BINGO + Blogging = Bonus Post

Bench thek9harperlee

 TerrierTorrent

I don’t normally post on Saturdays, but this is a special day: I am celebrating Park Day 2.0 with Finn & Charley Too and Gizmo from Terrier Torrent, and I have received a lovely blogging award from Human Rescues Dog. I cannot think of two better reasons for a bonus post.

bingo-2

After all the fun I had for the inaugural Park Day, when I took everyone on a tour of beautiful Audubon Park in New Orleans, nothing was going to keep me from participating in Park Day 2.0. This time, our hosts added a twist: We had to select a BINGO card and complete one row or column. I chose to complete the B (as in BINGO, Blogging, and Bones) column on this card. So let’s get started.

Sign thek9harperlee

My humans and I visited BREC Goodwood Park last night. (Yes, I will be the first to admit that I cut my June 2 deadline a little close on this one!) Goodwood Park is less than 10 minutes from my house. In fact, it is just down the walking path from my house and a place that I regularly visit on my daily walks. So put a big X on “Visit a park less than 10 minutes from your house.”

Sunset thek9harperlee

We arrived at the park just as the sun was dipping below the tree line. Just FYI, sunset yesterday was at 8:02 p.m. Put another X over “Visit a park at sunset.”

Slide thek9harperlee

Our neighborhood park recently had a facelift, which included the addition of some snazzy new playground equipment. How could I resist a little playground fun on the cute yellow slide? Just for the record, my daddy had to coax me up the steps and then he gave me a slight shove down the slide. I probably won’t ever do that again, but I did it once for Park Day 2.0. Another X over “Have playground fun on a slide or swing.” Whew . . . time to head home because I had to get up very, very, very early this morning to complete my BINGO.

Sunrise thek9harperlee

Sunrise this morning was at 6:03 . . . as in a.m. . . . as in way before my normal wake-up time. I am not a morning girl. Let me rephrase that: I am not at all a morning girl. Most mornings my humans have to beg me to get up so that they can get their day going. So visiting my park at sunrise today was a very big deal, but I’ll do anything for Park Day 2.0. Please put a giant X on “Visit a park at sunrise,” and I will expect extra treats at some point today.

Butterfly thek9harperlee

Completing my final BINGO square was a bit of a challenge. By the time we got to the park last night, I think all the butterflies had gone to bed, and I know that butterflies are way too smart to be up as early as we were this morning when we returned to the park. This photo was taken on my patio after we got home. Technically, I did find a butterfly, so please place my final X over “Find a butterfly.” BINGO! So much fun! I cannot wait to see what our Park Day hosts think of next! You can visit all the Park Day 2.0 participants by clicking on this Linky Tool:

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

Flowers thek9harperlee

And now on to my blogging award. Yesterday I received the nicest message from my blogging friend who writes Human Rescues Dog informing me that she had nominated thek9harperlee for a WordPress Family Award. I am so thrilled to be a part of her blogging family. She is such a talented, creative, informative, thought-provoking, and entertaining blogger and she is the proud mother of handsome Charlie, a Chocolate Lab, and beautiful Hannah, a Golden Retriever. If you haven’t already checked out Human Rescues Dog, I hope that you will drop by this weekend.

Wordpress-Family-Award

This is actually my second WordPress Family Award, and I couldn’t be happier to be a part of a growing blog family and to re-introduce you to my nominees. Each one is worthy of a second glance. Wow . . . that’s a lot for a Saturday morning–and you have to remember that I was up literally before the crack of dawn today–so I am off to my bed for a well-deserved nap. Sweet dreams.

38 Comments on “BINGO + Blogging = Bonus Post”

  1. finnhoward says:

    OMD a sunset and a sunrise in the same BINGO! That is awesome, thank you for making the effort this morning for that. And thanks for playing! I love your butterfly and your playground fun too!

    • My pleasure . . . well that sunrise thing wasn’t exactly pleasurable, but I did it. 🙂 Thank you so much for hosting Park Day 2.0 and for coming up with such a fun idea!

  2. Sage says:

    I’m like you, Miss Harper Lee. A stay-in-bed dog until at least 7:30. But Mom dragged me out to my favorite park at 7am yesterday…that was ALMOST sunrise…and I was still half asleep. So, I know how you feel!

  3. Wooohooo for completing the BINGO! I need to clue Mama in on that. It looks like lots of fun!
    p.s. You look very majestic today Miss Harper Lee. Woooowoooooo! Ku

  4. Gizmo says:

    Woot! Great Bingo Miss HL…You went the extra mile getting up so early … Thanks so much for playing and I’m glad you had fun with it…Also, congrats on your award…Awards always give me the warm fuzzies

    • My humans and I really enjoyed Park Day 2.0. Thank you so much for hosting! We may do some of the other BINGO challenges just for fun . . . but not the sunrise thing. I have checked that one off of my list!

  5. sarahhosick says:

    I did a bonus post today too! Something special about this Saturday, I guess. Though the sunrise picture looks beautiful, we are definitely not early risers here. It’s hard enough dragging Remy and Ira out of bed for a flyball tournament! I’m not sure they’ve ever seen pre 6:30am! 🙂

  6. Oh Miss Harper Lee – thanks very much for the Bonus Pictures in this Bonus Post and can we say everyone at Casa de Canterbury agrees that you are one hot looking Babe! The Red Man was with you with all your park adventures until…you barked about the sunrise event. Sorry, but I’m afraid you would’ve been on your own with that adventure!!

  7. Zena says:

    Congratulations on your award and on your park day Bingo. You look so regal on that park seat at the top – I think you should have a plaque on it ‘Harper Lee’s Bench’ 🙂

  8. Marcie says:

    We would get along great then…we would have a very hard time making that sunrise as well. Definitely not early risers in this family! Looks like you had a great time out and about at the park though.

  9. I am so with you on the morning thing. I’d need the best treats in the world to make a sunrise visit to a park (although, come to think of it, there have been quite a few “party through the night” times, where I’d have managed it with ease 🙂 ).

  10. Harper Lee, you look beautiful in the sun. Today, my mommy went to a friend’s house, and she met another golden retriever who looked just like me! I must admit, I was a bit jealous as she came home smelling of another dog – kept sniffing her just to let her know that I ‘know’. But it’s ok, I know I’m The One! Thanks for letting us in on your adventures – my mom better pick up her game, all she’s done with us is the old ‘neighbourhood walk’ for the last week!

  11. Dina Mom says:

    Congrats on the BINGO and award!

  12. jank1961 says:

    Congrats on your Bingo, and on your award! That was a great Bingo, doing both sunset and sunrise….you really did put some extra effort into it! I love the final photo with you and the black eyed susans….beautiful!

  13. Great job, Miss HL. I’m sure that giant butterfly counts, just by virtue of it’s size! You were very brave on the slide. I have done swings, but never the slide….. Congratulations!

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    • You are very brave to get on the swing. My humans tried to get a shot of me just sort of hanging over the swing. Believe it or not, that photo was even worse than the one of me on the slide–just a big blur of resistance!

  14. Ogee says:

    What a lovely excuse to get out and play!

  15. Pawsome, pawsome BINGO Miss Harper Lee.

    Mom says she doesn’t think she’d cope with such short nights, what with the sun setting so late and then reappearing so early – she is NOT a morning person.

    Wally & Sammy

  16. 2browndawgs says:

    Congrats on your Bingo and your award. You sure got some nice pictures. 🙂

  17. Man are you clever! There I was on one of our walks desperately trying to capture a photo of a butterfly flying past. I could really do a face palm right now. LOL

    Great job Miss Harper Lee!!

    • My mommy’s not really that clever. She knew she’d never get a picture of a real butterfly, so she was racking her brain to think of some neighbor who had a fake butterfly we could use. Then she finally remembered the one on our own patio. Duh. 😉


Leave a Reply

