Mommy’s Golden Garden Helper

Garden Help 1 thek9harperlee

I spent most of yesterday morning helping my mommy in the garden. It’s been a long hot summer, but it looks as if Mommy has managed to pull the garden through, and soon–we hope–the cooler temperatures of fall will offer a welcome relief to people, plants, and pets. You may have noticed that there’s a lot of purple and gold happening in this bed (and I don’t just mean my leash and me). This past spring, Mommy planted yellow marigolds and blue salvia with fall football season and the LSU Tigers in mind. The big Mexican sage plants in the background are perennials in our climate and produce beautiful purple blossoms just in time for the start of each college football season. Geaux Tigers!

Garden Help 3 thek9harperlee

Most of our gardening work yesterday was concentrated in the back yard. Now I will be the first to admit that I am actually more of a Golden garden companion then a Golden garden helper. Mommy likes to have me with her in the garden because she thinks that I will alert her to the presence of any possible snakes. We’ll just let her think that. I like to spend my time in the comfort of whatever shade I can find. Mommy covers herself with sunscreen and wears a hat, so she is protected from the sun, but I don’t want to risk burning my pretty pinkish nose.

Garden Help 5 thek9harperlee

I hope you don’t think that I just sit there looking pretty. I do a little bit of work. Yesterday I searched for bugs and lizards under the elephant ear leaves.

Garden Help 4 thek9harperlee

I can’t begin to tell you how exhausting it is to keep Mommy company . . . I mean help Mommy in the garden. It wasn’t long before I started yawning, and I was so very relieved when Mommy finally put the gardening tools away and I got to go inside and take a very well-deserved and lengthy afternoon nap.

34 Comments on “Mommy’s Golden Garden Helper”

  1. It looks like you spent most of your time in the shade there 😛

  2. PigLove says:

    You’re a great companion to your mommy. And you know what. I don’t care if you were wearing a bag, you will always be gorgeous to this little piggy 🙂 XOXO – Bacon

  3. thinker1958 says:

    I think you helped a lot by not getting in the way, or digging in a place your mom just put in order. And keeping company to your mom in a hot day is more than humans will do 🙂

  4. You did a great job! Someone has to keep track of the garden. BOL

  5. Kuruk says:

    Purple and gold are my two favorite colors, and you Miss Lee are my favorite golden girl! Woooooowooooooooo!

  6. Oh Miss Harper Lee, you are Regal in your purple and gold today. And now you add another notch on your persona resume. You’re the Best!! Oh, and BTW, tell your mommy we are unable to keep Mexican sage alive on Worsham Street, but we are happy you have it in Loosey Anna. Have a great weekend!! 🙂

    • Our Mexican sage dies back every winter, but then it comes back in spring. Believe it or not, those big plants came from a six-pack three years ago, and I don’t mean the Coors Light kind. 😉

  7. You might need a dab of sunscreen on your gorgeous pinkish nose, Miss HL. Or maybe a hat…..

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  8. Miss Harper Lee, you are so multi-talented. A pretty poser, AND a lizard and bug chaser!

  9. Oh Miss Harper Lee, we ALL knows your Moms just couldn’t do anythings without your snoopervision!!! I mean, how else is she gonna know when it’s time to hang up the gardenin’ tools and head in for an afternoon cocktail??!
    I’m glads to see that you stayed in the shade…don’t want to burn that PAWFECT snooter of yours!!! ☺
    Kisses,
    Ruby ♥

    • Thank you, Ruby, for recognizing my importance in the whole gardening process. And, just between us, my Mommy has been known to pop the top on a beer or two *while* she’s doing to gardening. 😉

  10. Carol Bryant says:

    Great photos – oh so photogenic!

  11. Jan K says:

    What a good helper you are! Your Mom’s gardens are beautiful, and I’m sure she couldn’t do it without you. 🙂

  12. You are such a beautiful helper. Stay cool.

  13. Sage says:

    It looks like you found the best spot in the garden…cool and shady. Well, cool is a bit relative. 🙂

  14. Gizmo says:

    I like to help when Momz gathers up the big clumps of Spanish moss that fall…They’re a lot of fun to chase…but when she works in the beds I’m with you…a cool place in the shade is my choice too

  15. writetowag says:

    Yes, enjoy your Sunday naps!!!! Miss Harper Lee…You are such a beauty!!!! Thank you for always making me smile!!!!

  16. 2browndawgs says:

    You work way too hard Miss Harper Lee. 🙂

  17. dogdaz says:

    Helping is good. Napping even better – Sofie Bear of DogDaz


Leave a Reply

