Rerun: Detour Part 1

Botanic Garden 1 thek9harperlee

I kid about my human mommy/blogging assistant not needing a vacation, but everyone needs a little time to stop and smell the roses . . . and sometimes, if you open your eyes and pay attention, you’ll find the most beautiful roses on life’s little detours. I hope Mommy’s enjoying her break, and I hope you’ll enjoy taking this little detour with me one more time . . .

Sometimes, days just don’t work out the way you had planned. Yesterday seemed like it was going to be one of those days. All week, my human mommy looked forward to taking me to the BREC Independence Community Park Botanic Garden, just down the street from our house. Although the week had been quite wet and dreary, the weathermen promised that Thursday would be beautiful. Even I was beginning to get excited about our outing.

Alas, the weathermen were wrong. We awoke to more drizzle and overcast skies. Then my mommy got sidetracked, and our field trip was pushed off to the afternoon, when whatever sun we might have would not be good for photos. It seemed like our day was taking a very bad detour.

Botanic Garden 3 thek9harperlee

But we went ahead with our plans, and I’m so glad that we did. The park was beautiful. Despite the recent rains, the butterfly garden was in full bloom.

Clouds thek9harperlee

The clouds still hung a little low in the distance . . .

Bench 1 thek9harperlee

but the views from the bench . . .

Botanic Garden 2 thek9harperlee

and from the herb garden ledge were magnificent.

Roses 1 thek9harperlee

The roses were beautiful, even the petals that had been pushed to the ground by the rain drops.

Roses 3 thek9harperlee

The amazing fragrances helped to brighten the day.

Smell the Roses 1 thek9harperlee

Our trip to the park and botanic garden turned out to be pretty special, and I learned something very significant: Even on life’s little detours, it’s important to stop and smell the roses.

14 Comments on “Rerun: Detour Part 1”

  1. You are so photogenic. Nice pics and that garden is beautiful when all the blooms are in. Too bad they don’t have the Christmas lighting any more.

  2. Kenziesong says:

    Such a pretty Golden. I have two and they are much darker than yours!

  3. Gaye says:

    An important lesson learned from our friend, Harper Lee! Keep smelling those roses!!

  4. Dyan says:

    You must make sure your human mommy shares the image of you “smelling the rose” with all of her human friends. If you, with all the wonderful smells that surround you – ones that we can only imagine to sense – feel the need to smell a rose, then we humans must do the same.

  5. Miss Harper Lee never fails to entertain The Red Man and his worthless editor the old woman Slow. This one is particularly beautiful – a delight for the eyes!! Enjoy your break…and come back when you are ready! :)

    • I’m so happy that you and Slow enjoyed this. My humans finally came back to me yesterday. I spent my vacation with my three Golden friends–The Big Days–so I must admit that I’m a little pooped today. But by Tuesday, I’ll be missing all the vacation fun and looking at my humans with a look that clearly says to them, “You are dull, dull, dull!” ;-)

  6. Such arooootiful photos of you Miss HL. We’ve been following your mommy & daddy’s holiday via Instagram…WOW…they are visiting some amazing places!
    Wally & Sammy

    • They had a really fabulous time. No doubt they’ll be boring all of my blog friends with a few snapshots of their adventures. ;-) A trip to South Africa is still on their must-do list!

  7. Misaki says:

    Looking lovely Miss HL


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 691 other followers