The Shadows Say Fall, But . . .

Shadows thek9harperlee

Almost everything is telling me that it is fall (or, as my international friends call it, autumn). The shadows are getting longer and longer. The college football season started this past weekend. The children in my neighborhood began a new school year three weeks ago. Halloween costumes are already on display at my local PetSmart. And yesterday I celebrated Labor Day with my humans. Labor Day is kind of a big deal in the United States. There’s a whole lot of history behind it, but all you really need to know is that it’s observed on the first Monday in September and it symbolizes the end of summer.

Still Hot thek9harperlee

Well, I think someone forgot to tell Mother Nature that it is time for her to turn summer and its miserable heat and humidity off. Now, please, ma’am. We have had enough. I said enough! I know that I really shouldn’t complain. Until the last few weeks, we have had a relatively decent summer . . . for us, anyway . . . and we haven’t had a tropical storm yet this year (still keeping all twenty toes crossed on that one). But it is just too darn hot to do much of anything. So, Mother Nature, I am asking you just as nicely as I can (I would beg, but Mommy says I shouldn’t do that): Please, please, please check your calendar and look at the shadows. They will both tell you that fall is here, so it would be really, really, really nice if you could send us some weather to match. Thank you.

28 Comments on “The Shadows Say Fall, But . . .”

  1. Hoping your “hots” go away soon!! OMG I posted a photo that was sooooooooo similar about 5 months ago! 🙂

  2. 2browndawgs says:

    The days are getting shorter too. It was full dark at 8:30 last night. I love Fall, but I do not like the shorter days. Love your shadow picture.

  3. I’m done with all the HOT days and vacationing traffic at the beach. Come on Mother Nature. Let the cooling begin. Next time I on my walkies…. I’ll have to check out my shadow.
    Wags,
    Ranger (the shadow knows)

    • The Shadow knows when the cooler temps will come, but I guess he’s not telling. 😉 My humans used to live on Galveston Island, so they definitely identify with your desire to have the beach to yourself when the vacation traffic goes away.

  4. PigLove says:

    oh Miss Harper – even your shadow is gorgeous! Winks XOXO – Bacon

  5. Kuruk says:

    You look so pretty in your shadow Miss Lee! Wooooowooooo, Ku

  6. The shadow picture was really cool!! Miss Harper Lee is her ususal beautiful self!! 🙂

  7. OhMelvin says:

    I’m with you!!! Bring. On. Fall. Already!!!

    • I am pleased to report that Mommy has given me permission to beg for fall. If Mother Nature is anything like my daddy, we should have fall temps almost immediately; but if she’s like my mommy, all the begging in the world will have absolutely no effect. 😉

  8. Jan K says:

    I love the shadows photo! We are expecting fall weather here sometime this week here in New England. I hope it is imminent for you also, Miss Lee!

  9. Your shadow picture is awesome, Miss HL. Today, the ground was so hot, I could only take a 30 second street nap. I like it hot, but that was even too hot for me!! Yikes!

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    • I am simply appalled that Mother Nature is being so cruel to you too, Cupcake. She has some nerve making the 3rd of September so hot that you had to cut your street nap short. She really ought to be ashamed of herself, silly lady!

  10. Dina says:

    I hope Mother Nature hears out your pleas!

  11. Marcie says:

    The long shadows tell us that sweater weather is right around the corner here. That I don’t mind…it’s breaking out the winter coats that I dread. 🙂

  12. Awesome shadow picture. Enjoy your fall.

  13. Misaki says:

    I’m looking forward to the cooler weather too

  14. I so agree with you! I can’t wait til the heat is finally over!! Hugs, Francesca


Leave a Reply

