B-A-T-H Time

Bath 1 thek9harperlee

Yesterday, after a lovely early morning walk, it happened: B-A-T-H time.

A small sidenote on behalf of all dogs everywhere: Although I know humans would rather not believe this, dogs do know how to spell. We can spell B-A-T-H and V-E-T. We can spell T-R-E-A-T and W-A-L-K. We can even spell C-A-T. Trust me, you are not fooling any of us.

Anyway, back to my story. Even if I couldn’t spell, I would have known what was going on. The minute the dog towels, shampoo, and bath leash come out, it is painfully obvious. Actually, I am not averse to bath time. During the winter, when it’s too cold to be bathed outside, I go to my favorite groomers at my local PetSmart. They love me there, and I love them. I always get a glowing “pawgress” report when my mommy picks me up. It usually says things like “very sweet,” “super obedient,” and “a joy to groom.” My daddy is obsessed with seeing my “pawgress” report. But in the warmer months, my mommy gives me some of my baths in the driveway. (I still make special trips to see the PetSmart groomers. We call that “Spa Day.”) Today was my first driveway bath of the year, and it went pretty much the way most baths go.

Bath 2 thek9harperlee

Here I am post-suds and rinse and pre-towel dry and brushing. I am trying as hard as possible to look as dignified as possible . . .

Bath 3 thek9harperlee

. . . but I realize that I am a wet dog, and there is very little dignity in that. At this point, I was just hoping that these spikes on my head were not gong to be permanent.

Bath 4 thek9harperlee

I am happy to report that after much drying and much, much, much brushing, my punk hairdo was all gone and I was back to my very soft and fluffy self . . . only way, way cleaner than before. Mommy says my “doggy” smell is all gone; too bad I couldn’t say the same for Mommy after she finished bathing and brushing me! Wishing you lots and lots of good, clean fun this weekend!

61 Comments on “B-A-T-H Time”

  1. Maryanne says:

    Soft and fluffy! 🙂

  2. OMGoodness, Miss HL. There is no way to look dignified during the driveway bath. your face says it all! I think it actually be worse than the bathtub bath. Embarrassing. You cleaned up nicely, though. I hope your mom did too.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  3. Oh dear, you do look utterly humiliated after the bath. It’s entirely different to be wet if you’ve been playing in ponds and doing doggy stuff but, to be wet from a forced bath – well I never! Anyway, you look fabulous all groomed up. Now to get your Mom looking as good as you 🙂

  4. We think the discomfort was definitely worth the end result – you look pawsome Miss Lee.

    Mom usually takes a shower after bathing us ‘cos she says she smells that bad *BOL*

  5. Sunshine, Maggie, Kenai - The BIG dogs says:

    such a pretty, pretty, fluffy girl!!

  6. I guess that I am lucky that I only get shampooed at the V-E-T (and yep we CAN spell!) We live on the second floor of a condo/apt building and Mom says it is too hard to give me a bath here. Thank goodness your “punk” hairdo was fixed! BOL! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  7. You are one of the few girls I know who can carry off wet head with dignity, aplomb and total babelicious hotness factor! Personally, a few spikes on the head on occasion don’t hurt a thing. Put some Clash on whatever music device you have and pretend you’re in the mosh pit.

  8. finnhoward says:

    For shame! Out in the driveway nekked!?!? Those humans think we don’t know how to spell, but don’t tell them that! I don’t mind bathtime, we get ours in the tub, but Charley hates it. Momma has to pick him up and dump him in the tub. It’s a bad scene. Have a great weekend! Now you are squeaky clean and go out anywhere!

  9. You may not believe this, Miss Harper Lee, but you wear the punk spikes absolute charm and beauty. It’s a very good look on you!

  10. cafall says:

    Our boys get washed outdoors year round. Sam despises baths, and tries to hide. Monty tries to act like he doesn’t care, but he loves them.

    Sam

  11. Misaki says:

    You poor thing having to suffer that…but you do look super fluffy:-)

  12. You are glowing Miss Harper Lee! And of course we can spell (though my spelling isn’t the best)! How else could we write our blogs! Woooowooooooo, Ku

  13. Miss Harper Lee, you should know that with great beauty like yours, a lot
    of work is involved. You look so good!

  14. Miss Harper Lee, you look great! You should tell your mom about this awesome bathing setup, it makes bath time SO much easier for humans, especially if using a hose for bathing. Honestly I wish we could still hook it up at home but now we have an indoor shower perfect for doggies! Anyway, its got a soaping and rinsing set up. Anyhoo, you can check out my pics of it here. http://thestubbornhound.wordpress.com/2013/01/26/product-review-mane-n-tail-equine-sprayer/
    and thanks for reminding us humans that dogs can spell. We will have to get more creative about springing the BATH on you :-p

  15. You look so sad but you dried and look so beautiful.

    • I was a little sad when I had the horrible wet-rat-in-the-driveway look. But in the end the whole bath experience was worth it and now it won’t happen again for at least another month . . . unless I find something truly putrid to roll in. 😉

  16. rubytheairedale says:

    Oh gurl! You look FABulous!!! I gotta say, I kinda liked the punk rock do!
    I’m gettin a dreaded B.A.T.H. this Sunday….not as fond as you are of them…
    Maybe if Ma did them outside where I had a chance of escape….BOL
    Kisses,
    Ruby ♥

    • So sorry to hear that you were subjected to the B-A-T-H today. I hope you at least got in a few well-timed wet shakes so that your ma was at least almost as miserable as you!

  17. GizmoGeodog says:

    I see my towel come out and I know exactly what’s up…I try to hide in my cave but it doesn’t work…Had my first ever driveway bath last week…the hose is kind of weird but Momz had it on low so not to scare me…I look exactly like a drowned rat after a bath and try to hide in shame till I’m dry…Yes, I can spell all those words too 😉

  18. Oh Miss Harper Lee you are pretty AND clean now – there’s a sexy combo for sure!! Have a great weekend!!

    • How did you guess that I was going for the sexy combo? My humans went to New Orleans (without me; can you believe it?) so I had a big weekend sleepover with my friends The Big Dogs. I was trying to be alluring for Mr. Kenai, but he spent most of the weekend hiding from me in the bathroom or the closet. I might have come on a little too strong. 😉

  19. Zena says:

    What a beautiful ‘after’ picture Miss Harper Lee. You look gorgeous, even when you’re all wet. I had a half bath yesterday – we got back from the park and we were rather sandy so it was time to be hosed down – I hate it. Even having my paws washed is agony to me. The big boy doesn’t seem to mind – ah well, what do they say about feeling and sense? 😉

  20. Yep, we know immediately the towels appear and the hose gets moved towards us. We get hosed in the garden all year round, but only on sunny days in the winter. Consolation is getting mum wet in winter with well timed shakes when she least expects it. We goldens do scrub up great though, dont we? Honey and Nutty, two goldens due for a bath 😦

  21. evi says:

    oh how cute you are as a wet dog 😀 and i wish i could pet your fluffy fur!
    i made my first experience with dog bathing last week, my guest kira rolled in something really disgusting and the smell was really bad… so i had to get her into my bathtub after the walk, i don’t know exactly if she liked it 😉 because at home she’s only used to be washed in a shower, it’s easier for her to get in… and the bathtub is very slippery, but in the end we were successful 😀

    • evi says:

      and i had to clean the whole bathroom afterwards, how lucky your humans are to have a garden and a driveway 🙂

      • Congratulations on your successful bath time, and apologies for all dogs all over the world who love to roll in disgusting things! My mommy can’t imagine trying to get me into a bathtub for my bath. You deserve an award!

  22. Jessica says:

    We dog mommies mean well when we blast water on our doggies’ bodies and surround them with annoying suds…I promise! 😉

    • Just like you mean well when you clean our ears and shove pills down our throats. Sometimes mommies have a funny way of showing love, but that’s ok because we still love you right back!

  23. Wasn’t all worth it in the end? I know you didn’t look too happy in that first photo, but you look like a dream in the last one!

    • Thank you and yes, in the end, it was all worth it because now my humans keep petting me and kissing me and saying, “Oooohhhh, Miss Harper Lee, you feel so soft and you smell so good.” I like that. 🙂

  24. followingroy says:

    The second picture is the best! You look gorgeous before, during and after bath. 😀

  25. Dogs N Pawz says:

    We think you are beautiful both wet and dry and mommy got a good laugh out of your spikes even though we think they are quite cute!

  26. 2browndawgs says:

    You look very fluffy and clean!

  27. A WET Golden!!! IGolden LOVE it! LOVE baths too. I bet you smell Golden GooooooooDDDDD!!! Lots of Golden Woofs, Sugar

  28. Marcie says:

    Looking great and fluffy after the bath! Did you find lots of opportunities to ‘shake’ and try to get your person adequately rinsed off as well? 🙂

  29. Miss Harper Lee you are such a pretty girl! I bet you smell great:)


Leave a Reply

