Lagniappe

Lagniappe thek9harperlee

Lagniappe (pronounced lann-yapp) is a word that people in South Louisiana use to mean something extra. It’s like getting a really good ice cream sundae that already has chocolate and whipped cream and nuts and a cherry, and then someone adds sprinkles to the top. The sprinkles are lagniappe. Or here’s an example that all my canine friends will understand: It’s like when your human takes out a milk bone and you get all excited because you think nothing could possibly be any better than a milk bone, and then your human puts just a bit of peanut butter on that milk bone before handing it to you. The peanut butter is lagniappe. So now it is my pleasure to present to you a little lagniappe for you day. Enjoy!

And the winner is . . .

You may recall that last week I wrote about my sweet friend Ku and his new book, Kuruk: The Little Bear That Could. I said that I would have a drawing for a copy of Ku’s book from all the people (and animals) who commented on that post. Well I did. I had never actually done a drawing before, so I did a little Googling to find out how it’s done. I found a great blog post by i’m erika jurney + this is my blog that had all the answers I needed (leave it to a blogger to have all the answers!). So, on the first random drawing, the winner was Commenter Number 7–Ku. I figured he didn’t need to have a copy of his own book, so I tried again, and this time the winner was Commenter Number 11, Jan from Wag ‘n Woof Pets. I put a copy of the book in the mail yesterday  (well, technically my human mommy went to the post office because I am not allowed inside there), so Jan should have Ku’s book in time for some nice weekend reading. Congratulations on your lagniappe, Jan, and enjoy!

Miss Harper Lee’s Book Club

Sugars book thek9harperlee

Well, if Oprah Winfrey can do it, why can’t I? The next book that I would like to recommend to you and any young children in your life is Sugar the Golden Retriever’s Sugar’s Furry Friend, which is all about Sugar and her little backyard chipmunk friend. Sugar celebrated her 12th BarkDay last month. She had her own random drawing from everyone who joined in on her barkday blog hop, and I won her book! In addition to sending her book, Sugar sent  the sweetest note on her very own stationery (I’m still waiting for my mommy to get my stationery) and a See Beautiful dog tag. You can click here to read all about See Beautiful and to learn more about how to order Sugar’s book. Thanks for the lagniappe, Sugar!

Thank you, Paws It On

PawsItOn 2 thek9harperlee

I think my humans are starting to get a little jealous. My mailman Mr. Leroy brings the best packages for me, and they just keep getting bills. Sorry, humans. Last week I received some super yummy treats from my friends at Paws It On. Click here to visit the Paws It On blog, see more pictures of me enjoying my treats, and find out how you can nominate a special friend for a Paws It On treat. Thanks for the tasty lagniappe, Paws It On!

It’s Blogging Awards Time

Last month, I received the Bouquet of Three Award from my cute little piggy friend Bacon at Pig Love. Thank you, Bacon, for the beautiful award, which I presented to my friend Maryanne Mistretta on her birthday . . . a bouquet of birthday flowers in the form of an award.

And a big thank you to Peppino at Pippy Monster for the Super Sweet Blogging Award and the Versatile Blogger Award. I hope that you’ll click here to visit Pippy and that you’ll also visit my Super Sweet Blogging Award and Versatile Blogger Award nominees. Being rewarded for something that you love to do. Does anything say lagniappe more than that? I think not!

28 Comments on “Lagniappe”

  1. Golden LOVE that word, Lagniappe. We might be using it … Golden LOVE your 1st photo … you sure know how to express lagniappe. Just wondering, do chipmunks too. Happy Reading and enjoy your treats. Lots of Golden Woofs, Sugar

  2. Marcie says:

    You are very welcome! Glad that you enjoyed your treats! We love to ‘Paws It On’ for the unconditional love and companionship that pets provide, and you certainly provide that.

  3. Ogee says:

    I think you are the Lagniappe to my day, Miss Harper Lee!

  4. Well, Miss Harper Lee, how you DO get around!! When you look as regal as you do, no wonder the mailman has packages for just you!! Enjoy your goodies…:)

  5. Gizmo says:

    Love this post Miss HL cause lagniappe is one of my favorite words…I love the meaning behind it and even named a geocache “Lagniappe” cause it was just one extra for my friends…You have gotten some great gifts lately…I love it when the mail lady comes too

    • Lagniappe is a great word. Every day should have a little lagniappe, and how fun that you provided a Lagniappe geocache for your friends! I think I should get a blogging award for using the word lagniappe so much in a comment reply, don’t you? 🙂

  6. writetowag says:

    What a pawesome post and we LOVE
    that you have your own book club now!!!! Thank you teaching us something new and super super sweet today!!!! Love and hugs always dear friend!!!!

  7. Jan K says:

    Lagniappe indeed! (I love learning new words) Thank you so much, Miss Harper Lee, I am so looking forward to reading Ku’s book (I have to hurry up and finish the book I’m currently reading, so I’ll be ready!).
    You have lots of things going on, congrats on your awards and all the great packages you’ve been receiving!
    I got Sugar’s book for my grandson last Christmas, and it is so sweet and he loves it.

  8. Kuruk says:

    Miss Lee, so much lagniappe! Wooowooooo! And so funny I was picked for my own book. Mama’s favorite number is 7, so she says this is all a very auspicious sign for good things to come for my book. I hope Jan and her woofies like my book! You are the pawesomest golden girl Miss Lee! Woooooowooooooo, xx Ku

    • You just melt my heart when you call me the pawsomest golden girl, Ku! Mommy thought it was really funny when the first random number was seven and that was you, and then for the very next totally random number to be 11 (7-11) was really something. Definitely signs of good things for your wonderful book. 🙂

  9. Sage says:

    I always wondered what that meant and now I know! A little touch of your sweetness is lagniappe to me, Miss Harper Lee.

  10. Emmadog says:

    Thanks for the vocabulary lesson, never heard of that word before! Now, you best get yourself checked out for bookworms at the vet…lots of books at your place 🙂

  11. WOW-WEE!! Talk about a jam packed post AND we got to learn a new word!! LAGNIAPPE…we LIKE it!! Oh yes, it just rolls off the tongue…LAGNIAPPE!! BOL!

    Congrats to the Miss HL Book Club winner and congrats on your awards Miss HL!!

    You have yourself a grrreat day now
    Wally & Sammy

  12. 2browndawgs says:

    Congrats all around! Those treats are yummy or so the brown dawgs told me. 🙂

  13. Jan K says:

    Hi Miss Lee….I really enjoyed Ku’s book. I wrote about it on my blog today. I hope you don’t mind that I included a photo of you with Ku’s book, that was in your original post for the giveaway. Thanks again for the book!

    • I’m so happy that you enjoyed the book, and I do not mind at all that you used the picture. 🙂 I was out of town last week with my humans, so I am just catching up on blog stuff. Cannot wait to read your post!


Leave a Reply

