Overnight in the Big Easy

Big Easy thek9harperlee

Last weekend I joined my humans for a less-than-24-hour trip to New Orleans. Although our visit was short, we managed to pack quite a bit of fun into our Big Easy adventure.

Hotel View thek9harperlee

We stayed at the super-pet-friendly Marriott Residence Inn in the Warehouse District, my New Orleans pied-a-terre. The nice lady at the reception desk remembered me from my last visit, and she gave me a very yummy treat. Then, while my mommy and I waited in the courtyard for my daddy to park my chariot, another friendly Residence Inn staffer presented me with a second treat. I love that place! The view from my window was simply fascinating–I could see everyone coming and going in the parking lot, people walking toward the National World War II Museum, and families with strollers making their way to the Louisiana Children’s Museum. But I had limited time and a lot to do, so I had to tear myself away from the window and hit the streets.

Grand Isle thek9harperlee

I have a tiny confession to make. I’m not sure if it’s nerves or excitement or what, but I am a bit hesitant to “go potty” when I get to a new place. This used to freak my humans out, but now they figure that I’ll “go” when I’m ready, and they’re right . . . although I still sense a bit of obsession on their part when it comes to this whole issue. So naturally we had to go to the little park near our hotel, and I had to hear “Go potty” “Go potty” “Go potty” over and over and over again. I went, just to get them to loosen up and stop saying this, and we continued with our walk. We ended up on Fulton Street, which was the main entertainment promenade during the 1984 World’s Fair. Today it’s home to a number of nice restaurants with outdoor seating . . . perfect for me! My humans and I stopped at a place called Grand Isle for dinner. I checked out the menu and settled on a nice beer bucket . . . filled with fresh water . . . darn. After dinner, my humans dropped me off at the hotel to take a little nap while they went to their last New Orleans Hornets basketball game of the season. Actually, it was their last Hornets game ever because next year the Hornets will be the New Orleans Pelicans. Maybe I’ll get some Pelicans gear to wear. A girl can dream.

Tommy's Wine Bar thek9harperlee

When my parents got home from the game, it was time to go out again. We were going to head to The District or Lucy’s, places I visited on my last trip to New Orleans, but when we passed Tommy’s Wine Bar my humans noticed a couple of outside tables and asked if we would be welcomed. Of course! (Just a little note, as you’re out and about and you see outdoor seating at a restaurant or bar, ask if dogs are welcomed. You’ll be surprised how often we are.) My humans and I had the very best time. They enjoyed a little wine with a cheese plate and I enjoyed lots and lots of attention from people going in and out of Tommy’s Wine Bar and those passing by on the sidewalk.

Cafe Luna 2 thek9harperlee

The next morning we were up bright and early to check out of the hotel and head Uptown for breakfast at Café Luna, located in a beautiful Victorian home at the corner of Magazine Street and Nashville Avenue. I sat with my humans outside on the front porch as they enjoyed their breakfast. I also got to play with Henry, a Basset Hound who was visiting from Charleston. Henry’s humans even offered me little tastes of their food. Why don’t my humans ever do that for me? Everyone on the Café Luna porch–canine and human–lingered as long as possible on one of the most beautiful spring days so far, but then we had to head to the last stop of this Big Easy adventure: Audubon Park.

parkday1

You’ll have to wait for April 26 to read all about my Audubon Park hike, which was really more of a leisurely stroll. I am joining my friends Finn and Gizmo to celebrate Park Day. Click here if you’re interested in participating. I can’t wait to share New Orleans’ beautiful Audubon Park with you!

As I was completing this blog post, my human mommy shared with me the frightening and sad news from this year’s Boston Marathon. It was less than two months ago that my mommy and I waited for my human daddy at the finish line of the Rock ‘n’ Roll New Orleans Marathon, which was a Boston qualifier. A marathon finish line is supposed to be a place of joy, filled with runners who have trained and succeeded (and many who have raised money for charity), friends and families who have supported them in their pursuit, and volunteers who are there to assist. Our hearts break for everyone who was affected by the events of Patriots Day, and we offer our thoughts and prayers.

20 Comments on “Overnight in the Big Easy”

  1. Harper Lee, you painted the town red!~ lovely to hear about your adventures and well done for remembering the people in Boston, my heart breaks for them.

  2. Maryanne says:

    I’m with you Miss Harper Lee, I don’t “go potty” in a new place either! 😉

    Great photos, super fun! (And educational!)

    So sad about Boston, we have family up there, still waiting to hear from one of them.

    • I hope you hear from your family member very, very soon. After Hurricane Katrina, it was several days before my human mommy learned that her grandmother was safe. She knows that the wait is scary.

  3. dailyspro says:

    Miss Harper Lee – Sounds like you had another epic adventure. You’re such a social butterfly! I had many friends running the Boston Marathon, I just found out that they are all safe. Not all were that lucky – sending positive thoughts toward Boston along with yours.

  4. finnhoward says:

    What a cool trip with your peeps! I can’t wait to read about your park day adventure either!!!

  5. Oh Miss Harper Lee, have fun with your humans but beware trouble if you find yourself spending too much time at Tommy’s Wine Bar…could lead to problemos which is Spanish for problems! 🙂

  6. What a lovely adventure Miss Harper Lee! Maybe Mama will take me and Nalle on one too! Wooowooowooo! Ku

  7. Sage says:

    Pawsome adventure, Miss Harper Lee! And you even got to ‘eat out’ with everyone. I’d say that was a ’10’!

  8. writetowag says:

    Lovely post as always…Ms. Harper Lee…love seeing you travel the world one paw at a time!!!!

  9. Jessica says:

    Wow!! It sounds like you had the best time in New Orleans!! It’s so great to hear that more and more places are becoming dog friendly!

  10. Jodi says:

    Oh Miss Harper Lee, what a lovely blog you have here! I’m pleased to meet you, it sounds like you’re my kind of dog! 🙂


Leave a Reply

