Happy Earth Day, Mother Nature

Earth Day 1 thek9harperlee

Cheers to you, Mother Nature! On Monday, my human mommy and I celebrated Earth Day by spending almost the entire day outside. Our thanks to Mother Nature for providing perfect weather for our celebration. I assisted my mommy while she worked to keep our garden beautiful. As she weeded and trimmed, I sat by her side . . . always the faithful Golden Retriever. I greeted neighbors as they passed by on their morning walks, many accompanied by their canine friends. I focused alertly on birds and squirrels, and still I minded my mommy when she said, “Stay!.” I even gave an enthusiastic-yet-somewhat-less-than-successful chase when I spotted a lizard. Needless to say, lizards and all other forms of wildlife are safe in my presence.

Earth Day 2 thek9harperlee.com

As my mommy worked in our garden, she began to realize that something has happened over the past year. There are four possibilities. One: The garden has gotten bigger. Maybe not bigger, but perhaps more involved. Two: She has more going on this year than last, which means less time to concentrate on prepping the garden for a new season. Three: She is a year older than last year and maybe no longer has what it takes to tackle this project. This possibility makes her a little depressed. Four: Perhaps a combination of the first three possibilities has occurred. Whatever has happened, my mommy has decided that she will call Mr. Jeremy–who helped her in fall with the front garden–to help her this spring with the back garden. I think Mother Nature would approve of my mommy’s decision. I know I approve. I really like Mr. Jeremy, and if he helps my mommy she’ll have more time for me. That’s always a good thing.

Footnote thek9harperlee

And a footnote: Many, many, many thanks to everyone for all of your well wishes for a speedy recovery from my little health situation. I am so happy to report that I am much, much better. I started sleeping through the night immediately after I started my medication and special food. I am far along the road to recovery, and I give much of the credit for that to all of you who wished me well. Thank you from the bottom of my Golden heart!

20 Comments on “Happy Earth Day, Mother Nature”

  1. Maryanne says:

    LOL! I LOVE the footnote! That is just too adorable (and I might steal this concept from you for my kitties — my husband would love it!)

    Glad you are feeling better! Sounds like an awesome day and it’s good that your Mommy gets help and has more time to spend with you — great plan!

  2. Great to hear you’re feeling better! And I love the phrase “golden heart” 🙂

  3. Now this is how you give the rest of us a bad name. You obey commands. You have a golden heart. You help your mommy. If I didn’t know you better, I’d say you were a kiss-ass. Stay cool, Sister.

    • Funny that you should say that, Red Man. My mommy’s very good friend just gave her a lovely piece of wall art with this fabulous quote: “The older I get, the more everyone can kiss my ass.” I guess I’ve learned a new command.;-)

  4. finnhoward says:

    Glad you are feeling much better!! I think it’s a good thing to get some help with the garden. More veggies, more flowers, more time for you and Momma!

  5. Sage says:

    My Mom did the same thing this year (got yard help)! It IS a great idea ’cause we have more time to play.

  6. Miss Harper Lee, I did not know Goldens had furry paws just like all of us snow pups! I feel a special bond. Wooooooowooooooooooo!
    p.s. Miss Harper Lee, I do not think wine is good for pups to drink.

    • My paws are a little extra furry right now. My mommy knows they need a trim, but she just has too much fun playing with them when they’re like this. And about the wine . . . I just have a small occasional taste. My humans are not very good about sharing. 😉

  7. Jessica says:

    I’m so happy to hear that you are feeling much better, my friend! And I can not think of a better way to spend Earth Day…in the beautiful outdoors with the people that love you! Cheers! 🙂

  8. Ogee says:

    Glad you’re feeling better. When mommy is done with Mr. Jeremy, could he come help us weed??

  9. that sounds like a really really nice day!

  10. I sure hope that isn’t your glass of wine!


Leave a Reply

