You Are My Sunshine

My humans and I woke up this morning to flashes of lightning, crashes of thunder, and the sound of hail pelting our windows. By 7 a.m. my backyard rain gauge already registered more than three inches of rain, and the weather humans say that we can expect this same scenario for the next 48 hours.

So naturally my thoughts turned to sunshine. Here in Louisiana we have had our share of colorful politicians, but one of the most colorful was Jimmie Davis, known as Louisiana’s Singing Governor. You may not have heard of Jimmie Davis, but you probably have heard the famous song he wrote and performed, You Are My Sunshine. You might also enjoy this Ray Charles version of the classic or this happy little rendition by the Magnolia Brass Band, which can even brighten a dreary day like this.

But I have to thank Julianne Victoria, who offers insights for spiritual living on Through the Peacock’s Eyes, for bringing the biggest ray of sunshine to this otherwise rainy day. Miss Julianne had a very auspicious day recently when she received three blogging award nominations. She then gave her nominees the option of choosing which of the three awards each would like. I gave my choice some thought (in between naps, treats, walks, and squirrel chasing), and decided to choose the Sunshine Award, in honor of the sunshine that Miss Julianne brought into the life of her sweet Alaskan Malamute rescue Ku and the sunshine that he now spreads to the world through his beautiful blog Haiku By Ku.

About the Sunshine Award:

This prize is awarded to “bloggers who positively and creatively inspire others in the blogosphere.” As an award winner, there are a few rules to follow:

  • Thank the person (or dog, as the case may be) who gave this award to you and link to his or her blog.
  • Answer the questions below.
  • Pass on the award to 10 fabulous bloggers, link their blogs, and let them know you awarded them.

So, here are the things about me . . . my favorites:

  • Favorite Color – Purple; my humans gave me a purple collar when I was a tiny puppy, and purple has been my favorite color ever since.

Introducing Miss Harper Lee

  • Favorite Animal – Dogs; did you really expect another answer to that question?
  • Favorite Number – 17; I was born on March 17 (which is also my human gran’s birthday) and my human daddy’s birthday is August 17.
  • Favorite Drink – That’s a hard one. I like to taste wine and beer and champagne and bourbon and . . . but I’d have to say my favorite drink is water (my vet might be reading this).
  • Facebook or Twitter – Twitter; tweet me @thek9harperlee.
  • Your Passion – Sticks; I can sit in my back yard and chew on a stick all day long.
  • Giving or getting presents – Getting; my humans say I’m more of a Golden Receiver than a Golden Retriever.
  • Favorite Day – Everyday; when you’re a Golden Retriever, every day is great.
  • Favorite Flowers – Roses; when I was a puppy, I dug up a rose bush my human mommy had just planted and ran around the yard with it like I was crazy. It’s the only slightly destructive thing I’ve ever done. I still love roses, but now I just stop to smell them every chance I get!

Smell the Roses 1 thek9harperlee

And now for my nominees. They are all bloggers I’ve met through BlogPaws Wordless Wednesday blog hop. Thanks to each of you for positively and creatively inspiring me . . . and for getting me through the middle of the week!

53 Comments on “You Are My Sunshine”

  1. Maryanne says:

    Oh no!! That is the most adorable picture ever! I know it’s a different breed but you remind me of the puppy that sings in that commercial “Ain’t No Bugs on Me.” 🙂 🙂 🙂

    I’m right after your daddy, Aug. 19!

    “Golden Receiver” — I LOVE it!! Once again, Miss Harper Lee, you get the “too cute” of the day award 🙂

  2. Yes I have to agree Miss Harper Lee that you win cutest picture today!! It brings sunshine to all of us at Casa de Canterbury!

  3. Gizmo says:

    Condogulations Miss H.L. You are a sunshiny Golden and you look great in purple…You’ve made some great choices of blogs but I want to thank you special for introducing me to Ku…I hadn’t met Ku before but I’ve read his story and a number of his haikus and we’ll be visiting him often from now on Have a great sunshiny weekend 🙂

  4. PigLove says:

    aaaww congratulations. you look so darling in your basket! XOXO – Bacon

  5. Awww. Congratulations and thanks for the shout out, Miss HL. Your picture in the basket is so cute, it almost hurts to look at it.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  6. Thank you for the lovely thank you Miss Harper Lee! Ku is napping right now, but he will be so excited when he hears you mentioned him and his blog, but most of all…purple is his favorite color too! He wears it everyday. 😉

  7. p.s. you were such a cute baby pup! I wish I had Ku when he was that little.

  8. Thank you. He will always be my BabyBear. 🙂

  9. Thank you for thinking of us! *blushing* I didn’t know you are in Louisiana, we are next door in Mississippi and have a son-in-law from Monroe! We must meet up one day!

    Something I wouldn’t normally share is that I sing that sunshine song to Kirby alot. Oh my, I am the crazy dog lady 🙂

  10. finnhoward says:

    Congratulations! Every day is fantastic when you are a golden retriever! Love that purples collar, you were an adorable pup!! Hope the rain stops real soon!

  11. You are our idol, Miss Harper Lee. You are such a good role model (as I am) for my rat terrier brother and sister! You have done only one destructive thing in your life, and they have only done one destructive thing a day every day of their lives. Well, especially Livvie.

    • My late canine sister Lexi was a terrier, so I completely understand the terrier terror! I have been a very good dog since I was just a tiny puppy. My humans say that I always have been an old soul. 🙂

  12. Congratulations and that is such a cute baby picture !!!!!

  13. That puppy picture of you is DIVINE, Harper Lee!!! Well done on the award, you deserve it and you definitely bring sunshine to the blogosphere 🙂

  14. robynwp says:

    Congratulations Miss Harper Lee – what a pawsome award!!

    Wow…you were SUPER cute as a pup and you are just arooootiful now that you are all grow’d up!

    Thank you-arooooo for the award – we are honoured that you thought of us.

    BIG licks
    Wally & Sammy

  15. Woof! Woof! Golden Congrats and Lots of Golden Thanks. Yes absolutely as a Golden Retriever Everyday is a PAWsome Day. Lots of Golden Woofs, Sugar

  16. Ogee says:

    Congratulations! Such a sweet face. It’s amazing that those little puppy expressions never really change over time.

    • Thank you! My humans have a puppy picture of me with my little head twisted and a very curious expression on my face. They’re always amazed when I have that same look now. It makes them smile. 🙂

  17. bobina1234 says:

    thank you for giving me the sunshine award.

  18. writetowag says:

    Oh goodness…You in the basket…Soooooo CUTE!!!! Most pawesome pic yet!!!!

  19. 2browndawgs says:

    Congrats on your award and thanks so much for passing it along to us. We are a bit behind on awards, but hope to get a post up soon. 🙂

    Cute pictures. 🙂

    • Thank you and it was my pleasure to pass it on. I completely understand about being behind . . . I am currently behind on treat consumption. Must have a talk with my humans about that!

  20. Zena says:

    Weren’t you the cutest puppy out there! Not that you’re not still cute, but that picture of you in the basket…. makes my heart melt a little 🙂
    Congratulations on the beautiful sunshine award and thank you so much for passing it along to me.
    Have a great day.

  21. Congratulations on your sunshine award! We woke up to all of rain this morning too!

    • Our weather finally cleared this evening after another round of thunderstorms this morning and more than 4 inches of rain in 24 hours. I am so ready for a beautiful day tomorrow!

  22. Marcie says:

    Thanks so much for passing the award on to us at Paws It On! Have a great week!

  23. Congratulations Miss Harper Lee, that’s a great award!! You dig up a rose bush? I’m shocked. ;0

    • My mommy was pretty shocked, too, when she saw her precious Golden puppy romping across the yard with what she initially thought was a tree limb . . . but then she wondered why the limb had such red leaves . . . and then it all snapped in her brain! It snapped in my brain, too. 🙂

  24. Jo Danehy says:

    Good for you on “receiving” the Sunshine award and getting to that rose bush fast before it started to settle in.

  25. […] Harper Lee awarded us the Sunshine Award.  We recently met Miss Harper Lee through Wordless Wednesday.  Miss Harper Lee is an adorable […]

  26. Auntie BAnn says:

    Miss Lee – surely your love for purple must also have a little something to do with LSU and being 1 of the 3 Mardi Gras colors, yes?!

  27. […] to the most mellow and most golden golden retriever, Miss Harper Lee for the Sunshine Award and the Super Sweet Blogging Award. See my answers here and […]


Leave a Reply

