“Doggy Style”

computer girl thek9harperlee

Dear Animal Planet Network Executive Person:

I am writing to you today to pitch an idea for a reality television show that I think would be the pawfect (get it?) addition to your network’s lineup. The title of my proposed show is “Doggy Style.” Now I will readily admit that my idea is absolutely in no way original. In fact, it is a direct rip-off of Lifetime’s “Project Runway.” If you’re not familiar with that show, you should be. I mean, you’re a big-time television executive. But maybe you’ve just been too busy producing “Hillbilly Handfishin'” or “It’s Me or the Dog” (is that really even a question?), so let me help you out. On “Project Runway,” talented (and some not-so-talented) humans design and sew outfits for other humans. The outfits have to fit into some sort of weekly challenge theme. Each week the designer of the worst outfit is eliminated, and eventually you have a winner. I’ve probably oversimplified, but you get the idea. For “Doggy Style,” we could get about a dozen dogs and their humans and make the humans design doggy outfits based on weekly challenge themes. I’ve even thought of a few challenge themes for you:

The Resort Challenge

Island Dog 1 thek9harperlee

For this challenge, the human would have to design an outfit that would be suitable for his or her dog to wear at a resort. The outfit could be something for a ski lodge or, as I am modeling here, the perfect ensemble for that island getaway.

The Collegiate Challenge

LSU GameDay--Geaux Tigers!

Are you ready for some football? In this challenge, the humans design something that would be appropriate for game day on a college campus. Here I am modeling the perfect look for LSU Tiger tailgating. My tiger-striped bandana is understated yet stylish.

The Holiday Challenge

Halloween Costume 2 thek9harperlee

Here I offer an example of what would easily and quite quickly get a not-so-talented human eliminated. Is this not the most dreadful holiday look you have ever seen? I was mortified.

Fourth 2 thek9harperlee

This, on the other hand, is what we are going for in the holiday challenge. Fourth of July fireworks if I do say so myself.

The Red Carpet Challenge

Fur Ball 8 thek9harperlee

Television audiences love glamour, so we’ll give them what we want with our Red Carpet Challenge. What dog doesn’t love sequins, lace, and feathers? Ok, to be honest, unless those feathers are on a bird I suppose most dogs couldn’t care less about feathers, but we’re doing this episode for the ratings. Trust me on this one.

 The PetSmart Challenge

PetSmart thek9harperlee

I feel the need to tell you that my final challenge idea is brilliant. (It’s not being conceited if it’s true.) There is a chance that “Doggy Style” could be a bit pricy to produce, so we are going to need a little corporate sponsorship, and that’s where our friends at PetSmart come in. The humans will use those cute little bandanas from the grooming salon–as many as they want–to design couture looks for their pooches. I cannot wait to see our four-legged models strut their stuff in these creations. This episode is sure to be an Animal Planet ratings bonanza!

So there you have it, Animal Planet Network Executive Person. I feel fairly certain that you are going to want to greenlight “Doggy Style” immediately–it’s just what your fall lineup needs–so I will be waiting by the phone for your call.

Sincerely,

Miss Harper Lee

45 Comments on ““Doggy Style””

  1. You’re brilliant, Miss HL. I want to audition for this show, as soon as the network signs it on! My Halloween face is similar to yours…..

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    • What is it with humans and those crazy Halloween costumes? I’m really hoping I don’t have to be a pumpkin again this year. Still waiting to hear from the network execs, but as soon as I do I’ll let you know so you can prepare your audition tape!

  2. Don’t you look fancy! Whee love the 4th July pigture.

    Whee are sure the network will sign it!

    Happy Friday

    Nutty, Nacho, Buddy & Basil
    xxxx

    • Maybe the four of you could be judges for the competition. As soon as I speak with the big wigs at Animal Planet I’ll make that suggestion. I’m a little surprised I haven’t gotten their call yet.

  3. Maryanne says:

    This sounds right up there with Puppy Bowl! Count me in 🙂

  4. The Big Dogs says:

    Neilson ratings would be through the roof!! (or would that be through the woof??)

  5. Arrrrrrrrrrrrrrooooooo. What a fun idea. Maybe you need to submit it to Animal Planet.
    Wags,
    Ranger
    Pees….. I love you 4th of July scarf.

    • I’ve submitted the idea to them, now I just have to wait for their call. Sort of thought I’d hear something by now. Maybe they’re all taking a long weekend. Oh well, when I do hear something I’ll let you know because I’m sure your mom would be a great designer.
      Pees back: My mommy likes my scarf too, so I have to hide it from her. 😉

  6. PigLove says:

    hubba hubba – I’ll take you in anything Miss Harper – you gorgeous K9 you!
    But can you add piggies to the challenge. I would love to be in your new show too. XOXO – Bacon

    • Oh I have much bigger plans for you, Bacon. Just as soon as the Animal Planet Network Executive Person calls me, I’m going to get my people to have his people call your people and offer you . . . are you ready for this . . . the host position. Just think of it, Bacon: You’ll be the Heidi Klum of “Doggie Style”!

      • PigLove says:

        OMP (oh my pig)!! I’m so excited that I’m running laps around the house. Really? Me? Host? This is a dream, right? I love you. XOXO – Bacon

  7. LOL Fabulous idea, I love it and all your pictures!

    • You just sparked another challenge idea: The Hunt Challenge. That would probably involve lots and lots of feathers and camouflage with orange accents. I sure hope Animal Planet calls me soon. 😉

  8. Rebekah says:

    You are a beautiful model!

  9. Lynn Delage says:

    i DON’T LIKE SO-CALLED REALITY SHOWS BUT THAT IS ONE i WOULD WATCH, PARTICULARLY IF YOU WERE ON IT.

  10. Any computer company would sign you up as a model, based on only the first picture. Priceless!

  11. Oh Miss Harper Lee leave it to you to epitomize the utmost fashion sense and Doggy Style. One tiny little ol’ technical point in our reality show. Uh, I’m wondering just how you’re going to look in Gamecock garnet and black???? 🙂 Heh, heh. You can get back to me on that, missy prissy.

  12. evi says:

    hihi, that’s an awesome idea, i would be a huge fan of such kind of tv-show 🙂 and i love your red carpet outfit, so cute!

  13. Jan K says:

    Great idea, Miss Lee! I’d be tuning in for sure. I think “The Resort Challenge” was my favorite, though I love them all!

  14. OMG love this post. And I think it’s a fabulous idea Miss Lee! Now where are those network executives??!! xx

    • I am just shocked to have to tell you that the execs have not called me yet; but it’s still the weekend here, so I am just certain that my phone will ring bright and early Monday morning. 😉

  15. OhMelvin says:

    Brilliant!!! I feel like we should just name you the winner!

  16. 2browndawgs says:

    LOL very cute. Great idea for a show!

  17. Jessica says:

    What an awesome idea!! But who would be the one to get the not-so-awesome job of telling the losing human/dog team “You’re out”? (If I had the ability to mimic Heidi Klum’s accent through my keyboard, I would!) 😉

  18. Loving your work Miss HL!! We would definitely watch Doggy Style!!

  19. You never cease to amaze me MHL. 🙂

  20. What a great idea! Some dogs actually love to get dressed up 🙂


Leave a Reply

