The Car Wash: A First-Time/Last-Time Experience

Car Wash 1 thek9harperlee

Not all of my human mommy’s ideas are good ideas. In fact, some of her ideas are downright bad. Taking me through the car wash was one of those downright bad ideas. After a perfectly joyous time at Frankie’s Dawg House, my humans and I went on a little drive to the car wash. I will be the first to admit that my chariot was filthy. But really . . . this car wash? And with me? Just take a look at that sign. If the sign looks that bad, how good do your really think the car wash is going to be? And how does a deli fit in with a car wash? Honestly, I thought my humans had a little more sense that this, but apparently I was wrong.

Car Wash 2 thek9harperlee

So I closed my eyes and prepared myself for the inevitable. It was even worse than I had imagined it would be.

Car Wash 4 thk9harperlee

In my mommy’s warped mind, I should have been in this shot . . . blissfully enjoying the spraying, swishing, and blowing on my first magical trip through the car wash.

Car Wash 3 thek9harperlee

Instead, I was here . . . glued to my mommy’s lap. This was not where we all started our little trip through the car wash. In the beginning, I was in the very back of my chariot, separated from my humans by a row of seats. My daddy was in the driver’s seat and my mommy was in the front passenger seat, pointing that crazy camera of hers back in my direction. But very early in the car wash process, I put my feet over the back seats as if I wanted to jump because I wanted to jump. When my mommy saw that, she realized that this whole taking Little Miss Harper Lee through the car wash was not the superb idea that she had thought it would be. She crawled from the front seat to the back seat (she was completely ungraceful, but at that point neither of us really cared) and put one of the back seats down so that I could get through. And that’s how I ended up glued to my mommy’s lap as we slowly made our way through the car wash.

Car Wash 5 thek9harperlee

After what seemed like about four hours, we finally emerged from that wretched place. I have never been so happy to see daylight in my whole entire life. My mommy promises me that we will never, ever, ever go through the car wash again. I’m going to hold her to that.

19 Comments on “The Car Wash: A First-Time/Last-Time Experience”

  1. Maryanne says:

    Aw, that is scary for a puppy. Maybe you’ll enjoy it more when you’re older? 🙂

  2. Gaye says:

    bless her sweet little heart. Poor baby!!

  3. Poor little Harper Lee….it would never have crossed my mind that going through a car wash is scary for a dog!

  4. herbyme says:

    Too right, Miss Harper Lee. Skinny has discovered he is very happy in the car, as long as he is sitting on human’s lap. As he is no longer a tiny dog, that’s quite a challenge for human, even as a passenger in someone else’s car. Skinny has still not twigged he could try the lap option whilst human is actually driving. Yet. x

  5. So glad you survived such a terrifying experience! I will tell my Mama to never to that! Thank you Miss Harper Lee! Wuvyoowooowoooo, Ku

  6. finnhoward says:

    Oh yikes!!! I have wondered if Finn would like to be in a car wash, and now I am guessing not. Hope you still remember those delicious franks from that day and you have long forgotten this memory!

    • My delicious Doggie Dawg from earlier that day has helped my to forgive my mommy’s horrible lapse in judgment, but I doubt that memory of the car wash will ever fully leave my brain. So happy to have saved Finn from the car wash experience!

  7. OMG – the CAR WASH is a Torture Chamber!! The Red Man has absolutely boycotted them for the rest of his natural life. Poor you, Miss Harper Lee. We are all so sorry for this distressful situation…shame on your mom for subjecting you to it… We had to put our paw down on that in our casa. 🙂

  8. writetowag says:

    Oh goodness…poor baby girl!!!! You were still courageous Miss Harper Lee…you made it!!!! You have such an awesome mommy to hold you tight through it all!!!! Hugs–

  9. Sage says:

    Mom tried that once with out Toby and he was scared silly (he was never scared of much), so she knew NEVER to take me!


Leave a Reply

