Grillin’ and Chillin’ on a Sazerac Sunday

Nap thek9harperlee

My human mommy spent the entire weekend decorating our house for Christmas. My human daddy and I watched–between naps–and by Sunday evening we were simply exhausted from observing all of that activity. We had earned a little grillin’ and chillin’ time on the patio. But first, my daddy had to prepare his Sunday Sazerac.

Sazerac thek9harperlee

The Sazerac is the official cocktail of New Orleans. This may come as a shock to you, but I am not especially fond of the Sazerac. You may like it, however, so here’s the recipe my daddy uses. He got this recipe from his father-in-law, who also happens to be my human grandfather and my mommy’s father.

Sazerac Ingredients thek9harperlee

The Sazerac

intended for human adult consumption, and if you decide to consume a Sazerac, bear in mind this quote from Ti Adelaide Martin of Commander’s Palace in New Orleans:

“Do have just one, as you won’t be nearly as attractive as you think you are after two.”

Swirl 1 tablespoon of Herbsaint to coat the inside of a glass and throw out (seems like a waste, but you’re just going for the flavor). Add to the glass:

  • 1 jigger of Old Overholt rye whiskey (you can buy more expensive brands, but this one is really good, according to my daddy and my grandfather)
  • 2 tablespoons of simple syrup (you can make your own by adding one cup of boiling water to one cup of sugar)
  • 6 drops of Peychaud’s bitters
  • 3 to 4 drops of Angostura bitters
  • ice and a twist of lemon peel

Grillin' thek9harperlee

So with the Sazerac made, my daddy and I were ready to do a little grillin’. I am an excellent grilling assistant. When my daddy opens the kitchen cabinet to get his grilling utensils, I run to the patio door, ready to help in any way I can. I keep a close eye on every move my daddy makes.

Tongs thek9harperlee

Sometimes I even get a little sample. Sunday night I had a taste of salmon, and it was delicious.

Chillin' thek9harperlee
Sazerac prepared and consumed? Check. Salmon grilled and enjoyed? Check. The only thing left was a little chillin’ on the patio with my reindeer friend Blitzen in the background. We were fortunate to have a mild (even for us) Sunday evening, so I thoroughly enjoyed my time outside. I have to say, my holiday season is off to a pretty merry start!
7 Comments on “Grillin’ and Chillin’ on a Sazerac Sunday”

  1. Gaye says:

    You are up early this am Harper Lee! I would think that your human mommy would be the one who would need the Sazerac after all that Christmas decorating!

  2. Miss Jodi Michaelson sent the following comment, which somehow ended up in blog post never-never land, but I found it (must be that amazing Golden Retriever nose):
    I Love all of your collars! Where do you shop? I know Raven would love to have a jingle Bell collar like the one you are wearing.

    Here’s my reply:
    Thank you! The jingle bell collar is a hand-me-down. It belonged to my Gran’s black lab, Pontalba, and it is a very big deal that Gran passed it on to me. She must really love me.

  3. Definitely a well deserved rest. Sounds like you’re having a fabulous time. I’d never even heard of Sazerac but, then again, I am an awfully long way away from New Orleans.

  4. Ogee says:

    You don’t have to like the Sazerac. You can just stick to beer 🙂


Leave a Reply

