Goodbye Christmas, Hello Reality

Golden Ornament thek9harperlee

On Sunday evening, I celebrated Twelfth Night with my humans. We enjoyed the final hours of the tree’s glow as Christmas came to an end. I reflected on how special the holidays had been. I had my first visit with Santa (I’m hoping Santa will be a little more excited to see me next year). I had the pleasure of wearing a variety of lovely Christmas collars (which I liked a whole lot more than my Halloween costume). I got merry with a little dog nog, and I partied like a pup to ring in the new year. My holiday season was truly magical.

Sleepy 2 thek9harperlee

And then on Monday morning reality hit. It started when the alarm clock went off at 5:05 a.m. I was not ready to get off of my bed. Over the past few weeks, I had grown accustomed to sleeping in. I was used to getting up with the sun, not an hour before the sun. What was wrong with my humans? They were jumping out of bed and running around like they had places to go and things to do. What happened to those leisurely mornings of Christmas that I enjoyed so much?

Suitcase thek9harperlee

And then my human daddy started putting clothes in a box like this. The humans call it a suitcase. Uh oh. That meant that my daddy was going back to work. This was bad news for me. You see, during the Christmas break I did an excellent job of training my daddy while he wasn’t traveling.

Begging thek9harperlee5301

Simply by walking into whatever room my daddy was occupying at the time and staring at him intensely, I could get absolutely anything I wanted–extra treats, another walk, dinner an hour before I was supposed to have it. With my daddy out of town, my human mommy would once again be in charge . . . and my mommy is not a sucker. Oh well, I guess all good things must come to an end.

13 Comments on “Goodbye Christmas, Hello Reality”

  1. Maryanne says:

    LOL, ahhh, so you’re a “daddy’s little girl”? 🙂 🙂 🙂

  2. Gaye says:

    I can see why your daddy is a sucker…………. that sweet face is pretty irresistible!!!

  3. I see you are starting with the Golden Retriever ornaments and getting ready to decorate in this theme next year. I am looking forward to seeing more.

    • You are very perceptive! We have two items so far . . . just 10 more to go so that we can do our Golden Retriever 12 Days of Christmas for this coming Christmas. My mommy needs to get working on that!

  4. cornishtim says:

    Me too. Mine’s wrapped! Elsie xx

  5. Jane says:

    Aw, I bet your mommy has a special soft spot for you . . .

  6. Bren says:

    Awww what a cutie.. I can see why she melts daddy’s heart.. xx My two are wondering what the heck is going on..


Leave a Reply

