Visiting Hours at Squeaky Toy Hospital

Visiting Hours 1a thek9harperlee

I really, really love my squeaky toys. This is Puppy. I’ve had Puppy since Christmas 2010. Most of my toys stay in my toy basket, but Puppy gets to sit on a very special chair in my den.

Visiting Hours 2 thek9harperlee

Puppy and I play almost every day.

Visiting Hours 3 thek9harperlee

Sometimes our play can get a little wild, but I am very pleased to tell you that Puppy has never, ever had to be admitted to Squeaky Toy Hospital.

Visiting Hours 4 thek9harperlee

Unfortunately, I cannot say the same thing for Cow. At some point, something happened to Cow and he had to go to Squeaky Toy Hospital. My human mommy is the chief surgeon at Squeaky Toy Hospital.Β Her operating skills include plastic surgery, which is a good thing for Cow because it appears as ifΒ he needed to have a little rhinoplasty. He used to have nostrils, but those were lost when he got his new nose. Other than that, I think my mommy did a fine job, don’t you?

Visiting Hours 5 thek9harperlee

And this is Hedgehog. Hedgehog was a gift from my Gran on my recent trip to Sugar Land, Texas. That was only a couple of weeks ago, but Hedgehog and I have played a lot since then . . .

Visiting Hours 6 thek9harperlee

. . . and it appears as if I have nearly decapitated Hedgehog and he has started to lose his stuffing. Time for an emergency trip to Squeaky Toy Hospital.

Visiting Hours 7 thek9harperlee

Last night, my mommy put her surgery skills to the test. She re-inserted Hedgehog’s stuffing and stitched his little neck back together. (Unfortunately, she is not able to repair the squeakies that I somehow manage to destroy in almost all of my toys. That’s ok.)

Visiting Hours 8 thek9harperlee

The procedure wasΒ such a success that Hedgehog was released immediately and felt well enough to join me for bedtime. Thanks, Mommy, for keeping my squeaky toys in tiptop shape!

61 Comments on “Visiting Hours at Squeaky Toy Hospital”

  1. Sunshine, Maggie, Kenai - The BIG dogs says:

    Ms. Lee, you started our am off with a laugh!!

  2. Jane Doiron says:

    Aww! Love your sweet pictures with you and your favorite toys!

  3. Rebekah says:

    What a beautiful girl. Such cute pictures!

  4. Miss Harper Lee, you don’t know how lucky you are to have a mommy who runs a Squeaky Toy Hospital! And we love your toys!! You are looking mighty sweet with your babies this a.m.

  5. finnhoward says:

    Wow, your Momma must have gotten her MD in squeaky toy surgery. We have a similar hospital in our house. I have to admit though, sometimes the toys do not make it out that’s how much CHarley likes to chew!

  6. oh, so sweet, our girls love sqeakies, a little too enthusiastically as well.

  7. Your mom is a better surgeon than I. Nearly all of Luna’s toys have to go to the hospital too. I wonder why they always get so sick!

  8. Sage says:

    It’s really helpful when there’s a surgeon in the family. Even though my Mom is a fine surgeon too, in our house, toys would end up at the mortuary. I guess that’s why I don’t play with them….

  9. Miss Harper Lee, you look positively adorable in the first photo! What a fun post πŸ™‚

  10. Those are the sweetest pictures! I’m so glad the surgery was
    successful.

  11. Marcie says:

    How lucky you are to live with someone who is able and willing to get those toys back in tip-top shape! I think they even sell replacement squeakers, but it seems you are fine without! The dog toy is my favorite toy. I can see why that one gets the ‘special chair’ in the den. πŸ™‚

  12. writetowag says:

    BOL to the max!!!! I LOVED this post…thank you so much for the giggles!!!! Hedgehog to ICU stat!!!!

  13. What wonderful toys Miss Harper Lee! Woooowoooooo, Ku
    p.s. you look ever so beautiful today! xxx

    • Thank you, Ku. I love each and every one of my toys. Some days I dig way down to the bottom of my toy basket and I pull out something that hasn’t seen the light of day in ages!

  14. I have that same Puppy!! I love it! My Mom and I are in awe at your Mom’s surgery skills!! We may have to send some things to the Squeaky Toy Hospital for your Mom to fix! Barks and licks and love, Dakota and Mom

  15. Puppy looks pawsome!! HOW have you managed to keep Puppy so long?? What is your secret Miss Lee?

    • Puppy is the best! I have thought and thought to try to figure out how Puppy has managed to stay healthy all these years, and there is only one possible answer: Puppy is just very, very lucky. πŸ˜‰

  16. We have a large collection of squeekies. Tucker destroys all of his stuffies. There is nothing cuter than a golden cuddling with or carrying a stuffie in his mouth. I hope he outgrows this someday, cause HL, you look so sweet!

    • One of my Big Dog friends, Sunshine, is about 12 or 13 and she has a stuffed monkey named Minky that she has had for years and years and carries around all the time. I hope to be old and sweet like Sunshine some day, and I hope Tucker decides at some point that dissecting stuffies really isn’t that fun. πŸ˜‰

  17. Your mom sews like my mom. It’s not pretty, but it does the trick. I just detached the second ear from my laughing dog. He’s waiting to be admitted.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  18. Zena says:

    The Help has given up trying to replace/mend the toys now. We have a basket full of limp, de-stuffed, de-squeakered toys! She has been looking for a large soft toy which is safe for us, rather like the huge dog that Zac used to have. He de-stuffed him over time and in the end Big Dog was just like a limp bit of sheepskin, but…. he was precious and is now at the Rainbow Bridge with Zac.

    • My mommy and I saw Zac’s Big Dog when we were reading about Zac the other day. We loved how Big Dog started out very stuffed and ended up very de-stuffed but obviously very well loved. So sweet.

  19. rubytheairedale says:

    I have that same puppy Miss Harper Lee!! And, it’s still kickin’ too! (When Ma bought it for 5 bucks, she didn’t think it would last 60 seconds!)
    Now abouts that pawsome hospital of yours….I’ve never been there, most of my stuffies end up in the cemetery! (it’s gettin’ crowded in there too!)
    Kisses,
    Ruby β™₯

    • I’m telling you, there’s something special about that puppy toy! Unfortunately, I too have had quite a few toys end up at the cemetery. My mommy tries to sneak them out of the house, but I know where they’re going.

  20. Hey! I have hedgehogs too! Mr. and Mrs. Prickles…they have had surgeries too, all of which have been successful (thank goodness!). Loved this post friend. πŸ™‚

    • Mr. and Mrs. Prickles–I love that! I am so happy to hear that their surgeries have been successful. Wishing them long lives of being shaken, chewed, and slobbered on. What more could a toy want? πŸ™‚

      • I too am thankful for successful surgeries. I don’t know what I’d do without them. Or they without me as you said – what more could a toy want but to live long lives being shaken, chewed and slobbered on? πŸ™‚

  21. Misaki says:

    I’m glad the emergency surgery was a success:-) Previous operations in our A&E ward have not gone so well and my chief surgeon had to be fired for loosing too many patients. But now I know who to call on:-)

    • Oh, Misaki, I am so sorry to hear about the mortality rate at your facility, but you can rest assured in the knowledge that the doors of our Squeaky Toy Hospital are always open to your stuffed friends. πŸ™‚

  22. 2browndawgs says:

    We need your mom around here. She sure did a great job. Most soft toys don’t live very long once the brown dawgs get to them….lol.

    • Mommy has had a lot of opportunities to perfect her surgical skills. Having seen the brown dawgs carrying their “toys” through the water, I think my mommy would have to work on her mouth-to-mouth lifesaving skills at your house!

  23. Great pictures and your mom is great taking care of your sick buddys. I have a bunch of those too that I have to fix now and again. Have a great day.

  24. PigLove says:

    WOW – your mom is awesome. You think my mom can come and be an apprentice to her in the Squeaky Toy Hospital? I’ve got some toys – of course they are all shaped like pigs for some reason – that need some plastic surgery πŸ™‚ Great post! XOXO – Bacon

  25. Our mommy just can’t get over these photos – they’re just cuteness to the max – she keeps squealing!!! you’re a very good girl for keeping (most of) your toys intact! We destroy ours within seconds (well it gets mommy to buy us some new ones – see the trick?) Love, Charlie and Hannah

  26. barkandchatter says:

    I love this post! You’re lucky to have such a dedicated and talented surgeon on the premises, Harper Lee! At my house, dead toys don’t get revived!

  27. GizmoGeodog says:

    Our momz must have trained at the same dogtor school Miss H.L. Momz is very good at fixing up my stuffies and getting them back to the toy basket right quick

  28. Jan K says:

    Miss Lee….Your Mom is so awesome!! My Mom does not like to sew (or doesn’t know how, I’m not sure), so we don’t even have a squeaky toy hospital, and she throws my toys away when I have de-stuffed them! 😦
    Love, Sheba from Wag ‘N Woof Pets

    • Oh, Sheba, that’s ok because I’m sure that after your mom throws the de-stuffed toys away you get nice, new super-stuffed toys. Come to think of it, you may actually have a better deal than I have. πŸ˜‰

  29. OMG SO adorable you are MHL. Your Mama’a photo’s make me ache for the Sundogs as I have been away from them for 8 days now. Your Mama is very dedicated to go to the trouble of surgery on your precious.


Leave a Reply

