More Marathon Prep–Shoe Shopping and Dinner at Lucy’s

Varsity Sports thek9harperlee

A few weeks ago, I started training for my human daddy’s upcoming marathon. I began with spectator training–and I think I have that down–but there is so much more marathon prep to be done. Last night we went to the shoe store to choose the shoes my daddy will wear for his marathon. Shoes are not that big of a deal to me (did you ever think you’d hear a female say that?), but they are extremely important to my daddy. If you ask me, the new shoes in the bag are not that much different from the old shoes, but whatever makes my daddy happy.

Lucy's Menu thek9harperlee

Finally, we headed downtown for some marathon prep that I found much more interesting–dinner at Lucy’s Retired Surfers Bar & Restaurant. Now you may be wondering what dinner at Lucy’s in Baton Rouge has to do with the Rock ‘n’ Roll New Orleans Marathon. I’ll tell you. In less than three weeks, I will be enjoying (with my humans, of course) a post-marathon meal at Lucy’s in New Orleans. After my daddy completes his marathons, he likes to devour a beer (or two) and a big, juicy cheeseburger. He figures he’s earned it after running 26.2 miles, and I can’t disagree with him.

Lucy's Dog Menu thek9harperlee

I love Lucy’s because it is pet-friendly . . . so pet-friendly, in fact, that it even offers a special menu for its canine customers. I have been to the Baton Rouge Lucy’s many times, and I even visited the New Orleans Lucy’s one late night after a Hornets basketball game (that’s a long story that I may share another time), so I very much approve of the humans’ choice for the post-marathon meal.

Reading the Menu thek9harperlee

Last night, I studied the menu very carefully and made some outstanding selections.

Chilly Pup thek9harperlee

I started with the Chilly Pup (that’s a bowl of crushed ice to humans). It’s free, and you don’t even have to ask for it. The server just brings it to you. I told you this place is super pet-friendly.

Hot Diggity Dog 1 thek9harperlee

Then I had the Hot Diggity Dog. It’s a plain hot dog without the bun and it only sets you back 75 cents. How can you beat that? At first I was a little more curious about what was on my human mommy’s plate . . .

Hot Diggity Dog 2 thek9harperlee

. . . but then I got pretty interested in the Hot Diggity Dog. Let’s just say that there wasn’t anything left to put into the doggy bag.

Shoe Guard thek9harperlee

I think I nailed the latest phase of my marathon prep. Maybe I’ll just spend the next couple of weeks guarding the new shoes. I’ll start just as soon as I wake up from my nap.

10 Comments on “More Marathon Prep–Shoe Shopping and Dinner at Lucy’s”

  1. Maryanne says:

    A special menu for pups — I LOVE IT! I like the cover of the Lucy’s menu too with the Woody car. I just might have to forward this post to my husband, he’ll get a kick out of it.

    And Miss Harper Lee, I must say you look adorable in that first photo, you look very proud and happy 🙂

    • My daddy says that look in the first photo is a new one for me. A little more mature, maybe?
      On another note, please keep your kitties warm in the big snow storm that is coming your way. I know you will. Take care!

      • Maryanne says:

        Yes, that’s a good word, “mature.” Very pretty pose!

        Yes, the kitties are safe and warm. Take care of yourself and your humans too! Hugs from NJ 🙂

  2. I love places like Lucy’s that are pet friendly. Good luck with the marathon.

    • I think I’m pretty prepared for the marathon. Of course, all I have to do is watch, make it to the finish line to cheer, and join in on the post-marathon celebration meal!

      • Maryanne says:

        A human marathon is great, but I’d love to see a doggie marathon too! I participated in one many years ago with my sister’s pug, Little Bear. When my sister got him, his legs were messed up and he couldn’t walk. My mom did a lot of research and found a product that helped him and then we participated in a two-mile walking marathon when Bear was still a puppy. He was so cute and we all got our picture in a local newspaper. Bear is still alive, but not doing too well. He’s about 18 years old now.

      • Bear’s long life is proof of much love. In my hometown, there’s a Mardi Gras parade for pets. (I missed it this year because my humans were off on their Fantasy Island vacation.) I think a parade is much more my idea of a good time than a marathon!

      • Maryanne says:

        That sounds terrific! I was only in New Orleans once and I love it. Your humans really know how to live, they go on a lot of nice vacations! 🙂

  3. wilco2012 says:

    You’re so lucky to have a pet friendly to go eat. The hot dog looks delicious! Have fun at the marathon.

    • My humans are on a never-ending quest for pet-friendly spots, and I am the lucky beneficiary of that quest! The hot dog was delicious–not my usual healthy fare, but a welcome treat. Look for my full report from the mararthon in a couple of weeks . . . New Orleans pet-friendly spots will be featured.


Leave a Reply

