Is it tacky to reblog your own post, especially when it was just posted a few weeks ago? Sorry, I just can’t control myself. Listening to WWL radio from New Orleans (yes, dogs do listen to the radio) and their coverage of the Zulu and Rex parades, and I am just SO into it! Hope everyone is having a great Mardi Gras!

thek9harperlee

Mardi Gras Mask 1 thek9harperlee

. . . and everybody’s havin’ fun! If you don’t live in South Louisiana, that line may not ring a bell for you. It’s from a popular Mardi Gras tune called Carnival Time. (You can click here to enjoy a performance of Carnival Time by the great Al Johnson.)  Mardi Gras is French for “Fat Tuesday” and, technically, it’s the Tuesday before Ash Wednesday. But where I live, Mardi Gras is one big non-stop party that begins on the evening of Epiphany (January 6) and lasts until midnight on the Tuesday before Ash Wednesday. It’s when humans “pass a good time” (that’s South Louisiana speak for “have fun”). They eat what they want; they drink what they want; they act however they want . . . basically they behave like dogs who have not had any obedience training. All of that revelry is in preparation for Lent, when they have to…

View original post 390 more words

8 Comments on “”

  1. Maryanne says:

    I don’t think it’s tacky. I think it’s nice to bring something forward so new readers could see it. (I do it from time to time with my own blogs).

  2. Far from it – for some of us, repetition is required!

  3. Auntie BAnn says:

    Miss Lee – after your fun MG, I was wondering if you gave up anything for Lent?

    • I have given this a great amount of thought, and I have decided that I will give up eating snow. Ha ha!!! Since I live in South Louisiana, this mighty sacrifice should be a piece of (king) cake!


Leave a Reply

