The Pumpkin Patch: I Think I Was Tricked

I’ve been thinking about Halloween a lot lately. It really is the perfect dog holiday: it involves tricks (I know a few) and treats (one of my favorite things). It even sounds like something a dog would say: Howl-o-ween (get it?). So I was quite excited when I hopped into the car for a trip to the pumpkin patch to select what would become our Halloween jack-o-lantern.

We didn’t go to one of those quaint little country pumpkin patches. We went to the “urban pumpkin patch” at our neighborhood Whole Foods Market. Lots of parents were taking pictures of their children against the backdrop of pumpkins and gourds. I was the only four-legged subject, so I received lots of oohs and aahs and petting. I liked that. So far, this day was turning out to be the perfect treat.

After selecting a gorgeous pumpkin, we headed back home to enjoy the beautiful afternoon. That’s when my treat of a day turned tricky. I thought our wonderful new pumpkin would become the jack-o-lantern . . .

. . . but I think I was tricked! It looks like I’m being turned into the jack-o-lantern. And it’s  worse from the front . . .

I think I deserve a treat for enduring this trick, don’t you? Happy Halloween!

One Comment on “The Pumpkin Patch: I Think I Was Tricked”

  1. Gaye says:

    Oh Harper Lee! You precious little pumpkin!!! You made Mr. Frank & me laugh!


Leave a Reply

