Happy Golden Friday!

Happy Golden Friday! This morning my human mommy pulled out the PetSmart flier and announced that we were heading out to catch all of the sales. Then she started laughing and assured me that neither of us would be going anywhere near a retail center today (although we may celebrate Small Business Saturday tomorrow). Instead, we are enjoying Golden Friday–a day when Golden Retrievers (like me) get lots and lots of love from their humans (shouldn’t every day be Golden Day?). We’re also going to watch our LSU Tigers (whose colors are purple and gold) play their last regular season game of the year against the Arkansas Razorbacks.

Yesterday, my humans had Thanksgiving dinner at Tujague’s in New Orleans. It must have been really yummy, because they did not come home with a doggy bag. Oh well, maybe next time. Since the humans were away for most of the day, I had a lot of time to think about being thankful.

I am thankful for all of my toys. I really have far too many toys, but I love each and every one. I’ve started a collection of SEC mascot toys (the SEC, or  Southeastern Conference, is where my beloved Tigers play). Here you can see Pink Pig (for the Arkansas Razorbacks), Gator (for the Florida Gators), and just a hint of Big Al (for the Alabama Crimson Tide–I have no idea why they have an elephant for their mascot).

I am also thankful for all of my beds. Again, I have too many, but I like to sleep on each one at different times of the day. My human daddy calls this bed The $64 Bed. He is hung up over the fact that this bed cost $64. It belonged to Talbot, the Golden Retriever who preceded me; so that means that it’s more than 10 years old–a little more than $6 per year. My human mommy thinks that perhaps it’s time for my human daddy to get over the cost of this bed.

This is The Blue Bed. I love this bed because it’s positioned right next to the den windows and doors. From this bed, I can look out at my patio and back yard without every getting up. That’s pretty wonderful.

This is The Brown Bed. It’s in the room where my humans sleep. When my sister Lexi was alive, this was her bed. I did not go near it then, but now I am allowed on this bed. I like to sleep here because it reminds me of Lexi and how much I loved (and respected) her.

And this is my Princess and the Pea Bed. As you can see, it’s just The Blue Bed on top of The Brown Bed. My humans do this for me at night, and I can assure you it makes for the world’s most comfortable sleep.

This is what I looked like Thanksgiving night. I’ll bet a lot of you looked like this by the end of the day. With my humans back home, I realized the one thing for which I am most thankful: I have been loved each and every single day of my life. Sadly, there too many people and animals that cannot say that, so I know that I am very, very fortunate. And because of all of the love that I have received, I plan to share that love every day of my life, everywhere I go, and with everyone I meet.

6 Comments on “Happy Golden Friday!”

  1. Jane says:

    Thanks Miss Harper Lee for reminded me how much I am grateful for all my furry friends . . .!!! We have Molly, the queen feline, Mineau our three-toed John Wayne walk rescue, and the big ole guy Bouk the yellow lab! He’s getting up there in years and has difficulty seeing, hearing and walking but open up a package of Cracker Barrell Sharp Yellow Cheese and he’ll be there in seconds . . . !!!

  2. Happy Golden Friday! Love all the beds 🙂

  3. Gaye says:

    And we are thankful to have you as one of our playmates. We love you, Kenai, Maggie, & Sunshine

  4. What a beauty you are. You deserve all those wonderful beds.


Leave a Reply

