Sleep Tight

Bedroom Bed 2 thek9harperlee

The most amazing and wonderful thing happened to me last week. My humans left the house (no, that wasn’t the amazing thing) and when they came home they had two new beds for me . . . plus a travel crate. That must mean that (1) they love me very much and want me to have a good night’s sleep (as if my very sound sleep could get any better) and (2) our trip to New Orleans to see my daddy run in his marathon is getting closer. Yippee!

Travel Crate 1 thek9harperlee

The hotel where we are staying in New Orleans requires that their canine guests have a crate, and that they stay in their crate in their room when their humans are away. I am fine with that. I was crate trained as a puppy and I loved my crate. In fact, I still slept in my crate until a few months ago. I traveled to New Orleans once before with my humans. They brought my big, metal, somewhat awkward-to-manage crate and set it up in the hotel room. I heard much grumbling from my humans on that occasion, so I suspected that they would make alternate arrangements for this trip.

Travel Crate 2 thek9harperlee

And voila! My new travel crate appeared. It is light, easy to carry, and the humans marveled at what a breeze it is to set up. I think my humans are very happy with my new travel crate . . . maybe even as happy as I am. I cannot wait for my trip!

Bedroom Bed 3 thek9harperlee

You know how humans can be. When they go to the store to buy just one thing, they usually come home with at least one other thing. Such was the case when my humans went to get my travel crate. They decided that I also needed to have new beds. Now, I have written before about my beds, so you know how near and dear the old ones were to me. I had my den bed, my bedroom bed, my $64 bed, and my princess-and-the-pea bed (which was just my den bed placed on top of my bedroom bed). Well, I still have my old $64 bed (it’s the one you see inside of my new travel crate), but now I have a new den bed and a new bedroom bed. I am in heaven.

Den Bed 1 thek9harperlee

At first, I wasn’t too sure what to do with my new beds. That wooly top reminded me of a stuffed toy, so I tried to find the squeaky inside. I was quickly informed that chewing on the new bed in search of the non-existent squeaky is unacceptable behavior. Gotcha.

Den Bed 2 thek9harperlee

Then I had a little trouble trying to get my whole body onto the new bed. Don’t ask me why, I just did.

Sleep Tight

But, as you can see, I quickly figured out how to get my entire body onto my new beds, and I have been sleeping like a baby ever since. It’s good to be loved. Sleep tight, friends.

6 Comments on “Sleep Tight”

  1. That’s a fantastic looking crate and even better because it means you know you will be joining them. Have a fantastic trip.

  2. Jane says:

    Just so that you know, Drury Inn is pet friendly!! Don’t know if they have one in New Orleans but I’ve stayed at the Drury in Texas with my people and they even gave me my own “member card”!!!

    Bouk

  3. Miss Harper Lee, you are a girl ready to take a road trip!! In style, I might add…your humans try to take good care of you…love the new bed, too…your friend, The Red Man


Leave a Reply

