A Walk in the Park

A Walk 1 thek9harperlee

The weather humans are predicting spring showers for the next two days (technically, they are using words like “thunderstorms” and “heavy rain,” but “spring showers” just sounds so much nicer), so my human mommy and I decided to enjoy the afternoon at the BREC Independence Community Park Botanic Garden. When we were at the park in early December, we were treated to the beautiful blossoms in the rose garden. This time, we were greeted by petunias, snapdragons, and the fuzzy red flowers of a bottlebrush tree. Spring is in the air!

A Walk 5 thek9harperlee

Currently, the iris beds are just beginning to offer the most magnificent show in the garden. There are irises as far as the eye can see and more varieties than I ever imagined. (My own garden only has three varieties of iris, so it’s not too hard to dazzle me, but the BREC Botanic Garden really does have a wonderful display.)

A Walk 3 thek9harperlee

Many of the plants are taller than I am, and they are filled with beautiful blossoms and buds.

A Walk 6 thek9harperlee

We turned down one path and came upon this little sign . . .

A Walk 7 thek9harperlee

 . . . which made us think about Spike and what a wonderful companion he must have been. We imagined a day, perhaps several seasons ago, when Spike was at his human’s side tending the beautiful bed so that one day we could come along and enjoy it.

A Walk 8 thek9harperlee

It seemed very fitting that this gorgeous white iris was the next flower we encountered.

A Walk 9 thek9harperlee

As we finished our tour, we took one last look at the lovely gardens. With storms approaching, this view of the pansies, dianthus, and mint will have to hold us until the weekend.

18 Comments on “A Walk in the Park”

  1. Raud says:

    My golden likes to sniff the flowers too, but then she eats them.

  2. Wow Miss Harper Lee!! These flowers are as pretty as our bluebonnets and the old woman Slow’s favorite flower is the iris so you know she loved this one…

    • I would love to take one of those iconic dog-in-the-bluebonnets photos. Maybe next spring. My human mommy’s parents live in Texas and my human mommy lived there for years, so there really is no excuse. Tell the old woman Slow that she has excellent taste in flowers! She would love the iris garden in our park. The variety is spectacular!

  3. finnhoward says:

    What a lovely place for a visit. I like the memorial to Spike. I am sure he kept his human some really good company.

    • It was really lovely. We look forward to returning throughout the spring and summer to check out the latest developments. As pretty as all the flowers were, our favorite thing was the memorial to Spike. So sweet.

  4. Maryanne says:

    Lovely photos! There’s an amazing Iris garden in Montclair, NJ — some of the irises date back to the 1800s. They have black ones too. The iris season is so short — I think just two months.

  5. You look so pretty! On my walk yesterday, I noticed the wild violets were beginning to bloom and remembered how handsome Dudley looked with his cinnamon colored fur in the middle of a patch. I wish I had gotten a picture of him surrounded by little purple flowers. They really are weeds, but they are pretty when they bloom.

    • A weed is just a beautiful plant growing where you don’t want it, or at least that’s what my mommy keeps trying to tell herself as she tries to rid our flowerbeds of the oxalis that insists on popping up every spring. I’m sure Dudley was super handsome in the violet patches. I think my mommy is obsessed with taking pictures of me because she knows I won’t be here forever.

  6. wilco2012 says:

    I woke up to snow this morning so thank you for bringing me a touch of spring. I have no idea what flowers but they are beautiful just like you.

    • Thank you very much for the compliment. So sorry about your snow. We woke up to thunder and rain, so I’m glad I got to enjoy the park yesterday. Today I think I’ll just enjoy my bed!

  7. Why, Miss Harper Lee, you are positively glowing in these photos!


Leave a Reply

