You Inspire Me

very inspiring blogger award

Many thanks to my blogger friend dailyspro for presenting me with a Very Inspiring Blogger Award nomination, and even more thanks to her for being such an inspiration. She lost her beautiful, sweet, and way-too-young Bernese Mountain Dog, Newton, a little more than two months ago. Since then, she has written so movingly about loss and recovery. She has taken her grief and channeled it into positive pursuits and heartfelt advice. I hope that you will take a moment to visit her very inspiring blog. You will be hooked.

 Now for the rules:

1. Display the award logo on your blog. Done.

2. Link back to the person who nominated you. Done.

3. State seven things about yourself. About to be done.

4. Nominate 15 bloggers for this award. About to be done . . . sort of.

5. Notify those bloggers of the nomination by linking to one of their specific posts so that they get notified by ping back. Well, I will admit that I am a little confused by the whole “ping back” thing, so I will comment on their blogs to let them know that I have nominated them. Is that ok?

Seven things about me:

Sunny Miss Lee 1 thek9harperlee

  1. I am a Golden Retriever. I always feel obligated to point that out.
  2. I am currently pursuing post-graduate studies at PetSmart obedience school. I started obedience classes when I was six months old (I’m almost four years old now). I completed beginner, intermediate, and advanced classes. Then a group of us convinced our humans and our trainer that we would like to continue with our training. I love school, my school friends, and my trainer!
  3. I am an independent spirit. My human mommy is not so sure that’s always a good thing. I beg to differ.
  4. I am very talkative. When I see other dogs on my walks, I just have to talk. When my humans come home from a night out, I just have to talk. I have a lot to say. It’s a good thing I have a blog.
  5. I have a lot of really wonderful toys, but give me an outside stick and I am a happy dog. I love to chew on sticks, and create neat little piles of mulch in my yard.
  6. I think my human daddy is a treat dispenser. When he is home, I feel the need to stick by his side because I just know treats will appear.
  7. My favorite room in the house is the kitchen. Magic happens in that room, and sometimes I am the lucky recipient of that magic.

Mixing Treats thek9harperlee

Nominate 15 bloggers for this award: Now, I know I just bragged about obedience school, and I am usually very obedient and follow the rules. BUT, I also said that I am an independent spirit, and I am about to let that spirit soar. So, here are my six nominees, in no particular order:

  • welcome to our 3mbakery  Jude is mother to three beautiful Golden Retrievers (is there any other kind?), and her blog is all about “tasty recipes and information especially for your fur kids.” She inspires me to get my mommy into the kitchen to start baking some of those tasty (and healthy, I might add) treats.
  • vegan parisienne  This full-time graduate student living in Paris offers a “guide to classy vegan cooking and style.” Her food photos are gorgeous. She also runs and shares photos of some pretty beautiful running locations. She inspires my mommy to explore new recipes. She inspires my daddy to explore new marathon sites.
  • Red’s Rants and Raves  Red is a witty Welsh Terrier who “discusses life in the slow lane.” Red just might be the funniest dog I know . . . in a cyber kind of way. His human wrote this on his blog: “He has won no awards and fears that he is unlikely to do so at this point in his life.” Well, here’s your award, Red Man. Paw snaps and twirls. You inspire me to look at life through rose-colored glasses.
  • NuveaSantosCobb  This teacher and photographer says that her blog is a “photography journal of my life, loves, and adventures.” Her beautiful photographs inspire me to open my eyes and appreciate the beauty that surrounds me every day.
  • Skinny Little Whippet  Skinny, who lives in Yorkshire, England, is his humans’ first puppy and “so far, life with humans is quite a puzzle, sometimes exciting, always exhausting.” I must say that Skinny is doing an admirable job of training his humans. He goes on the most exotic walks . . . which sometimes become wild runs. He inspires me to embrace my inner puppy.
  • Sunshine and Starlight  Sunshine and Starlight are West Highland White Terriers living in Mississippi. We’re practically neighbors! They call their humans “manservant” and “womanservant,” which all of us dogs know is simply stating the obvious. They go on amusing daily excursions in the Bumpkinmobile and then share tales of their outings. They inspire me to broaden my horizons.

So congratulations to my nominees, and thank you for being such wonderfully inspiring bloggers. You are absolutely under no obligation to follow any of the nomination rules (although I did have a lot of fun doing this, so you might also). I just wanted to let you know that you inspire me.

And now, I just cannot resist ending with my award photo. See you on the red carpet!

Liebster 4 thek9harperlee

12 Comments on “You Inspire Me”

  1. dailyspro says:

    Aww thanks Harper Lee, you’re very sweet! I didn’t know you were so accomplished at such a young age – Well done!

  2. vegannparis says:

    Thank you so much for this! It really brightened my Friday 😀 I love the award photo. You continue to amaze me with your overwhelming cuteness!

  3. Miss Harper Lee, The Red Man is thrilled to have his words considered inspirational by a lady of such obvious good taste and will be sure to flaunt this award under the nose of my editor who should never say it’s too late to be appreciated for genuine talent. Hah. So There.
    Thank you very much and we appreciate being included among your favorites!

  4. Maryanne says:

    And here’s another award for you Miss Harper Lee, I’ve nominated you with the Missy Award (for animals and animal lovers!) http://maryannemistretta.wordpress.com/2013/02/23/the-missy-award-for-animal-lovers/

  5. the 3 ems says:

    Thank you Miss Harper Lee – we appreciate your nomination – you have brightened our week.
    P.S. You are very photogenic too – we love all your photos.

  6. […] Today I woke to a cold, windy day. My husband and I had plans to ride but instead find ourselves in bed, under the covers, listening to music, flipping through horse catalogs and avoiding the howling winds at all costs. I actually love these sorts of days; they offer an unplanned excuse to stay in bed and read and write at my leisure. There is usually so much to do around here, and after working all week I don’t always feel the motivation to get up and attack the long list of chores. I crave the gentleness of slow mornings like this, with their ability to soothe my frazzled nerves and inspire me with creative energy again. Speaking of inspiration, I just found out that I’ve been nominated for a blogger award by the wonderful Miss Harper Lee! You can read all about her adventures at her own very inspiring blog https://thek9harperlee.wordpress.com/2013/02/22/you-inspire-me/ […]

  7. […] the wonderful Miss Harper Lee! You can read all about her adventures at her own very inspiring blog https://thek9harperlee.wordpress.com/2013/02/22/you-inspire-me/ Have a great week, […]


Leave a Reply

