BONE Appetit: Healthy Apple, Carrot, and Brown Rice Cookies from the 3mbakery

Apples thek9harperlee

I love reading blogs, and I get especially excited when I see a new post from the 3mbakery. Blogger and dog treat baker Jude lives in Australia with her three Golden Retrievers (Mac, Maesie, and Matilda–the 3ms) and her husband, Wally, who takes gorgeous photographs of Jude’s treats, the 3ms, and their new little kitty sister, Meg. When I read each new and wonderful recipe, I give my human mommy a look that very clearly says to her, “When are we going to make some of Miss Jude’s treats?” And she says to me, “We’ll make some treats soon, Miss Harper Lee. I promise.” Then another week passes, and no treats. Well last week I had finally had it. I put one of my four feet down and I said to my mommy, “Either we bake some of those treats, or I’m packing my bags and moving to Australia to live with Miss Jude and the 3ms!” Mommy got the message. She settled on the Healthy Apple, Carrot, and Brown Rice Cookies. Click the link to get the recipe and very interesting nutritional information and helpful hints that Jude includes with all of her recipes, not to mention the beautiful photo.

Taste 1 thek9harperlee

Mommy chose this recipe because I am a huge fan of apples. I am not, however, a huge fan of carrots. Or at least that’s what we thought. It turns out that I do like carrots: They just need to be shredded and mixed with other yummy ingredients to bake treats. When I tested the cookie dough, I told my mommy we could just stop the process right there. I was ready to devour the whole thing raw. But mommy insisted on continuing with Miss Jude’s instructions.

Ball thek9harperlee

Mommy made the dough into a beautiful ball. Look at the colorful flecks of apple, carrot, and parsley. I suggested that we take that beautiful ball into the back yard to play catch, but mommy wasn’t having any of that.

Rolled thek9harperlee

So she rolled that beautiful ball out flat and we proceeded to cut little dog bones and hearts and bake the treats in our oven.

Gift bags thek9harperlee

And here are the super yummy results, all packaged and ready to deliver to my local dog friends. Boy are they going to be excited. Apologies to my far-flung dog friends who are beyond my delivery distance. You’ll just have to get your humans to check out the 3mbakery and make one of Miss Jude’s fabulous and healthy treat recipes!

Footnote thek9harperlee

Footnote: I am very happy to report that I am no longer a sick puppy. I had a follow-up appointment with my vet yesterday. Yes, my mommy did have to collect another sample. I was feeling much better this time, so I made it a bit more challenging; but her super skills came through. The vet credits his antibiotics and special food. I credit the well wishes from all of my very kind friends. Thank you!

38 Comments on “BONE Appetit: Healthy Apple, Carrot, and Brown Rice Cookies from the 3mbakery”

  1. Maryanne says:

    Love the footnotes! Glad you’re feeling better 😉

  2. Oh Miss Harper Lee, so glad you feel better! And good for you for putting your paw down and telling your Mommy to get going on the homemade treats! I will tell Mama to check them out, but I do not not sweet stuff, not even peanut butter. I will have nothing of it! Enjoy your well-deserved treats! Woooowoooooooo!

    • I am absolutely certain that you will find something on Miss Jude’s blog that you will enjoy. She has a recipe for sardine and garlic treats. Mommy’s a bit afraid to try that one!

      • Me and Mama just looked at some of the treats. Definitely some good options! The Grand Paw eats sardines a lot, and I’m sure he will let Mama make some treats out of them. Wooohoooo!

  3. Sunshine, Maggie, Kenai - The BIG dogs says:

    Ms Lee, those are quite YUMMY!!! We were very excited about the package that smelled so tempting – we gave it quite the sniffing!!! When Mommy opened it, we all did little treat dances and almost took Mommy’s fingers off in our excitement of grabbing for the treats! Please give your Mommy a very big KISS for us!

    • I am so happy that you enjoyed the treats and that you left all of your mommy’s fingers on her hand! I have relayed your kiss to my mommy, but she will still expect to collect kisses from each of you. 🙂

  4. Gizmo says:

    Miss Harper lee I must thank you for leading me to Miss Jude’s blog…it’s new to me and just chock full of nommy stuff that momz will have to start making for me…Your baking went quite well and it’s sweet of you to give your cookies away…I hope you save some for you Have a great weekend!

  5. finnhoward says:

    You wouldn’t move to Australia, would you? Oh, I wouldn’t be able to handle that if Finn or Charley made that demand either! Those treats look delicious. And you are sharing with your other doggie friends! That is so sweet. I have to go check out this baking/golden blog!

  6. finnhoward says:

    Glad you are feeling better too!!

  7. Zena says:

    They look so good we nipped over and copied the recipe – glad to see there’s no wheat in there.
    glad your feeling better 🙂

  8. vegannparis says:

    Ooh! Looks like a delicious idea for a happy & healthy pup! Glad to see you happy and well 🙂

  9. Dudley loved carrots. As a matter of fact, I imagine carrot futures went down once he went to the Rainbow Bridge. He ate so many carrots his poop was orange. Zoe liked them, too. Glad you are feeling better and I love your footnote picture, along with all the pix of you (of course)!

  10. So happy to hear you’re well again!! The main thing is that you’re well enough to eat cookies.. Thanks SO much for highlighting 3m bakery, I’ve been looking for a blog like that for ages because I need more dog treat recipes 🙂

  11. Glad you are feeling better. I do not like carrots either but will eat them mixed with other things.

  12. Those cookies sound yummy! Mmmmm. They look too complicated for my Mom. She can only make me frozen treats with yogurt, honey, peanut butter, and smashed bananas. Also mmmmm.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  13. cafall says:

    Oh yum yum! I’ll have to try those for our boys.

    Sam

  14. OMD those treats look PAWSOME Miss Harper Lee!!! We are sending mom over to 3M’s blog right now!!! We want some too!!!
    Wally & Sammy

  15. the 3m's says:

    Miss Harper Lee, we are so pleased your human mommy made you some of these yummy Apple Carrot and Brown Rice Treats AND shared them with your friends….we LOVED all of your photos, especially the one of you tasting the dough. Your comments on the dough ball had all of us smiling (we know what you mean, after all it is a ball). Then there were the treat baggies for your friends… WOW, they looked so good all tied up with a pretty ribbon bow!
    Thank you so much for your kind words, compliments and introducing us to some of your wonderful friends, in this great community of animal loving bloggers.
    We are so pleased you are feeling better too.
    love from your friends down under, Mac, Maesie and Matilda (oh and Meg sends a meow your way too) and our Mom Jude – (she loves how you call her Miss Jude) ♥

  16. Those look super yummy Miss Harper Lee, you’re very lucky to have a mommy who bakes for you. The most I ever do is fry up some chick peas. 🙂


Leave a Reply

