I Am Not a Guinea Pig

GP 1 thek9harperlee

I am not going to whine any more about how hot it has been here–I think I did enough of that last week–but it goes without saying that it is just too darn hot to do much of anything outside. So my human mommy has been on a quest to find fun indoor activities for us. While I happen to think that napping all day is a very fun indoor activity, Mommy is extremely anti-napping. Just ask Daddy, who loves a good Saturday (or Sunday) nap. Anyway, this weekend my mommy read a very fun blog post by our guinea pig friends Nutty, Nacho, Buddy, and Basil from Hutch a Good Life. They have a super clever mummy who came up with all kinds of ideas to prevent their boredom,  Well, my silly mommy read all about those ideas and thought that two in particular might work for me.

GP 2 thek9harperlee

The first idea involves newspapers and treats. So far so good. Simply take a piece of newspaper and your favorite treats–Mommy used the 3mbakery Healthy Apple, Carrot, and Brown Rice Treats that we baked.

GP3 thek9harperlee

Wad the treats up inside of the newspaper . . .

GP 4 thek9harperlee

. . . and then wait for the blur as your dog runs as fast as he or she can off to some special spot to work on getting the treats out of that wadded up newspaper.

GP6 thek9harperlee

My favorite spot happens to be my bed by the window in the den. It took me about 30 seconds to shred that newspaper and get to those treats (I had absolutely no idea that shredding newspaper could be so much fun).

GP 5 thek9harperlee

That was fun, Mommy. What do you have to keep me entertained now?

GP 7 thek9harperlee

Next we did the treats-in-a-bag trick.

GP9 thek9harperlee

Simply take a couple of teats–this time we used our homemade 3mbakery Banana Oat Cookies–and toss them into a large paper grocery bag.

GP 8 thek9harperlee

Yep, the treats are in there. Now, according to the human plan, I was supposed to stick my head all the way into the bag and get the treats out . . .

GP 10 thek9harperlee

. . . but I decided why stick my head all the way into that bag when I can just very, very quickly pick the bag up and dump the treats onto the floor. This seems like a much easier way to do things.

GP 11 thek9harperlee

Well, as you might imagine, that wasn’t Mommy’s plan, so she put the treats back into the bag and I grabbed the bag and ran to–you guessed it–my bed by the window in the den.

GP 12 thek9harperlee

And there I proceeded to rip that paper bag into tiny little pieces so that I could get to the treats. Total elapsed time? About another 30 seconds.

GP 13 thek9harperlee

So what, you might ask, did my mommy learn from this little adventure? I’ll tell you. While my guinea pig friends Nutty, Nacho, Buddy, and Basil have a very clever mummy who comes up with all kinds of fun activities to prevent their boredom, those ideas did not work for me. I am not a guinea pig. But my mommy, bless her heart (we say “bless her heart” in the South when someone is just so pitiful that there are no other words), still thinks that these two ideas could keep other dogs entertained. So she would love for you to try one or both of these activities and let us know how they work out for you. Bless your heart if you do!

44 Comments on “I Am Not a Guinea Pig”

  1. Hehehe that’s funny! Maybe to make it take longer next time she could put the treats in newspaper, in the bag?! It didn’t take you long to kill that bag at all. One that sized would be at least two hours entertainment and a days bedding with the remains!

    Mummy makes treats for doggies in hot weather that you might find fun. Pick a treat, put it in water in an ice cube tray and freeze it! Then you have to melt the ice cube to get to your treat and that will take longer than 30 seconds!

    Nutty, Nacho, Buddy & Basil
    xxxx

    • My mommy was completely shocked by my “enthusiasm” for destroying newspaper and paper bags. I’m generally not at all destructive, but I must say that I was a dog possessed when it came to getting to those treats, and then I just decided to continue shredding! We will have to try the treats in ice next. 🙂

  2. The Big Dogs says:

    love those ideas! We’ll keep you posted on how our activities go!

  3. You earned your nap! Just last night I was thinking you can say anything so long as it’s prefaced with, “bless his/her/their heart”. In the north they say, “God love ’em” in much the same manner. I wonder if they have anything different in the western part of the country.

  4. Those look like super indoor activities, thanks for sharing. The pictures are the best!

  5. dogdaz says:

    It’s raining so I am going to try the newspaper game right now! Thanks. Look like you had fun. I wanted to thank you for being such a consistent and fun commenter. Working around the clock gives me just enough time to read but no time to comment. I do hope I can get back because you deserve kudos! – Lorian

    • Oh, Lorian, you are so sweet. My blog post “Enjoy the Moment” was written a few weeks ago because Mommy was feeling so overwhelmed with trying to get to all the blogs we love so much and all the “real life” stuff she needed to do. This is the advice I gave to her: “So my message to you humans is this: Don’t worry about what you didn’t accomplish yesterday, and don’t worry about what still needs to be done tomorrow. On your daily walk, stop and smell every single thing you possibly can. In other words, enjoy the moment.” Sending you peaceful wishes!

  6. finnhoward says:

    BOL! I love this idea! My hubs is going out of town later this week and we may try this to keep us (read: Momma) entertained. I wonder if Charley would eat the newspaper. Only one way to find out.
    And no, Miss HL, we know you aren’t a guinea pig. You are too arootiful to be one (We think you look like Finn so we may be slightly biased on that!) Not that guinea pigs aren’t arootiful, mind you. You just have lovely furs!

  7. PigLove says:

    Snorts – you said “Bless her heart”. We here that around here so often as well in the south. I love it! Snorts. Now… I’m off to see if dad can work these two ‘activities’ for me. Heck, I am a pig. Maybe they’ll keep me entertained for a bit…. thanks my friend! XOXO – Bacon

  8. Misaki says:

    Oh sweet. Good try though, I’d do the same as you with the treats HL 🙂

  9. Kuruk says:

    But you got extra treats! Woooowooooooooo!

  10. *BOL* we give your mommy 2 paws up for tryin’ BUTT we could’ve told her that you were faaaar too smart for those games!

  11. Lynn Delage says:

    Shame on you, Harper Lee, that’s no way to talk about your mommy, even if it is true. LOL

  12. Good one Miss Harper Lee. We’ll have to try dat. My mom plays treats in a cardboard box and I love dat one. We’ll have to try the newspaper treat and trea-in-a-bag game.
    Wags,
    Ranger

  13. You did some serious damage to that paper bag, Miss HL. Mom bought me 3 different IQ games where she hides treats. I learned them very fast. I LOVE treats! Sometimes, she also hides them in a cupcake pan and covers each treat with a tennis ball or a small toy. Maybe your mom should try that.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  14. OMD!!! I wanna come to your house!!!! I LOVES tearin’ up paper products!! ANY kind of paper products (thou, tissue paper is my favorite!!)! Ma thought I would stop after my ‘puppy’ faze, butts I just can’t helps myself!! I loves makin’ a mess and tearin’ stuffs up!! And you got TREATIES TOO?! OMD, I thinks I’m gonna FAINT!
    Does your Moms want to adopt a slightly hyper, drooly, sometimes (okays, often) loud AireChick??? BOL
    Kisses,
    Ruby ♥

  15. Bless your heart, Miss Harper Lee. Only two weeks until football season starts and hopefully, your mommy will be so excited about her LSU Tigers that she will forget about your down time. She is way too preoccupied with your activitiy level these days…:)

    • You are so right, Red Man. I cannot wait for that first Game Day. The humans will make Bloody Mary’s and then plant themselves in front of the television from 9 a.m. until at least 10 p.m. Other than having to tune out their obnoxious yelling, it will be pure bliss for me every Saturday at least through November!

  16. 2browndawgs says:

    LOL you did a good job on ripping those things apart.

  17. I’m glad you let your momma know you are not a guinea pig to be tested on! I might have to try these on Rita… but I don’t think she’ll put her head in a bag. She’s got a lotta fears. We’ll see…

  18. Jo Danehy says:

    I just finished cleaning the house so this trick may have to wait or take place outside with the Sundogs. As always you have a very nice Mommy MHL.

    • I think my mommy is pretty special too, and she cleaned the house after I finished finding the treats inside the newspaper and paper bag. There was quite a bit of shredded paper. 🙂

  19. oooh i love the treats in newspaper idea, need to try that one out 🙂


Leave a Reply

