Was That a Dream?

Dream Harper Lee thek9harperlee

The oddest thing happened to me this past weekend. I was sound asleep on my bed and I was having the greatest dream . . . you know, the kind where your feet and mouth twitch and you make those little horsey sounds? I know you’ve had those dreams. Anyway, the next thing I knew, my human mommy was shaking me and saying, “Wake up, Miss Lee. We’re going to see The Big Dogs.” I’ve told you about The Big Dogs–Sunshine, Maggie, and Kenai. I stay with The Big Dogs when my humans have the nerve to travel without me, and they helped me train for my daddy’s marathon earlier this year. So I woke up–I think–and I got in my chariot for the ride to The Big Dogs’ house.

Goldens 2 thek9harperlee

Obviously my memory is a little blurry on all of this–and that’s why I think that maybe I was still dreaming–but when we got to The Big Dogs’ house, there was this extra Golden Retriever there . . . I think. The humans called her Little Sunshine, which was very confusing, and she seemed to be one of Sunshine’s puppies and a sister to Maggie and Kenai. You think you’re confused, just imagine how I was feeling at this point. So we all ran around like we had lost our minds and the next thing I knew we were in the back yard.

Goldens 1 thek9harperlee

And then this lady appeared–she may have been my mommy, but really who could tell at that point. She said something about treats, and that really got our attention. Do you see five Golden Retrievers there? I’m just asking because this whole thing was very dreamlike to me.

Goldens 3 thek9harperlee

What about now? Are there still five Golden Retrievers? I thought so. And then the next thing I knew, we were inside. And that’s when I really tried to focus and look around me to assess the situation.

Dream Sunshine thek9harperlee

I saw Sunshine, the momma dog . . .

Dream Maggie thek9harperlee

. . . I saw Maggie, her girl puppy . . .

Dream Kenai thek9harperlee

 . . . and I saw Kenai, Sunshine’s boy puppy. At this point, I was thinking that maybe I wasn’t in a dream. I was surrounded by Sunshine, Maggie, and Kenai–The Big Dogs. Things were starting to make sense again.

Dream Little Sunshine thek9harperlee

But wait. On the other side of the room, behind a table, apparently hiding from me, I saw that extra Golden Retriever, the one they called Little Sunshine. Just then, my mommy said that it was time to go, so we got back into my chariot and drove away. The next thing I knew, I was back home, on my bed, and drifting in and out of sleep. That entire episode must have been a dream, don’t you think?

53 Comments on “Was That a Dream?”

  1. Maryanne says:

    Cool photos! Truly capturing a dream-like sequence.

  2. certainly a very dreamlike sequence… would you like it to be a dream or real?

  3. The Big Dogs says:

    if we could all only have such pleasant dreams!!!!!

  4. Sounds like your dreams came true, Miss Harper Lee!! I’ve always believed in the Power ot the Paws!!! 🙂 The more, the merrier…

  5. Gizmo says:

    Wonderful dreamy photos Miss HL…Dream or not, it was a pawsome time and made for a great memory

  6. finnhoward says:

    Miss HL, you are to have to investigate and listen in on conversations and find out if there is an extra golden in the pack! Sounds like a fabulous dream or a fabulous adventure, either way! Love your photos!

  7. Well if it was a dream, it was a good one.

  8. Dina says:

    What a lovely post, keep on dreaming, we want more of this! Love the photos.
    Dina x

  9. Sage says:

    That was a dream to remember, Miss Harper Lee!

  10. Kuruk says:

    Oh Miss Lee, are you the Little Sunshine in your dream because you are the Sunshine in my dreams! Wooooooowooooooo, Ku

    • Oh, Ku, I am so happy to be a shining light for you; but, no, I am not Little Sunshine. According to the humans, she is one of Big Sunshine’s puppies who was visiting for the weekend.

  11. It definitely looks like a dream to me. A dream full of golden doggies!

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  12. I think it was real but I LOVE LOVE LOVE your Mom’s creativity in making that actually LOOK like a dream!

  13. 2browndawgs says:

    Seems like a good dream at least. 🙂

  14. What a wonderful dream! 🙂

  15. Ogee says:

    What a dreamy group of goldens! Let’s hope it’s a recurring dream!

  16. writetowag says:

    Pawesome!!!! Love the photo effects you did…made it look so dreamy!!!! 🙂 Have a great rest of the week dear friends!!!!

  17. Misaki says:

    if it was a dream then it sounds like a pawesome one!

  18. Marcie says:

    I hope it was real because having FIVE Goldens around for a visit sounds like so much fun! I’d love to see that dynamic between the five of them. Did they each keep wedging themselves in to be closer to people? 🙂

    • The humans were so shocked to see that I immediately knew which Golden Retriever was the “new” one–Little Sunshine, who was visiting. I don’t know why that surprised them. I’m a smart girl! And yes, after we went inside, there was a real battle to be the Golden who could get closest to the humans! Typical. 🙂

      • Marcie says:

        It must be like how we would instantly recognize a new person. Yes, quite smart and perceptive! 🙂 Yep, typical Golden with wanting to be with the people, ha! Probably just about tripping over the other dogs just to get closer. 🙂

  19. ohmelvin.com says:

    Ok, first off, the photos are divine!!! Second off, a room full of Goldens – that is a dream I want to be in!!!

  20. Henrietta McArdle ("Boots") says:

    I love your wonderful dream and your dreamy pictures Miss Harper Lee. Be assured that
    that Little Sunshine is real.I was there when she was born and had held her Mama in my
    lap when she was a puppy and I accompanied her human owner (my son) to bring her
    home to surprise his daughter on Christmas morning. I am still waiting for your human
    owner to publish your stories for all the children who would LOVE them.

    • Miss Boots, you are too sweet. My mommy wishes she had known Big Sunshine all of her life, because she is so sweet, too! I love, love, love The Big Dogs and Little Sunshine, and I cannot begin to tell you how much fun I have when I visit Miss Gaye and Mr. Frank. 🙂

  21. Jan K says:

    Oh, a golden dream…that is so wonderful! I would wish for all my dreams to be like that! The photos are great. It sounds like Little Sunshine was a little shy?

  22. Your mommy worked wonders with the camera interpreting your dream. I thought for a moment you had space traveled to Sundog Ranch. 5 Golden’s 5 Golden’s 5 Golden’s

  23. Christine says:

    Hello, WOW! you sure do take some great pictures!! We try, we have found that it is easier to plan a picture than to take one! Humphrey always has to move!! Have a great week, Thanks for stopping by!

  24. Judging by the massive smile on your face Miss Lee, I would have to believe the whole thing was very real indeed!


Leave a Reply

