Haute Dog Couture: The Christmas Collection

2012 Christmas Card thek9harperlee

I am not a huge fan of “outfits.” For anyone who saw my Halloween pumpkin costume photos, this probably comes as absolutely no surprise. I do, however, love to don a feather boa-tiara combo, and I am bananas for bandanas.

But there is nothing better than a great collar. My human mommy saw those little tulle tutus, intended for the waists of small girls, and thought, “That would make a great festive dog collar. I could do that.” (She quite often thinks, “I could do that.”) And so she did. She simply sewed together the ends of some red elastic, cut out little strips of red and green tulle, and tied the strips of tulle around the elastic band. Voila! A Christmas collar. (Of course it seems very simple to me because I slept through the whole process.) This is the collar that I wore to visit Santa. You’ll get to read all about that next week.

Bell Collar thek9harperlee

I also have this fabulous jingle bell collar, which was a gift from my Gran. It belonged to her Black Lab, Pontalba. (She was named for Micaela Leonarda Antonia Almonester, the Baroness de Pontalba, who designed the Pontalba Buildings in Jackson Square, which is the heart of New Orleans’ French Quarter. And you thought I only knew about treats and chasing squirrels!) My Gran truly loved Pontalba, so it is a very big deal that she thought I was worthy of this collar.

Merry Collar thek9harperlee

My Gran must think that I am something special, because she also gave me Pontalba’s needlepoint Merry Christmas collar. Isn’t it grand? I am so happy that I have almost a full month left to enjoy all of my Christmas collars. They really put me in quite the festive mood. I hope that they’ve helped to brighten your spirits, too!

15 Comments on “Haute Dog Couture: The Christmas Collection”

  1. Maryanne says:

    Thanks for the fashion show, Miss Harper Lee! Very nice stuff. Your Mommy is very creative and your Gran sounds like a doll. I can’t wait to see the Santa visit pictures next week! 🙂

  2. Gaye says:

    You are such a cute little Christmas elf!!

  3. Jodi Michaelson. says:

    Love all of your collars! I found a jingle bell collar for sweet Raven and she was a little frightened of it. We took it back and found another one with less bells that is just as cute, she seems to like it!

  4. Jane says:

    If your Gran needlepointed you a color, she truely loves you Miss Harper Lee!!!!

  5. Ogee says:

    You are so lucky to have such a wonderful Mommy and Gran to dress you in such finery! And you wear it well 🙂

  6. cornishtim says:

    Wow! You are lovely. I will try to get my humans to dress me up when I’m older. At the moment I just have to try to eat everything they put on me.


Leave a Reply

