Sunspots

Sunspots 2 thek9harperlee

One of my all-time favorite activities is lounging in the sun. (Can lounging really be categorized as an activity? Oh, well, I digress.) I have two very special sunspots in my back yard.

Sunspots 3 thek9harperlee

The first is this little pebble walkway off of my patio. In the morning, I bask in the sun’s dappled rays. By the afternoon, the pebbles have warmed up nicely and I recline for what my humans like to call a hot stone massage. Everyone should have a daily hot stone massage, don’t you think?

Sunspots 4 thek9harperlee

My other favorite sunspot is the grass just off of the other side of my patio. I start off relatively alert, but the longer I sit in the sun . . .

Sunspots 5 thek9harperlee

. . . the more sleepy I get. And the more sleepy I get . . .

Sunspots 6 thek9harperlee

. . . the harder it is to keep my head up. Until finally . . .

Sunspots 7 thek9harperlee

Β . . . I’m out. So what about you? Do you have a favorite sunspot?

43 Comments on “Sunspots”

  1. Thank you, Miss Harper Lee, for being our role model for today!

  2. The same thing happens to me in the sun.

  3. Misaki says:

    You sure look beautiful in the sun:-)

  4. Maryanne says:

    Your coat looks gorgeous in the sunlight!

  5. Oh we just loves us a good snooze-a-roo in the sun. We like to lie right by the lounge door, the patio tiles get nice and toasty especially in winter πŸ™‚
    Wally & Sammy

  6. Kuruk says:

    Miss Harper Lee, your golden beauty radiates in the rays of the sun! (It gets too toasty in the sun for me though.) Wuvyoooowooowoooooo, Ku

  7. Marcie says:

    You could predict the outcome of her head slowly drifting to the ground with the progression of the yawn and backwards head tilt. πŸ™‚ My dogs have always loved those sunny spots as well…even indoors where the sun rays land.

    • There’s just something about the sun that makes my head–and eyelids–oh so heavy, My late canine sister Lexi used to love lounging inside with the sun’s rays shining through the window!

  8. you are such a beautiful doggy, I love how the sun casts a gorgeous glow on your already beautiful fur! I don’t have a “yard” I live in a condo on 2nd floor. We do have a courtyard but I am not lucky enough to lounge outside in the sun like you are able to do. Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  9. finnhoward says:

    Oh yes, Finnie here. I go out on the back patio where I can be alone and without a younger brother pestering me, and I snooze out there. So so wonderful. I like your spots too!

  10. Your sunspots are very scenic, Miss HL. The same thing happens to me, whenever I sit in a sun puddle. Inside or outside, I start out fine, and soon, I’m blinking and then I’m down for the count. Sunspots. Aaaaahhh.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  11. cafall says:

    Sam loves to sleep on the warm pool decking!

    Sam

  12. jank1961 says:

    We have a deck where all the dogs, and the humans too, like to lounge in the sun. In the Winter, it is inside in front of the sliding glass doors. We are all sun worshippers here, and it also makes us sleepy!

    • My winter sunspot is inside the French doors in my humans’ room. The sun hits at just the right angle. I probably shouldn’t tell this, but the sun has a way of making my daddy drift off, too!

  13. Wows, those are some pawsome sunspots Miss Harper Lee!! I usually pic the floor in the kitchen…there’s more chance of yummy things droppin’ in there! Don’t want to miss it!! BOL
    Kisses,
    Ruby
    pees: Thanks for visiting my bloggie!

  14. Zena says:

    My favourite sun spot is on the carpet just inside the glass doors. In the summer when it is really hot I can lie there and the doors are open and in the winter when it is cooler the sun slants in and keeps me warm πŸ™‚

  15. 2browndawgs says:

    Love that last picture. That looks like the perfect spot to snooze.

  16. Harper Lee, I love the sun too! My mommy often finds me in a sunny corner of the yard; she wants me to come inside to hang out with her, but I just love the sun so much. And with our beautiful golden fur shining in the light, do you blame me? Also, a girl needs her beauty sleep and the sun always makes me soooo sleepy… Love, Hannah

  17. Ogee says:

    I will have one someday when I am able to lounge all day like you, Miss Harper Lee. Until then – please enjoy for me and keep my spot warm!

  18. evi says:

    you have some great sun spots in your back yard πŸ™‚ i’m loving the sun too, fortunately there’s a nice park just around the corner where i live in vienna!

  19. I’m with you on this one, pal! The sun is a place of peace, relaxation and doggie daydreams like no other!

  20. Beautiful sunspots. My dogs love to lay in the sun on the front lawn.


Leave a Reply

