My Daily Walk

Resting 1 thek9harperlee

My human mommy spent most of yesterday in the kitchen. (Unfortunately, she was not making treats for me; you’ll have to wait until next week to find out what she was doing.) So I spent most of yesterday in this position . . .

Resting 2 thek9harperlee

. . . and in this position. And then late in the afternoon I finally heard these magic words:

Ready to Walk thek9harperlee

“Miss Harper Lee, are you ready to go for your walk?” I immediately sat at the door so that my mommy could attach my leash to my collar and we could get on our way.  I love my walks. I walk at least once a day. On weekdays, I walk with my mommy, and on weekends sometimes I walk with both of my humans. Other times I go alone with my human daddy. That’s really fun, because we do a little jogging . . . and I get to act like I don’t know my commands.

Path 2 thk9harperlee

A couple of years ago, the city and our parks department added a walking path through my neighborhood. It is wonderful. When it was completed, we immediately started seeing people and pets we had never seen before, and the pedestrian traffic has increased ever since. Pardon me for one moment while I stare at this squirrel.

Path 1 thek9harperlee

The path includes pretty rest areas complete with pet waste stations.

Deposit thek9harperlee

We don’t always make a deposit, but yesterday was a special day! (Do you think that space aliens watching Earth humans feed their dogs, brush their dogs, chauffeur their dogs, and pick up their dogs’ poo think that dogs rule the Earth? Just a thought, but I digress.)

Sniffing 3 thek9harperlee

There are a lot of things I love about my daily walks. I love to greet people and dogs. I love to see kitty cats and squirrels. I love to get into a really good walking pace. But mostly I love to sniff . . .

Sniffing 2 thek9harperlee

. . . and sniff . . .

Deep Sniff the k9harperlee

. . . and sniff. Sometimes I shove my head deep into the bushes and my mommy says to me, “Miss Harper Lee, one day something’s going to bite your nose.” I really can’t be too concerned with that possibility when there are so many special aromas to enjoy.

Home thek9harperlee

Yesterday’s walk was a little warm really hot, and I was a bit fatigued and parched when we got home . . .

Ice Water thek9harperlee

. . . so Mommy added a few ice cubes to my water bowl. Naturally, I had to stick my nose into that water bowl and retrieve one of those ice cubes.

Refreshed thek9harperlee

Ah . . . super refreshing!

43 Comments on “My Daily Walk”

  1. Great post, Miss HL. We love your resting mat with the paw prints. It looks very soft. Mom also gives me warnings when I stick my bony face into things too much – something about a skunk ripping my face off…. That’s a good thing, right?

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  2. finnhoward says:

    That is so wonderful that you have a path in your development there! I wonder what Momma was doing in your kitchen!! And you have the cutest doggie mat too!

    • I love my path. I get to see so many of my neighborhood doggy friends on the path, like Kenai, Maggie, Sunshine, Foster, Jake, Rudy, Sanford, Richard, Russell, Cricket, Bogey, Honey . . .

  3. Ruby says:

    Harper Lee your walks look like so much fun! ZuZu’s doggie cousin is also named Harper Lee so I love reading & seeing your days and hearing about hers.

    Stay cool out there! It’s going to be a hot summer.

    • How fun that there’s another canine Harper Lee out there! Yes, I’m afraid that the summer is here, and that it will be a hot one, but I am thankful for our coolest spring on record. That was a relief. Now if only we could get through the hurricane season without too many worries!

  4. 2browndawgs says:

    You have such a pretty place to walk. I wish we had nice walking paths nearby. We just have the boring neighborhood sidewalks.

    the brown dawgs

    • In truth, our walking path really isn’t much more than a boring neighborhood sidewalk, but the humans call it a “multi-use path” because that kind of thing gets humans excited. 🙂

  5. vegannparis says:

    always jealous! between your walk and chilling on the tile, it looks like a pretty awesome life 😀

  6. Sunshine, Maggie, Kenai - The BIG dogs says:

    Ms. Lee, you are such a funny girl!

  7. cafall says:

    It looks like you had a super awesome walk! I’m sure aliens must wonder about us and our pets – or do they consider us the dog’s pet?

    Sam

  8. What a lovely walking path you have! Exercise must be what makes your coat so shiny too! Me and Nalle like to sniff a lot too, but Mama says we don’t have to sniff every bush and tree, but she just doesn’t understand.

    • It seems as if I just sniff something for a few seconds and I hear my mommy say, “Ok, Ms. Lee, you’ve got that one. Let’s go.” She just has no idea how wonderful each and every little scent can be. 🙂

  9. Tucker just loves hearing your stories HL! Cheers 🙂

  10. Misaki says:

    Looks like a great walk to me! Wish I’d been there with you 🙂

  11. That looks like a great place for a walk.

  12. writetowag says:

    Ahhhh!!!! You are a tall cool glass of water yourself Ms. Harper Lee!!!! My goodness, you just seem to get more beautiful…You could brighten anyone’s day…Have you ever thought of being a therapy dog? Your pictures just exude calm and peace!!!! Mwah to you and yours!!!!

    • You are too, too sweet. My mommy actually has considered getting me involved in our local therapy dog group. Some of my doggy friends from obedience school are in the group. Maybe sometime soon!

  13. Love this post…really captures the joy of a dog going for a walk. And that first photo of Miss Harper Lee in the kitchen looks EXACTLY like my Hannah!!!

  14. evi says:

    thanks for taking us on a walk with you 🙂 seems like you’re having fun on every single walk!
    have a great weekend miss harper lee!

  15. BZ Dogs says:

    What a lovely walk you have! And yes, I’m sure Aliens would think the dogs were in charge – and they would be right! 🙂

  16. Zena says:

    You have such a beautiful coat and you photograph so well. For the first time ever I am thinking I would like to be golden rather than a brunette – I wonder if the local shop does dye jobs? 😉

  17. Horrified to hear that your mom was in the kitchen preparing something that was not for you. Gosh, what will people do next? That looks like a great walking spot and, of course you have to sniff a lot, how else are you expected to catch up on your pee mail?

  18. Oh Miss Harper Lee, you have the best humans ever if they take you for a daily walk. The old woman Slow is worthless when we’re not in Montgomery at the West Montgomery County Park where we illegally still walked. Sigh. Oh well, maybe one day…btw, you are looking mighty fine from all of your walks!! 🙂

    • My humans don’t really have much of a choice when it comes to the daily walk. If I haven’t gotten my walk by a certain time of day, I give them “the stare.” My stare has certain persuasive powers. 😉

  19. WOW! You live in a pawsome place, lots to sniff & see. You sure did look exhausted though *BOL*
    Wally & Sammy

  20. Auntie BAnn says:

    Miss Lee – you make me smile seeing you spread eagled on your cool tile floor! And I’m now all caught up with your activities.

    • So happy you have caught up on all my activities, Auntie BAnn . . . just in time for me to write about my last weekend adventures. I went to the country and saw fireflies, chipmunks, and a peacock. Then I came home and a pony walked down my street. Wow!

  21. One of our walks was a little hot this past week as well. I have to remember to bring our water jug with me. We also have a little pool set up on the deck so Sampson can lie down and cool off.

    I love that people are out exercising their pets!!


Leave a Reply

