Sunny Thoughts (On a Not-So-Sunny Day)

Wet Rat 1 thek9harperlee

I am feeling a bit like a wet rat, and I have a major case of cabin fever. In less than two months, we have had almost two feet of rain . . . and most of that has come in the last week. (Apologies to my friends in England and the Pacific Northwest for my whiny attitude about our weather. I know that you put up with this all the time, and I have complete admiration for your ability to do so.) My back yard is a cross between a lake and a swamp, and my two-month-old roof is leaking.

Wet Rat 2 thek9harperlee

It seems that every day is a bad hair day, and that is extremely hard for a blonde to handle. Every time I go out and come back inside, I must have my feet wiped and my body toweled. My human mommy is starting to think of possible rain gear for me. She has mentioned putting plastic baggies on my feet and a large garbage bag around my body. Please, please let the rain stop before we reach that stage!

Sunny Miss Lee 3 thek9harperlee

So I am trying very, very hard to have sunny thoughts. I am remembering the warm glow of the sun at about this time last year. I was playing in a beautiful, dry field in St. Francisville, very near my home. It was a wonderful day.

Sunny Miss Lee 1 thek9harperlee

And how is this for a little dash of Golden sunshine? This is my human daddy’s favorite picture of me. He took it at a little league baseball field slightly less than two years ago.  Ahh . . . sunny thoughts will just have to carry me through until this horrible rain moves long.

21 Comments on “Sunny Thoughts (On a Not-So-Sunny Day)”

  1. We have had some unpredictable weather in Toronto too. Our snow is gone after three days of rain here. We even had record high temperatures which is a nice perk except for the mud/puddles. I know about wet dirty dogs lol I have a water sprayer with a hand pump to help with “clean up”. It has come out of winter storage…

    • I know that you enjoyed your record-high temps, but I do hope your beautiful snow returns soon. As a dog, I must say that I can get a little excited about tromping through muddy puddles, until I see the look on my mommy’s face and that towel in her hand.

  2. Maryanne says:

    Where are you located? We’re in NJ and it’s been gloomy for a few days now too with snow coming tonight.

    • Sorry about your gloomy weather. Hopefully you’ll have a beautiful snow to cheer things up. We live in Baton Rouge, about an hour away from New Orleans. The weather people say that this should come to an end by the weekend. Keeping my wet paws crossed that they’re right!

  3. I so hope this weather dries up soon . I feel like I need Webb feet or a boat. Like you I am getting cabin fever. The cold can go away too.

  4. dailyspro says:

    Oh Miss Harper Lee, you’re still a beauty even with the wet hair!

    I do hope that the weather clears up soon for you. Cabin fever is never fun!

  5. Stew 'n' Dumps says:

    Sorry to hear you are having bad weather.. here in the UK me and little sis are waterlogged.. mind you I wish we had some snow.. I am fed up with rain and getting muddy paws.

    • I really hope you get your snow. I had snow (just a little, and even that was unusual for where I live) a few months before my first birthday. It was several years ago, but I still remember the fun of chasing flakes!

  6. Jane says:

    My yellow lab and two cats feel the same way about the weather!!! They are ready to be done with it . . .

  7. Hang in there Harper Lee, spring is just around the corner. (which means more rain !!) Beautiful picture!

    • I’m so happy you like the picture. Many of the plants already think, I guess thanks to the rain, that spring is aleady here. Today I saw a blooming Japanese magnolia. That usually doesn’t happen until at least March. What is Mother Nature thinking?

  8. Oh my, if those first two photo’s aren’t just the saddest looking things ever 😀 Love the happy, sunny thoughts ones later on. Hope the weather dries up before you become some version of a left over meal, all covered in clingwrap.

  9. Any Dog named Miss Harper Lee deserves to be followed. The Red Man’s editor adores Harper Lee…good job on your post!

  10. Ozzy says:

    Hello from sunny South Africa. I think you’re gorgeous, Miss Harper Lee even with wet hair.


Leave a Reply

