BONE Appetit: Frozen Fun

Frozen Fun 1 thek9harperlee

The dog days of summer have officially come to South Louisiana, and it is H-O-T hot! My daily walks are now an early morning race to beat the rising sun’s heat. I don’t need to remind you that I am not a morning girl, so this adjustment in my exercise schedule is not thrilling me in the least. It is far too hot for me to enjoy outdoor restaurant dining, which is a crushing blow to my social life. And my road trips to New Orleans have been put on the back burner until at least October. Bummer. So, in an effort to lift my spirits, my human mommy has been on the hunt for some refreshing homemade treats, and I am extremely happy to report that she has found the perfect frozen fun to get me through this summer.

Frozen Fun 2 thek9harperlee

On a recent BlogPaws Wordless Wednesday Blog Hop, my mommy hopped on over to Beagles and Bargains and found a super simple recipe for Strawberry Banana Pupsicles. You’re looking at everything you need to create this frozen fun:

  • One banana, cut into chunky pieces
  • A handful of strawberries, cut into chunky pieces
  • A cup of nonfat, sugar-free, plain yogurt

039Frozen Fun 3 thek9harperlee

That’s it! Just pop the ingredients into a blender and blend, pour into molds, freeze, and–now this is the only hard part–wait.

Frozen Fun 4 thek9harperlee

I give these perfect summertime treats two paws way up, and I cannot thank Luna’s mother, who writes Beagles and Bargains, enough for introducing my mommy to what I hope will be a recurring feature during this otherwise stifling season.

And speaking of fabulous treats, earlier this week I received a very sweet one from my friend Ku, who writes Haiku by Ku. He presented me with The Versatile Blogger Award, and  best of all he called me beautiful in his lovely acceptance and nomination haiku. Oh, Ku, I think it’s you melting my heart and not the summer heat. Please keep your paws crossed for Ku today. He has a little bump on his nose, so he’s spending the day at the vet to have it removed and looked at, and he’s a little nervous. I know his mama will have special treats and lots and lots of kisses for him when he gets home.

39 Comments on “BONE Appetit: Frozen Fun”

  1. finnhoward says:

    Those look delicious! Hopefully worth the morning exercise!

  2. Such yummy treats. Frozen treats are the best! Mom uses yogurt, banana, honey, and peanut butter for mine. Also she sticks a MilkBone in for a handle. That’s so she can hold it for me and FORCE ME to lick it instead of gobbling it down whole. Enjoy, Miss HL. xo

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    • I love peanut butter and using a MilkBone for a handle is brilliant! I tend to inhale yummy treats too! Plus that way you get double treats. 😉 I must share this tip with my mommy!

  3. Beagles and Bargains says:

    So so so happy you liked them!! I love the star shapes. They are so fun!

    • My mommy bought the star molds at the Dollar Store for the Fourth of July. She used them early because she decided that your pupsicles are star-worthy. I totally agree. 😉

  4. OhMelvin says:

    Ohhhhhh, these look yummy! I’m always unsure of what yogurt to use in treats, now I know!

  5. Gizmo says:

    These treats are really nommy…It’s really hot here too and frozen treats are just the thing

  6. Maryanne says:

    “Bone Appetit” — another genius Miss Harper Lee headline to file under “too cute I can’t stand it!” 🙂 🙂 🙂

    • Thank you! Just FYI, these treats are pretty yummy for humans, too. I’ve caught my mommy and daddy begging from me a couple of times. Next thing you know, they’ll be drooling. 🙂

  7. OMD!! I’m droolin’ over heres!!! BOL
    Oh man, I gots to get Ma off her arse and make me some of THOSE!!
    I’ll be thinkin’ of Ku today, and sendin’ some AireZens to him today….and CONGRATS on the awardie!!
    Kisses,
    Ruby ♥

  8. Misaki says:

    mmm yum! mummy made me some blueberry and yogurt frozen treats yesterday – nom nom

  9. PigLove says:

    Congrats on your award!! I am *so* printing that recipe for mom. I gotta have some of them now. They looked piggy delicious!! XOXO – Bacon

  10. jank1961 says:

    Those look so yummy! We have been waiting for the hot weather here so we could try some more frozen treats, and it might finally be here. I need to find some of those molds too….never would have thought to check the Dollar Store, thanks for the tip!
    Hope all went well with your friend Ku, and that he is back home and on the mend soon.

    • I would be more than happy to share some of our heat with you. 🙂 Thank you so much for thinking of Ku. He is happy to be home and will get results from his biopsy next week.

  11. Zena says:

    Wow. They look yummy enough to eat at any time of the year. I never liked yogurt until the pup came. Now I do because he loves it so it is great to have an idea of adding some fruit and other good stuff to it.

  12. Frozen treats – yummy!! The Red Man is in Vicksburg Missiprissi tonight and it is H-O-T down in here – Thank goodness for the La Quinta a/c 🙂

    • You really get around, Red Man. That Mississippi heat is just getting you ready for Texas. Take it from a dog who was just there: It is super H-O-T in the Lone Star State!

  13. Marcie says:

    Love it, the dog treats look great! Hope they cooled you down as I bet it is hot there!

    • It’s super hot here. I am just dreaming of October and trying to find all the coolest places in my house. Meanwhile, my humans have discovered that those frozen treats are pretty yummy, and now I’m having to share. 😉

  14. followingroy says:

    That looks yummylicious! We can’t wait for summer to try this recipe.

  15. Oh yummy! Wonder if any would make it past the little humans into the dog’s mouth! Thanks for sharing the recipe

  16. sarahhosick says:

    Those look great! I’ll have to make them so that I can eat them too… though I’m sure Remy and Ira wouldn’t be too happy about that. 😉 Stay cool!

  17. 2browndawgs says:

    Those look really yummy!


Leave a Reply

