My Winter Break Tour of the LSU Campus

Tiger Tree 2 thek9harperlee

Yesterday, I enjoyed our first sunny afternoon since Christmas day and toured the campus of Louisiana State University. It was the perfect time to visit because the school is on winter break and I had the place practically to myself. I started in front of the Memorial Tower and the university’s Christmas tree. The Memorial Tower, also know and the Campanile, was built in 1923 and dedicated in 1926 as a memorial to Louisianans who died in World War I.

Library 2 thek9harperlee

My next stop was the Quad, the heart of the LSU campus. The Quad is anchored on the north end by Middleton Library, completed in 1958 and named for General Troy H. Middleton, who fought in World War II and served as LSU’s fifteenth president. Just being in front of a university library makes me look pretty smart, don’t you think?

Quad 2 thek9harperlee

Atkinson Hall is at the south end of the Quad. Academic buildings surround the courtyard area, which is filled with beautiful azalea and lily blossoms in the spring. The summer brings crepe myrtle and magnolia blooms. In fall, the entire campus overflows with exuberant Tiger fans enjoying adult beverages and cheering on the football team.

Fountain 1 thek9harperlee

Dodson Fountain, installed in the 1930s, sits on the western side of the Quad. I was a little tempted to jump into the fountain, but I managed to control myself.

Journalism 3 thek9harperlee

When I left the Quad, I headed over to the Journalism Building. The oldest building on the LSU campus, it originally stood on the university’s old campus near downtown Baton Rouge and was moved brick by brick in the 1930s to the current campus. I thought my experience as a blogger might impress some of the mass communications faculty, but the doors were locked and no one appeared to be in the building. I’ll have to visit another time.

Indian Mound 1 thek9harperlee

I got a better view of the Journalism Building from near the top of one of the two LSU Mounds. Built by Native Americans more than 5,000 years ago, they are the oldest mounds in the Western Hemisphere and pre-date the Egyptian pyramids. Archeologists are not really sure why the mounds were built, but today they are on the National Register of Historic Places.

Greek Theatre 2 thek9harperlee

My final tour stop was the Greek Theatre. It has a capacity of about 3,500, which was the entire campus population when the theatre was built in 1925. Today’s enrollment is nearly 30,000. I found the seating to be quite comfortable.

Greek Theatre 1 thek9harperlee

As the sun set on my visit, I reflected on all that I had seen. I am fortunate to live so close to such a beautiful campus. The university has a rich history, and in a couple of weeks it will once again be alive with academic pursuits. I wonder if my PetSmart obedience class credits would transfer?

10 Comments on “My Winter Break Tour of the LSU Campus”

  1. cornishtim says:

    You are soooooo clever!

  2. Jane says:

    I totally think your PetSmart credit should transfer!!

  3. Great post, great pictures. Reminded me of all my too numerous visits to mention growing up only a few miles down Highland road,visiting the campus from middle school, through high school, graduate school and returning with my kids on bicycles as they grew up. A place where I still walk, attend leisure classes, to learn how to blog-what a strange, wonderful world we live in. Thanks again for your post, and for your blog.

  4. I agree, your PetSmart credits should transfer. Your are very photogenic.

  5. Auntie BAnn says:

    Miss Lee – I noticed that your tour excluded a very imp landmark – Acadian Dorm (where your mommy and I spent our Jr and Sr years)!


Leave a Reply

