Retail Therapy

Retail 1 thek9harperlee

Earlier this week, I had a bit of a Big Dog hangover. I know exactly what you’re thinking and, after my post on hitting the bottle, I don’t blame you; but it wasn’t that kind of hangover.

NOLA 1 thek9harperlee

Last weekend, my humans went to New Orleans without me. I was initially slightly miffed that they would go to one of my very favorite cities and leave me at home. Then they gave me the excellent news: While they were running around the French Quarter taking pictures of beautiful buildings, eating fantastic food, listening to excellent music, and indulging in the occasional cocktail, I would be staying with my friends The Big Dogs (Sunshine, Maggie, and Kenai) and their humans (Miss Gaye and Mr. Frank). Well, I could hardly contain my excitement because I love, love, love staying with The Big Dogs. There is always something fun happening at their house, and I had the very best time. Then I came home–boring, boring, boring–and that’s when The Big Dog hangover hit. After three mopey days, Mommy decided it was time to do what girls do when they need to lift their spirits: retail therapy. But not just any retail therapy. Retail therapy at PetSmart.

PetSmart 2 thek9harperlee

I spent some time looking at clothes, but there just aren’t a lot of choices for “large” girls like me.

PetSmart 1 thek9harperlee

I looked at toys, and some of the toys looked right back at me. That was a little intimidating.

Retail 2 thek9harperlee

I think I made some excellent choices (just FYI, the poo poo bags were Mommy’s choice) and I was much, much happier when we got home.

Retail 4 thek9harperlee

This morning I spent a little time playing with my new Frisbee. It’s my very first one, and I love it.

Retail 5 thek9harperlee

I could have chased and retrieved that Frisbee all day, but my humans got a little tired.

Retail 6 thek9harperlee

To be perfectly honest with you, I was also getting a little tired. So I curled up on my bed with Parrot. The weather humans are predicting a rainy weekend (I think they may actually be right this time), so Parrot and I plan on spending lot of time in this position. I am extremely happy to report that my Big Dog hangover is a thing of the past. I am also happy to say that retail therapy can be a very successful remedy for the puppy dog blues.

40 Comments on “Retail Therapy”

  1. Glad you are feeling better. Some times a dogs gotta stay home. 🙂

    • It’s hard to accept (maybe more for my humans than for me) but I know that I cannot always travel with my humans. But at least I get to stay with The Big Dogs. They are fun, fun, fun!

  2. you are such a sweetheart! I bet it was hard for your Mom not to buy out the entire store for you!

  3. Oh Miss Harper Lee, I would never leave you behind! But I am glad you got to spend time with the Big Dogs and that you got such wonderful new toys! Woooooooowooooooooo, Ku

    • It is hard to understand how my humans could possibly be away from me for more than a few hours, but I guess they deserve to have some time–just a bit–together. 😉

  4. finnhoward says:

    Miss Harper Lee, I understand about the clothes. Being a big girl too, there aren’t a lot of options for GRs like us. But shopping for toys and treats – how fun!!! Glad you were taken care of while the peeps played and glad you are back home and having fun there too.

    • I’m actually a bit relieved that there aren’t a lot of “big girl” clothing options. Other than bandanas (and I guess those silly head things that my mommy forces me to wear for special occasions), I’m really not a big fan of playing dress-up. But I will take all the treats and toys I can get. 🙂

  5. That shopping spree really did perk you up, Miss HL. What a great idea! Those Big Dogs sound like a blast!

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    • The Big Dogs are super fun. Maggie and I play and play and play, and Mr. Frank speaks dog and talks to me all the time! No wonder I was so down when I returned to my boring humans.

  6. Oh Miss Harper Lee we love your new frisbee!! We hope you like it as much as we like it for you!! Retail therapy is what Pretty swears by, but the old woman Slow is a Debbie Downer when it comes to spending money…:)

    • I cannot begin to tell you how happy I am that Mommy has introduced me to this retail therapy thing. I may just fake being down from time to time so that we can go on shopping sprees. 😉 And I cannot begin to tell you how much I love my Frisbee. I think I must have been one of those athletic Frisbee-playing dogs in a prior life!

  7. writetowag says:

    BOL!!!! So glad you had such a great girls day out…I LOVE the pic of you jumping and running in the yard for your frisbee…made me smile!!!! Happy day!!!!

  8. 2browndawgs says:

    Glad you found a way to fight your hangover…lol.

  9. Maryanne says:

    I’m with Julianne, I’d never leave you behind either! But glad you’re happier now. I’m digging the frisbee action shots!

    • I have to hank you and Miss Julianne for helping me make my humans feel really, really guilty 🙂 and I’m so happy you enjoyed my action shots. I need to give my mommy some extra practice on those.

  10. Boo for being left behind! I hate when that happens! But some retail therapy seems to have done the trick. How do you do that with the Frisbee anyway!? 🙂

  11. Hope your humans had a great time in New Orleans. I enjoyed my day there a couple years ago. How nice of them to take you shopping to the doggie store when they got home. Great pictures and looks like you are having so much fun with your Frisbee. Have a great weekend.

    • My humans love their New Orleans getaways, and I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit there. You need to go back for a longer stay, but maybe not in our hot and humid summer. 🙂 I am having so much fun with my Frisbee. I had absolutely no idea how much fun a Frisbee can be!

  12. Marcie says:

    What a fun collection you came back with! Love your new frisbee…looks like even though it was your first time owning one, you figured out how to play marvelously. Enjoy your cuddle time with your new parrot if it rains!

    • I have to say that once again those weather humans have blown it. All of that rain they predicted has not happened yet, so I have had way more time with Frisbee than Parrot, but that’s ok!

  13. Ogee says:

    My Bella and Jackson LOVE those piggies. They have the piggies, the stars, the octopus and the crab! They would eat your soft little parrot in a hot minute – but those other things are positively indestructible! Great collection. Curl up in the rain and cuddle 🙂

    • We’ve only seen the pigs, but we will definitely be on the lookout for the others, especially the octopus and the crab. They sound really interesting. No real rain yet (I have absolutely no idea why my humans are shocked when those weather people get it wrong), but I have managed to get in a little cuddle time anyway. Have a great weekend, and I hope it’s a little cooler than your recent days. 🙂

  14. BOL, Miss Harper Lee, you’re a girl after my own heart!

  15. Gizmo says:

    I love going shopping too Miss HL…It’s so much fun to choose my own things and I love getting to visit with all the other pups…Happy Saturday!

  16. You know what gurl? I thinks this was a pretty good exchange!!! You gets to play with The Big Dogs, and have all kinds of Big Dog funs ~ AND you gets treaties and toys cause your peeps feel all guilty for leavin’ you (don’t let them fool you…they feel guilty!! BOL). Nice!!!
    You know what? I’ve never had a frisbee either! I did have one a long time ago, butts I chewed it up, so maybe it’s time for Ma to get me another!
    Kisses,
    Ruby ♥

    • Shhhh . . . don’t let my humans know how I worked them on this. 🙂 Technically, this was my second Frisbee. Earlier in the week, my mommy found a $1 Frisbee at Target. It held up about as well as you’d expect from a $1 Frisbee!

  17. Sage says:

    Great idea, Miss Harper Lee!! Mom’s heading out for New Hampshire in a few days and I’m going to put my bid in for a shoppin’ trip when she gets back!

  18. Personally, I prefer fetch therapy, but Rosy thinks retail therapy was the perfect remedy for you! And she just loves your parrot. BearHUG!

  19. evi says:

    hihi, kira loves her frisbee too, she’s getting excited just when she’s seeing it 😀
    enjoy your new toys miss harper lee 🙂


Leave a Reply

