Partying Like a Pup on New Years Eve

Partying with Friends thek9harperlee

Happy New Year! I hope you had a safe and festive celebration, and that your 2013 is off to a tremendous start. My humans began their New Years Eve festivities with their traditional afternoon trip to the movies, which gave me the perfect opportunity to gather all of my favorite toys together for a little nap. I knew we would need plenty of rest in anticipation of all the fun to come later in the evening.

Les Miles thek9harperlee

The party began with some college football. My LSU Tigers, led by Coach Les Miles, played in the Chick-fil-A Bowl. I was glued to the television. Unfortunately, my Tigers came up a bit short. I will put my LSU bandana away for a while, but you’ll see it again this fall.

Licking My Bowl thek9harperlee

With the game behind us, it was time to move on to the next stage of our party–the food. I waited very patiently as my humans enjoyed their steaks. And then something wonderful happened: a few small pieces of steak ended up in my dinner bowl. I guess I don’t have to tell you that, with the help of my very eager tongue, those small pieces of steak disappeared almost immediately.

Drinking Chapagne 2 thek9harperlee

I made a quick wardrobe change for the next phase of the festivities–the champagne. A girl simply cannot sip champagne without a tiara and a feather boa. Although we live in the central time zone, we chose to ring in the New Year with our East Coast friends. After all, it had been a very long day.

Licking My Lips thek9harperlee

Everything about my New Years Eve party was yummy–my pre-party nap, the football game (even thought we lost, it was an honor to be invited to a bowl game), the completely unexpected steak sampling, and my limited portions of celebratory champagne.

After partying like a pup on New Years Eve, I woke up this morning and thought about my wishes for 2013.

For my friends with two legs: I wish you health and happiness, peace and prosperity. In the coming year, I hope that you will be slow to judge and quick to love. I hope that you will see the goodness and potential in everyone you meet, and that you will embrace each new opportunity that comes you way. In 2013, take this suggestion from a Golden Retriever: Bark less and wag more. I promise that you’ll be a happier human if you do these two simple things.

And for my friends with four legs: I hope that each day will bring new adventures. I hope that you will be surrounded by humans who love you, and that you will have the opportunity to show your humans how very, very much you love them.

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

4 Comments on “Partying Like a Pup on New Years Eve”

  1. Gaye says:

    You are such a party girl Harper Lee! You looked quite stylish while ringing in the New Year!

  2. Auntie BAnn says:

    Miss Lee – I love your bling. Perhaps LSU could be well served if you were the coach?


Leave a Reply

