A Very Merry Christmas from Me

Merry Christmas 1 thek9harperlee

A very Merry Christmas to all of my friends–those with two legs and those with four. I hope that you had a magical day, filled with special treats and happy moments.

Cajun Nigh 2 thek9harperlee

My celebration began with a Christmas Eve reading of the Cajun Night Before Christmas. (You can click here to read the story for yourself; or better yet, click here to hear the story being read.) Did you know that when Santa gets to South Louisiana he ditches the reindeer (even Rudolph) and the sleigh and hitches a little boat (called a skiff) to a team of alligators? The alligators have names like Gaston, Pierre, Ninette, and Suzette. He also changes from that familiar bright red suit to a suit made from muskrat. It’s true.

Opening Gifts 2 thek9harperlee

In the morning, it was time to open the packages that I have been eyeing–and sniffing–under the Christmas tree. I must admit that I am not an early riser, so it was mid-morning . . . some might even call it late morning . . . before I finally got to my gifts. My friends Gracie and Sam, who live next to me, gave me some wonderful blueberry and yogurt treats. How did they know that blueberries and yogurt are two of my very favorite things?

Pink Bone 1 thek9harperlee

I also received this wonderful pink rope bone from my humans. I immediately took it to my blue bed and started chewing. By the afternoon, I had already caused some minor damage. I will try to be careful with this new toy, but I cannot make any promises.

Tree 2 thek9harperlee

As the sun set on my fourth Christmas day, I was starting to get a little sad that all the fun was coming to an end. But then my humans explained to me that Christmas day actually marks the beginning of the 12 days of Christmas. Eleven more days to celebrate? That news makes me a very merry Golden Retriever!

6 Comments on “A Very Merry Christmas from Me”

  1. cornishtim says:

    My first Christmas. Only my two humans to share the day with but I got a first walk that I will soon blog about. Today their children come with something called a granddaughter ( ? ). I will try hard not to be jealous! Merry days. Elsie xx

    • So wonderful that you had your humans all to yourself for your first Christmas day. Cannot wait to read about your first walk. By the way, a granddaughter is the human version of a puppy . . . but not nearly as cute!

  2. Gaye says:

    You are a very special little Christmas elf, Harper Lee!

  3. Glad you are having a Merry Christmas HarperLee!


Leave a Reply

