Escape

HOT Miss Lee @thek9harperlee

This week has been H-O-T hot . . . like surface-of-the-sun hot. It has also been unbearably humid and we have not had rain in forever. Please do not ask me to explain how we can be so hot and humid and yet so dry all at the same time. Such an explanation is beyond my capabilities. As a result of our miserable weather conditions, this week has also been B-O-R-I-N-G boring . . . as in we have done absolutely nothing since our watermelon fun last Saturday. Mommy and I went for an abbreviated walk on Monday morning, but after that the walks were put on hold. Mommy spends all her time watering plants and moving the hose and sprinkler from one spot to another. I leave that to her because, after all, I am wearing a fur coat and, apparently, I have more sense than my mommy: I choose to remain in the air-conditioned comfort of my home.

So what does all of this mean for you, my loyal reader? It means that I do not have any of my own adventures to share with you today. It also means that it is time to take a mental escape from summer and go back to the cool and refreshing beauty of spring. In April, my humans spent a glorious afternoon at Houmas House Plantation and Gardens in Darrow, Louisiana, about 30 minutes from our house. Unfortunately, I was not invited to join them; but, fortunately for you, my mommy took lots and lots of pictures. I am pleased to share her pictures of the Houmas House gardens with you. Enjoy the escape!

Houmas Collage 1 thek9harperlee

Houmas House Collage 2 thek9harperlee

Houmas Collage 3 thek9harperlee

34 Comments on “Escape”

  1. lauraaacc says:

    That house is absolutely gorgeous! I will need to add this to my list of ‘Things to see when we travel America’. 🙂 x

    • It’s less than an hour from New Orleans, which is a must-see city when you visit the US. The prettiest times of the year in our area are mid-March to early April (all the azaleas are blooming and it’s beautiful) and October (it finally gets cool again!). Scotland is definitely on my humans’ places-to-see list. Unfortunately, I will not be able to join them when they go.

      • lauraaacc says:

        I won’t be joining the parent’s when they travel to the states because Mummy is scared of what might happen to me on a plane. Scotland is lovely, although there isn’t really a ‘best time to visit’ as the weather is pretty sporadic. But it looks beautiful in spring and wonderful in the snow.

        Mummy and Paw get married in April and are looking at Honeymoon ideas… New Orleans has now been put in the bag.

      • Best wishes to your mummy and paw! I cannot wait to hear where they decide to go for their honeymoon.

  2. 2browndawgs says:

    That is a beautiful place. I hate when the weather is so hot that you don’t even want to be outside. Hope you get a cool-off soon.

  3. What a beautiful place to escape. Have a wonderful weekend. Stay cool.

    • It was a very pleasant surprise for my humans. They had no idea that the gardens were going to be so beautiful. I think we’ll have to plan lots of indoor fun for the weekend, but my humans and I will make every possible attempt to make it wonderful!

  4. finnhoward says:

    That was a beautiful escape!! Hope you get a break in the weather real soon!

  5. OhMelvin says:

    I just love southern architecture – buildings and grounds! We are feeling your pain on the hotness in the DC area also. I call them ‘firewinds’ days – when you feel like you can almost see a spark in the air! Stay cool, and adorable!

  6. that looks like a glorious place to visit! Keep the “hots” there please! We don’t want them! BOL!

  7. I love those pictures. So cool.

  8. O…M…D! Mom just fell off her chair…those pictures are GORGEOUS and that house…oh the house…it is everything mom dreams of! She is convinced that she was a Southern Belle in a past life – silly woman!

    We hope your weather cools down soon – we had rain today which is very unusual for August in Johannesburg.

    • I am so glad that your mom enjoyed the photos. I have absolutely no doubt that your mom was a Southern Belle in a past life! The cooling rain that the weather humans promised for yesterday kind of fizzled out, so I have my paws crossed for today!

  9. Sam says:

    We haven’t done much either – it is way too hot!

    Sam

  10. Gizmo says:

    The Houmas House gardens are beautiful and look like a cool way to spend a hot afternoon…It’s hot and humid here too…This morning we were out early but had to quit by 8:30 cause it was just too darn hot to move…Dreaming of November now when the days may be shorter but the air will be breathable

  11. Beautiful photos! Rita hates to walk in hot weather (I’m not a fan either, really) but luckily we have had a crazy-mild summer. Yesterday I was actually chilly! It will probably be ridiculously hot here in Sept or Oct. The weather’s crazy these days!

    • Thank you! I am happy to hear that Rita has had mild days for her summer walks. Please send a little of your cooler temps our way, and I’ll keep my paws crossed that the next couple of months are pretty for you. 🙂

  12. bichonpawz says:

    We do not enjoy the heat either and prefer to stay in the air conditioned cottage! We enjoyed looking at your beautiful pictures! We were discussing an RV adventure to New Orleans in the April timeframe…will definitely keep these gardens in mind!! Thanks for stopping by our blog! Hope it cools down for you SOON! xoxo Chloe and LadyBug

  13. Great capture….. the beauty of the south!

  14. Misaki says:

    Such a beautiful place

  15. Rebekah says:

    What a gorgeous place!!

  16. Jan K says:

    What a beautiful place! Thank you for sharing your Mom’s lovely photos. You can have a little of our cool weather….I am sitting on my porch with a sweater on this afternoon! Which I expect to do maybe in September but not in August!

    • I’m so happy that you enjoyed the photos. Today we had rain and the temperature dropped to the upper 80s/lower 90s. You’ve never seen such a big smile on my mommy’s face. 🙂


Leave a Reply

