Sick Puppy

Sick Puppy 1 thek9harperlee

I’m a bit under the weather. My human mommy was alerted to that possibility when I woke up at 2 a.m. Tuesday and Wednesday and insisted that I be let out. I have never asked to go out in the middle of the night. Even when I was a tiny puppy, I slept the whole night through. In fact, most mornings my mommy has to come back into the bedroom to get me up. So she sensed that there might be a problem. Then on Wednesday afternoon when I went outside and squatted about 20 times in five minutes, my mommy knew that something just wasn’t right. So she called the vet.

Sick Puppy 5 thek9harperlee

The vet suspected a bladder infection, but of course I was not willing to give a sample, so my mommy got to come home with this little kit and instructions to retrieve a sample in the morning and bring it back to the vet. Fortunately for my mommy (and for me), there are no photos of the actual retrieval moment. I will tell you, however, that my mommy is unusually proud of her new-found talent for collecting samples. That’s good, because she’ll get to do it in another two weeks.

Sick Puppy 2 thek9harperlee

So it turns out that I have a very serious bladder infection . . . complete with lots of crystals. Crystals are lovely, unless of course they’re located in you bladder. I must admit that I am a bit pitiful.

Sick Puppy 3 thek9harperlee

The good news is that I get to eat some special and really yummy food for the next two weeks. I also get to eat lots and lots of peanut butter, which my mommy uses to camouflage the not-so-yummy pills that I have to take for two weeks. After I have finished the pills and food, my mommy gets to collect another sample (woo hoo). Hopefully, that sample will show that I am cured.

Sick Puppy 4 thek9harperlee

Meanwhile, my mommy is spoiling me rotten . . . even more than usual. Last night, she set my bed up (with a couple of my friends) in front of the television for an evening of Animal Planet. I dozed off before she could even change the channel. Rest, I think, will be my best medicine.

52 Comments on “Sick Puppy”

  1. rumpydog says:

    I hope you’re feeling better real soon!

  2. Aw, poor little baby!!!! Loves of hugs and kisses to you Harper Lee, hopefully you’ll feel better in no time.

  3. Maryanne says:

    Feel better Miss Harper Lee! (((HUGS)) xxoo

  4. Gaye says:

    hope our sweet little friend feels better soon! Your pals……Sunshine, Maggie, Kenai

  5. Oh you poor thing. Bladder infections are so painful. I hope all the yummy food and medicines help you very quickly. Wishing you a speedy and full recovery. My thoughts and prayers are with you.

  6. dailyspro says:

    Aww hugs to you Miss. Harper Lee. A sick puppy is never a happy puppy. I hope the peanut butter and extra snuggles cheer you up!

  7. Oh my goodness Miss Harper Lee, we are so sorry to hear of your problemos which is Spanish for problem. Paw Licker Annie has had those before and she has survived remarkably well. However, one little tip for you. When you grow weary of peanut butter, please ask your mommy to look for Pill Pockets…these are quite yummy and come in different flavors!! Feel better soon!

    • Wow, Pill Pockets sound really great. I can’t believe that I’ve been settling for plain old peanut butter. Thank you so much for the tip (which I will definitely pass along to my mommy) and for the get well wishes!

  8. Bren says:

    Hope you feel better soon.. I am sure you mommy is looking after you well xx

  9. Kitty Tales says:

    We hope that you are feeling better soon. Thank goodness that you have a good mommy!

    Purrs and prayers,
    The KR Gang.

  10. I hope you feel better soon, sweet girl! Get some good rest. When I worked at a vet clinic, we used a ladle (like for soup) to collect pee samples! haha. Sounds like your mom has it covered her way, though!

    • Thank you. One of my vet techs told my mommy about the ladle trick, but my mommy couldn’t decide which of her kitchen ladles she wanted to sacrifice for that exercise. 🙂 Good thing she has such skill with the little collection container!

  11. PigLove says:

    aaaww – you poor thing. There’s nothing like being sick – it’s the pits. I know when mom was sick a couple of weeks ago, she looked the same. I hope you get better really, REALLY fast my friend. XOXO – Bacon

    • Being sick is the pits. I’m so sorry to hear that your mom was under the weather recently, but I know that a little PigLove helped to make her better! I’m sure it will make me better, too. 🙂

      • PigLove says:

        I hope so. If I was there, I would share my special blankie with you. It’s Egyptian cotton and very soft! Get better soon my friend. XOXO – Bacon

  12. finnhoward says:

    Oh no! Well we hope you are feeling better real soon. Milk it for all you can handle – more tv time on the bed, more peanut butter than usual. Glad no pictures of urine retrieval!

  13. Ogee says:

    Poor sweetie. Sounds like you are in very good hands (poor mommy!) Best wishes from all the goldens…get well soon!

  14. Nachthawk says:

    That is not nice… hope you feel better soon…

  15. Harper Lee, you have my best wishes for a very speedy recovery! I know bladder infections are very painful, but the medicine usually kicks in pretty quickly. Kudos to your mom for getting the pee sample, I believe it’s easier with a boy dog and a big plastic dish. Feel better soon! Much Love!

  16. writetowag says:

    Noooo…not crystals!!!! Bless your heart…Trev had those a couple years ago and was put on the Hills ID diet which he will have to stay on forever…but he thinks its super yummy so if you have that same food enjoy!!!! I’m so sorry to hear this…Ms. Harper Lee, please stay strong dear friend…we love you and will be lifting prayers for a quick and FULL recovery!!!! Oh, I know your mommy is so worried about you…Hugs to her as well!!!!

  17. herbyme says:

    Do get well soon, please xxx

  18. evi says:

    oh you poor puppy! get well soon!

  19. […] to Miss Harper Lee, thank you so much again for this award!  I know you are under the weather now, so Taylor and I are sending you our love and well wishes from the other side of the country!  […]

  20. Sherrell fick says:

    Feel better Harper Lee. Poor girl

  21. So, sorry to hear that you are not well. Feel better .
    🙂
    ivonne

  22. Zena says:

    So sorry to hear that. I’m glad that you seem to be getting better on the medicine and well done to your Mum for her successful retrieval skills. The Help has tried that in the past – can be tricky and rather dangerous 😀

    • Thank you. I am feeling much better. My mommy gets to test her retrieval skills one more time Thursday morning for my follow-up check. I think I will get good news from my vet, but I sure will miss the special yummy food and the peanut butter with my pills!

  23. Oh No, HL! I hope your crystals are gone (or made into a lovely bracelet), by now. You look very pathetic and very cute.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    • Thank you for the love and well wishes. I did look a little pathetic, didn’t I? But I am happy to report that I am much, much better and I expect a good report from my vet later this week . . . although a crystal bracelet might have been nice. 🙂

  24. Jo Danehy says:

    You are lucky to have such a good human. Keep up the pathetic look so you get the special treatment a little longer.

    • My pathetic look is pretty excellent, isn’t it? I have a follow-up appointment with the vet tomorrow, and I think he’s going to say that I’m well, but I’m pretty sure my special treatment will continue!


Leave a Reply

