  10. pawedblog says:

    Oh goodness, we hope you’ll all be staying safe and hurricane season doesn’t treat you too badly! Eek… your fan looks great though!
    Hugs, Carrie and pups x

  11. As bad as they are, hurricanes do have silver linings. I got Dudley who was stranded in dog jail during Hurricane Floyd. Here’s hoping for a mild hurricane season! Right now, I’m at work and it’s thundering and I just know Louie is scared home alone. Can I leave work early maybe?

    • Awwwww, Dudley most definitely was a silver lining. Mommy says that Gustav had a silver lining because the neighborhood really came together to get things cleaned up during the day and enjoy barbecues during the evening. Sounds like you’re getting the weather we had yesterday. If it helps, you can tell your boss that Miss Harper Lee said it would be ok for you to go home and be with sweet Louie. :-)

  12. Jan K says:

    That fan seems like an excellent idea, we could even use one here when our power goes out during storms. I hope you don’t need to get it out though, Miss Lee.
    You do look cute in your raincoat though!

  13. I hope you have a safe fifth season.

  14. You looks so cute in that red coat! ;)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 757 other followers