Under the Influence

Dental 1 thek9harperlee

It’s time for me to be completely honest with you. When this picture was taken late yesterday afternoon, I was a little under the influence. I had just returned to my house after having my teeth cleaned by my V-E-T. I was kind of groggy and slightly wobbly, and my eyes were extremely bloodshot. I will put your mind at ease right now and let you know that I did not drive myself.

Dental 2 thek9harperlee

I have tried to piece the day together as well as I possibly can. My humans woke up pre-crack of dawn because my daddy had an early flight. I slept in. When I finally did wake up, go outside for my initial backyard perimeter search, and come back in . . . breakfast was not served. Something was up. And then mommy and I skipped our usual morning walk. Something was definitely up. The next thing I knew I was in my chariot being chauffeured to the V-E-T. I remember a very nice lady coming out to get me, and I remember looking back at my mommy, and that’s the last thing I remember until I saw my mommy again about eight hours later. I’m not completely sure what happened during those eight hours, but I can tell you that my mouth felt really, really clean and my teeth were super shiny and white . . . and I was starving.

Dental 3 thek9harperlee

I had a very small dinner, and then I drifted off to la la land. I didn’t even have the energy to move away from my dinner bowl. I just rested my head on the edge, and I went to sleep. After a little while, Mommy woke me up and said that it was time to go to bed. No argument from me. I am quite pleased to report that I had an excellent dental report. I am feeling much more coherent this morning and I think I’ll have a better recollection of this day.

53 Comments on “Under the Influence”

  1. Oh, you poor thing, Miss Harper Lee. As soon as I saw your eyes, The Red Man knew something was up. And then of course, no one takes a nap in their food bowl. Poor thing. And yes, that’s just like the human mommy to play a trick on you and not even begin to tell you about your VET Visit. Bummer. But at least you have nice clean teeth again so all’s well that ends well, as yours truly is fond of saying. Make the most of your recovery attention. Milk it, girl. 🙂

    • A lot of my “recovery attention” included my mommy just looking at me a giggling, and then of course grabbing that silly camera to take pictures of me in my delicate condition. 😉

  2. finnhoward says:

    Oh Miss Harper Lee, are you ok? Do you need to report your humans for maltreatment? 🙂 I hope you are feeling better.

  3. The Big Dogs says:

    we know the feeling Ms Lee!! Having clean teeth is exhausting work!

  4. so glad you are ok and are super happy that you didn’t drive (wink)

  5. Oh honey you look sad. Glad your dental cleaning went well and now you have nice fresh breath for puppy kisses. It’s nice and a good idea to get routine dental cleanings to keep your teeth health. Hugs! Maybe today you will have a fun filled day to make up for it.

    • I did look a little sad, didn’t I? Mommy made up for all of my “trauma” on my daily walk this morning: She let me stop and sniff almost everything I wanted to stop and sniff. 🙂

  6. PigLove says:

    Well, you do look a little woozy. Thank goodness you didn’t drive home. You might have gotten a DUI (Doggy Under the Influence). Let alone could you have done the sobriety test? snorts. Get better soon my friend! XOXO – Bacon

    • Doggy Under the Influence! I love that, Bacon. Happy to report that I am fully recovered, although if anyone would like to continue to shower me with sympathy, that’s just fine with me. 😉

      • PigLove says:

        suck it up for all its worth my friend. Keep that pitiful look in your eyes, whine and whimper and carry on. The more you do, the more cuddles you get from mom/dad. I’ve learned that from experience 😉 XOXO – Bacon

  7. cafall says:

    We hope you a back to normal today! 😀

    Sam

  8. Maryanne says:

    Bah! I hate the dentist too! The things we ladies do to look cute, I’ll tell ya 😉

    That last photo is absolutely adorable … I love the dreamy pictures 🙂

  9. Oh dear Miss Lee, what a terrible day! I send nose kissies of love and recovery to yoooowoooowooooooo! Ku

  10. Misaki says:

    oh poor you, hope you’re feeling all ok now xx

  11. Oh, sweetie! You look awfully out of it. Glad to hear you had a good dental report and are feeling better!

  12. GizmoGeodog says:

    Oh lord Miss HL, talk about the day after the night before you poor thing…Hope today is much better for you

    • I didn’t see those pictures Mommy took until this morning, and I have to agree that I was quite a mess. But I am happy to say that the bloodshot eyes were all gone this morning, and I managed not to fall asleep on the edge of my bowl after breakfast!

  13. Jan K says:

    Poor Miss Lee. Glad you are better though. My humans do this to me, the same exact scenario, almost once a year! Mostly all I worry about is getting back home and having some food. They worry that I might wander too close to the staircase. So I totally understand falling asleep on your food dish.
    Kobi, Wag ‘N Woof Pets

    • Oh, Kobi, I can certainly see how your humans would worry about you coming too close to the staircase. We just have a couple of little steps in our house, and even those were a bit tricky for me. 🙂

  14. Hang in there MHL. Your hangover won’t last forever. Miss Maisie Rose of the Sundogs is going in for “The Surgery” on Thursday. She’s had it with having puppies. Stay tuned maybe I’ll post a little story about it.

    • Please tell Miss Maisie Rose that “The Surgery” will not be that bad. She’ll get to the V-E-T, feel a little prick, and then next thing she knows she’ll be back home and falling asleep in her bowl while humans take pictures of her and laugh.

  15. Zena says:

    You definitely look a little worse for wear in those photos Miss Harper Lee and with good reason. I remember recovering from those things….not funny even if The Help thought it was!! Hope you feel better today.

    • Sometimes humans have the oddest sense of what’s funny, and so many times those “funny” things have something to do with us. If the humans only knew how much time we spend laughing at them!

  16. So glads to hear that you didn’t anesthetize and drive!!! BOL
    And, I’m also glad to hear that you had a FABulous dental report!! Good job gurl!
    Now, just thinks of all the energy your gonna have tomorrow!! BOL
    Sweet dreams….
    Kisses,
    Ruby ♥

    • My complete recovery occurred about 24 hours after I got home. I ran into the bedroom and started barking like a crazy dog: “Woof. Woof. Woof!” Translation: “I’m back. I’m back. I’m back!”

  17. Terry Cramer says:

    Oh my Miss Harper Lee! You looked quite helpless with your red eyes. My snout goes out to you! I’ve had some dental cleanings, and they can be quite confusing. So happy all your beautiful teeth are healthy

    Love,

    Matilda

  18. Rebekah says:

    Silly stoned girl. : )

  19. Marcie says:

    Oh goodness, that’s ‘dog-tired’ when you’re falling asleep on your dish! I hope you’re feeling much more alert today. Glad your dental visit went well!

  20. 2browndawgs says:

    Hope you are all back to normal and with clean choppers. 🙂

  21. I’m glad you’re feeling better! At first I thought I was looking at your mug shot but glad to see no DUI was issued. I have to say a couple of those pics made you look as if you had been run hard and hung up wet, although you snoozing on your food bowl is adorable!

  22. Poor Harper Lee – but think of all the hugs and kisses you’ll get from your mommy now because you were such a brave girl!

  23. Poor thing. Those eyes just looked so sad. Glad you are feeling much better.

  24. Dogs N Pawz says:

    You have some really red eyes! Glad you are feeling better:) There is an award waiting for you at http://dogsnpawz.com/follow-up-friday-this-dog-is-feeling-much-better.html

  25. Oh my! You were DEFINITELY feeling no pain, Miss HL. Sleeping on top of your food bowl is a sure sign that something was not right.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake


Leave a Reply

