Enjoy the Moment

Enjoy 6 thek9harperlee

There are so many things about life and the way it ought to be lived that dogs could teach to humans, but today I am going to concentrate on the life lesson I shared this week with my human mommy. Here it is: Enjoy the moment. A few days ago, my mommy turned to me and said, “Oh, Miss Harper Lee, I think I’ll never ever catch up.” And I looked back at my mommy and replied, as only a Golden Retriever can, “Maybe it’s just time to give up on catching up and enjoy the moment.” Humans spend an awful lot of time worrying about the past. I cannot begin to tell you the number of times I’ve heard my mommy say, “Oh, I should have . . . ” or “Oh, I never got around to . . . ” or “Oh, that still needs to be done.” Have you ever once seen a dog fret over what happened–or didn’t happen–five minutes ago, much less yesterday, last week, or years back? No. The past is the past, and every dog knows that it’s time to move on. Which brings me to the humans’ obsession with the future. I have noticed that some humans spend so much time worrying about and planning for the future that they forget to enjoy the present. All dogs know that each daily walk will come to an end, but that doesn’t stop us from pausing (or trying to pause) and smelling every single thing we can along the way. So my message to you humans is this: Don’t worry about what you didn’t accomplish yesterday, and don’t worry about what still needs to be done tomorrow. On your daily walk, stop and smell every single thing you possibly can. In other words, enjoy the moment.

Enjoy 5 thek9harperlee

Wow! I got all philosophical on you, didn’t I? Now that that’s over, are you ready to see how my mommy and I forgot about the past, put the future in the future, and enjoyed the moment? I grabbed a stick and started chewing, and my mommy actually stopped doing whatever it was she was doing and sat in the grass with me and watched me enjoying my stick. Simple pleasures . . . that’s another life lesson for another day.

Enjoy 1 thek9harperlee thek9harperlee

My mommy and I also spent a little quality time in the kitchen baking Banana Oat Cookies from Miss Jude’s recipe at welcome to our 3mbakery. Yummy, yummy, yummy! They were so delicious that my humans even had a taste (or two). I have to figure out how to keep my humans from begging for my excellent homemade treats. Tomorrow is my final obedience class in this session, so my mommy and I are going to package some Banana Oat Cookies to share with my classmates. Shhh . . . it’s a surprise.

Enjoy 4 thek9harperlee

And speaking of obedience class, Mommy and I spent a little time practicing the command “Watch Me.” This seems to be a very important command, and I have become a bit lax with it. There are just so many interesting things happening all around me, so can you really blame me when my attention strays a bit? Apparently so; therefore “Watch Me” got some extra attention this week. I wonder if I’ll score style points for daintily extending my left paw? It’s worth a try.

Enjoy 3 thek9harperlee

The highlight of my week came when I got to go Christmas shopping. No, I was not getting a jump on regular Christmas shopping–remember, we are concentrating on enjoying the moment here. I was shopping for Christmas in July. I’m doing a very fun blog dog gift exchange and I have been matched with a handsome young Scottie named Ranger. Naturally, I cannot show you what’s in the box . . . after all, it’s a gift and it’s supposed to be a surprise . . .

Enjoy 2 thek9harperlee

. . . but I also cannot begin to tell you how excited I am about the gifts that I am sending to Ranger. I have sniffed each and every single thing that is in this box. I may even have had a toy or two in my mouth . . . just briefly. But that’s the lesson for today: Enjoy the moment. Look at the gifts in front of you every single day. Don’t worry about the past–it’s over. Don’t fret too much about the future–it’s not even here yet. It’s time for humans to start living as if they were Golden Retrievers . . . and just enjoy the moment.

46 Comments on “Enjoy the Moment”

  1. This was the most beautiful post. we all need to listen to you more. need to slow down and enjoy each moment as it might be yr last. the work will still be there tomorrow. have a great weekend. enjoy yr last class.

  2. Thanks for the lesson Miss Harper Lee. I needed it.

  3. 2browndawgs says:

    Very good advice! Hope you enjoyed that big tray of cookies. 🙂

  4. Zena says:

    Great advice Miss Harper Lee and I think the moments should be enjoyed with those cookies!

  5. Kuruk says:

    Miss Harper Lee, you are so wise, and so lucky to find such a great stick and have your mom make you cookies! I hope you schoolmates like them toooowoooowooooooo!

  6. Arrrrrrrrrrrrrroooooooooooooooo!!!!! Dat BIG box is my pressie?????? I can’t wait. I’m going to enjoy this moment and stare at that box you got for me.
    Wags,
    Ranger

  7. Wonderful advice!
    Thanks for reminding of the important things.

  8. What fabulous advice! It’s amazing that humans have to be reminded of this, but they do! It’s a good thing we’re there to do the reminding. Have fun at obedience school graduation. Your classmates will definitely enjoy the cookies.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  9. finnhoward says:

    You are so right Miss Harper Lee. We should all live a little more like golden retrievers do. I hope your cookies were yummy and I can’t wait to see what you got in the swap!

  10. Such wise, wise words Miss HL!! Best of luck with your last class – your class mates are going to go barking crazy when they see the treats you’re brining them!!

    We couldn’t take part in the Christmas in July fun…mom and dad told us that they are saving up for a special trip in December and that every cent counts…we’re hoping to be able to tell everybuddy about it soon!

    Have a super weekend!
    Wally & Sammy

    • I cannot wait to hear about your humans’ plans, and I know all about human plans getting in the way of our fun. My mommy and daddy were planning on taking me to the beach in October (it would have been my first beach trip), and then they decided on a trip for themselves–just humans, not dogs–later in the year. How completely unfair!

  11. My Mom sure wishes she had seen this yesterday. Mom has been in a funk and kept feeling guilty that she was NOT in the mood to do a blog post for me yesterday AT ALL!!! She felt so guilty about not having blogged on a Friday that she put up a really lame post late Friday. She should have just not worried about it as you advised. You are one WISE DOGGY! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

    • It sounds like your mom and my mommy were in the same boat. All of this “enjoy the moment” advice came about because my mommy was sooo far behind on reading all of my friends’ blogs. They more she tried to catch up, the more behind (and frustrated) she got . . . and that’s when I told her it was just time to give up on catching up. Enjoy the moment and move forward!

  12. The Big Dogs says:

    Ms. Lee: we have been enjoying many moments with our sister/daughter from Houston!! We hope you can come for a play date this afternoon. 5 goldens frolicking in the yard………. what a golden sight!!!

    • I have no doubt that Little Sunshine has provided many, many enjoyable moments at Chez Gaye! Hopefully we won’t get too much rain today, otherwise we’ll be more of a muddy sight than a golden sight. 🙂

  13. Aha, the Philosopher Miss Harper Lee – enjoy the moment. Great advice! Hard to follow for “planners”!! Have a great weekend!! Enjoy the day…

  14. Oh Miss Harper Lee, I really loves your life lessons!! Though I’m not a peep, I’m a terror ~ um, TERRIER, and we seem to tend to be tenacious. this is good, butts I tend to have a little OCD, and I really need to live in the moment more….as does my Ma. We are gonna go and sit and have a stick…I’m gonna have a stick, she doesn’t like them much….
    Kisses,
    Ruby ♥

    • Thank you, Ruby. My late canine sister Lexi was a terror–I mean terrier–mix, so I definitely understand an OCD dog! I hope your yummy stick helped you to slow down and enjoy the moment. My mommy doesn’t like to chew sticks either. What’s wrong with them?

  15. Jan K says:

    What a great lesson, Miss Lee. You are so right. I know how your Mom feels, never being caught up, but sometimes I try to remember to just let it go for a bit. That will be my mantra when I am feeling overwhelmed….”enjoy the moment”. Thank you!

  16. Rebekah says:

    I certainly need to work more on enjoying the moment. Thank you for reminding me.

  17. a very inspiring post – love that moment when you just sit quietly with your dog and watch them enjoy something 🙂

  18. Marcie says:

    Got to love the Golden Retriever way of life! 🙂 Nice that you got to kick back and enjoy some cookies! The gift exchange sounds fun…can’t wait to see what fun goodies you get!

  19. Wise words, Mis Harper Lee, wise words.

  20. Reblogged this on Casa da Nuvea and commented:
    You’re in for a treat today, my friends. I am reblogging a wonderful post from thek9harperlee. I think you will like it, and her words are very important right now as summer is flying by…


Leave a Reply

