I’m Feeling a Little Challenged

Third Pet Blogger Challenge

This morning my blog friend dailyspro had a post about the Third Annual Pet Blogger Challenge. If you haven’t already found her blog, I hope that you will pay this wonderful human a little visit. She recently had to say goodbye to her handsome, sweet, and far-too-young pup, Newton. She has written so movingly about Newton, and his gentle spirit lives on through her. She now visits her local SPCA to volunteer as a dog walker. Doesn’t that warm your heart, even on a cold winter day?

computer girl thek9harperlee

So I went to the challenge site on Gopetfriendly.com, and I think I’m up for the challenge. Hope you learn a little more about me from my answers to the challenge questions.

1. When did you begin your blog?

My first post was on September 19, 2012. My human mommy attended a leisure learning class called Blogging for Beginners at Louisiana State University. (I would have gone to the class, but the schedule conflicted with my post-dinner nap time). When my mommy finished the class, she taught me everything she had learned, and the rest is history.

2. What was your original purpose for starting a blog?

I started my blog to make humans smile. I hope you’re smiling right now.

3. Is your current purpose the same?

If not, what’s different?

If so, how do you feel you’ve met your goals?

I still blog to make humans smile; but for my human mommy this blog’s purpose has grown. I have hip and elbow dysplasia, which means that I may have a shorter life than your average Golden Retriever. It also means that I may not. It’s just hard to tell. My blog has become a wonderful “album of my life” for my humans. It has also challenged them to plan special activities for me . . . activities that allow us to spend even more quality time together. I like that!

4. How often do you post?

I post twice a week.

5. Do you blog on a schedule or as the spirit moves you?

If you publish on a schedule, why? How strict are you about your publishing deadlines? What do you do for inspiration when it feels like you’ve covered every topic?

If you don’t publish on a schedule, why? How do you think your decision affects your audience? How do you know when a topic is “post-worthy?”

I publish on a schedule–every Tuesday and Friday morning (I’ll admit that on Christmas and New Year’s Day, I did not get my posts out until the afternoon. No one complained.) I am very strict about my schedule, although I am making an exception for today’s challenge deadline. I’m sure that I do not need to tell you that dogs love schedules. Have you humans ever tried to push your pup’s feeding time back by 30 minutes or to skip that daily walk? I rest my case. So far, inspiration for each blog post has just come to me . . . kind of like treats.

6. How much time do you spend writing your blog per week? How much time visiting other blogs? Share your  tips for staying on top of it all.

I probably spend about an hour actually writing each post; but most of the time is spent doing the actual activity for the post (which I really enjoy), taking the pictures for the post (I also really enjoy having my picture taken), and choosing the pictures for the post. I spend about 30 minutes a day reading other posts. Oh my, as I start to think about the time I spend on my blog, I am realizing that this blogging world may be cutting into my nap time. It’s worth it, though, because I have made some really great “blog friends.”

7. How do you measure the success of a post and of your blog in general (comments, shares, traffic)?

Do you look strictly at the numbers, or do you have a way of assessing the quality of those interactions?

I feel really good when one of my posts gets a lot of comments (and sometimes I have to say I am surprised by the posts that get the most comments). Comments make me feel as if readers are becoming friends. Maybe that’s why I like commenting on other blogs so much. Of course, I’m a Golden Retriever, and we are notoriously social.

8. If you could ask the pet blogging community for help with one issue you’re having with your blog, what would it be?

Maybe I’m too new at this blogging thing to know that I have issues. As soon as I realize that I have an issue, I’ll let you know.

9. What goals do you have for your blog in 2013?

In 2013, I hope to keep humans smiling. Are you smiling right now?

What a fun challenge! Are you interested in seeing what other pet bloggers have to say? Click on this link and then scroll to the bottom of the page for a Blog Hop. Get hopping!

14 Comments on “I’m Feeling a Little Challenged”

  1. dailyspro says:

    Miss Harper Lee, thank you so much for your kind words. I can’t tell you how much I’ve valued the supportive comments coming from both you and your human in the last few weeks!

    I have to tell you I have a feeling you and my Newton would have gotten along fabulously 🙂

    I loved your post and that you both accepted the challenge! Your posts certainly always make me smile. I’m sad to hear about the hip and elbow dysplasia, it seems that it does not slow you (or your human) down. After all, you seem to be quite the social butterfly!

    • Thank you. I think Newton and I would have been great friends. When I cross the Rainbow Bridge, he will be one of the first pups I look for, and we will run and play in a beautiful field.

  2. Tucker and love hearing about your adventures! You always make us smile Harper Lee!

  3. I’m smiling! And so glad to meet you, you seem wagging cool and I am glad I told my mum to do this challenge… she’s always challenging me to stop stealing food so I think its fair that she gets out there to socialize… She needs to socialize! Liking your blog big time, so I am going to sniff around and look forward to hearing more about you…wags
    Maggie

    • Thank you so much, Maggie! Aren’t humans funny? They are constantly telling us to do things (sit, stay, leave it, be quiet, etc., etc., etc.), and yet they so rarely listen to what we have to say (I want to eat early today; I know there’s a monster outside of that door; this putrid thing really does taste good). So glad your mum listened to you and did the challenge. Looking forward to hearing more about you, too!

  4. Tegan says:

    Nice to meet you. 🙂 All the best in continuing to be social during 2013.

  5. Miss Harper Lee, you make me giggle. Your blog will also help your mommy notice any difference in your behavior and when these changes began. I wish you many pain free years!
    Mandi

  6. Hi there, Miss Harper Lee! It’s great to meet you and thank you so much for joining in the Challenge. It’s always nice to add a new member to the pet blogging family. As your out and about – if you ever want to do a guest post on Take Paws, please let me know. I’m sure my readers would love to see what kind of adventures you’re out having get to know you a bit. I wish you all the best in 2013 and I’m looking forward to coming back to visit again.

  7. Colby says:

    Awww…Goldens always make me smile! My last guide dog puppy was a Golden Retriever and smiled all the time!

    Best of luck with your goals this year!

    • Thanks so much for visiting. Happy to make you smile. I just paid a visit to your blog and in answer to your question (Are Golden Retriever puppies the cutest?), I must say YES!! My humans would definitely agree with me.


Leave a Reply

