Sweet Potato Treats . . . Sweet!

Three Potato thek9harperlee

Before Christmas, my human mommy read a post by blogger MPet3 that included directions for making sweet potato treats. My mommy promised me that we would make these treats soon; but after almost a month, I was beginning to think that she had forgotten.

One Potato thek9harperlee

Then, on New Years Day, these three strange things appeared in our kitchen. I had never seen such things, and I wasn’t quite sure what to think.

Two Potato thek9harperlee

Upon closer inspection, I discovered that these were the sweet potatoes of which my mommy had spoken. They actually smelled pretty good, so I started to get a little excited about baking sweet potato treats. Because I am all paws in the kitchen, I allowed my mommy to do most of the work . . . while I did all of the supervising.

Sliced Raw Potato thek9harperlee

The first step in the baking of the sweet potato treats involves slicing the sweet potatoes. It helps to cut a bit off of the end of the sweet potato so that you (or your human) can make the sweet potato stand as you slice it. After baking the sweet potato treats (and after I tasted the finished product), my mommy and I decided that the sweet potato should be sliced pretty thin . . . maybe 1/4-inch slices. I have to admit that I had a little taste of an uncooked sweet potato slice, and I think that it might be possible to skip the baking all together. But that’s not what the directions said to do, so we moved on to the baking step.

Sliced Raw Potato on Pan thek9harperlee

Place the sweet potato slices on a cookie sheet that has been sprayed with a nonstick spray. This is just one sweet potato, which was all we could get on one pretty large cookie sheet. Please note that I am very good at the command, “LEAVE IT!” Adam, my PetSmart trainer, would be sooooo proud of me! Place the cookie sheet in your oven, which has been set on its lowest setting (ours goes all the way down to 170-degrees Farenheit, but I think we may set the oven at 200 degrees next time). Put the cookie sheet in the oven and then bake for about eight hours. After baking for eight hours, turn the sweet potato slices over on the cookie sheet and then turn off the oven and let the sweet potato slices on the tray stay in the oven over night. Basically, you are dehydrating the sweet potato slices.

Cooked Potato 1 thek9harperlee

And this is what the sweet potato treats look like when they come out of the oven. See how much smaller they are? Is that a good thing? In this case, my mommy told me, it is a good thing. This is the result of the dehydrating process.

Cooked Potato 3 thek9harperlee

Apparently,ย when I first tasted the sweet potato treats, I was a bit of a pig, so my mommy decided the break the treats into smaller pieces. I’m a bit more lady like when eating the smaller bits of sweet potato treats, she says.

The Taste Test thek9harperlee

So, the sweet potato treats definitely passed the Miss Harper Lee taste test. After careful supervision of the entire preparation process, I have made the following notes: You can probably only get one sliced sweet potato on a cookie sheet; cut the sweet potato slices thin (about 1/4 inch); bake for eight hours at 200-degrees Farenheit; turn off the oven and turn the slices over on the cookie sheet; leave the sweet potato slices in the oven over night; in the morning, remove from the oven and break the sweet potato slices into small piece. Enjoy and . . . .BONE appetit!

17 Comments on “Sweet Potato Treats . . . Sweet!”

  1. Gaye says:

    you are such a healthy eater, Ms. Lee!

  2. Ogee says:

    Oh, great. My goldens are reading over my shoulder and now expect the same this weekend!
    ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. cornishtim says:

    Now that is what I call a treat. I hope my humans try this for me when I am a bit bigger. I’ve seen those sweet potatoes in the vegetable rack. Maybe if I get one out and roll it about the floor a bit they will take the hint! Elsie xx

  4. Both Dudley and Zoe loved sweet potatoes. I always shared some of mine, but they’re usual dog food was Herring and Sweet Potato by California Natural.

    • My human read about Dudley and Zoe on your blog and told me all about them. What very, very special pups they were. My human knows how hard it is to say goodbye. We recently had to say goodbye to my sister, Lexi.
      It’s amazing how many dogs I meet who love sweet potatoes. And herring and sweet potatoes sounds like a combination that no dog could resist!

  5. mpet3 says:

    Glad you enjoyed! I’ve so far been too lazy to try – 8 hours is soo long to wait for treats ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. herbyme says:

    Skinny and human are thinking they might both like these…thanks for the tip, Miss Harper Lee.

  7. Auntie BAnn says:

    Miss Lee – next time I visit, please share your treats with me. They sound delicious!


Leave a Reply

