My Basket Runneth Over

Full basket thek9harperlee

I have a lot of toys.  Now you might think that’s because I’m spoiled, but really I am not spoiled. Well, maybe just a little bit. You might even think that I have too many toys, but I would argue that there really is no such thing as “too many” when it comes to toys. No, I have a lot of toys because I am very kind and gentle with my toys, so I have a four-plus-year collection. Unfortunately, as my toy collection has grown, the size of my toy basket has remained the same. My human mommy does her very best to keep all my toys piled into that tiny little basket . . .

Toys out thek9harperlee

 . . . but somehow all those toys end up scattered all over the floor. Honestly, I have absolutely no idea how that happens.

New Basket thek9harperlee

So earlier today, Mommy went to the store and bought a brand new toy basket for me. Isn’t it fabulous? It’s big enough to hold all my toys . . .

Dig thek9harperlee

. . . and I can dig my head way down into it . . .

069

. . . and I can pull out the exact toy I want. Oops, looks like Mommy’s going to have to put a few toys back into my new basket.

36 Comments on “My Basket Runneth Over”

  1. Emmadog says:

    That is a nice toy basket. I think the job of a Mom is to pick up the toys, so I wouldn’t worry about that.

  2. We used to have a big bone basket for our Berners – they would dig and dig and dig to find the perfect bone to gnaw on, scattering the bones all over the floor, so I understand the daily chore of picking up after our doggies!

  3. That new toy basket is a beauty, Miss HL. Mom decided to hide half my toys in the closet when my toybox got too full. Every now and then, she switches the toys and puts the other half in the closet.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  4. I think your mom is very thoughtful. Was about time. And you being so careful with your toys is so nice.

  5. Cool new toy basket! There is NO such thing as TOO many toys. Besides, my Mom sez’ that the more toys us pups have the less likely we are to chew on stuff that is not ours to chew on…like the couch, the window sill, the coffee table, etc. Unless of course you’re like my lil’ brother Butthead…he dumped out all the toys and shredded the toy basket!

  6. Kuruk says:

    Miss Lee, how wonderful! You deserve as many toys as you want! Wooooowoooooooo! xx, Ku

  7. Wow Miss Harper Lee – your new basket is Ab Fab – we are jealous!! Enjoy your toys – they don’t last long at our house…we eat them…
    BTW, the old woman Slow jumped up at the crack of dawn and drove over to south louisiana (jennings near lafayette) to take a lab rescue to the NOLA courier and drove for 9 hours…just got back to Worsham a few minutes ago…dragging…:)

  8. Jan K says:

    That is an awesome basket, Miss Lee, and awesome toys! Our dogs do not have that many, but that’s only because a certain golden retriever named Sheba destroys them all the time! You are such a good girl not to do that. You are not spoiled, you are just very loved! 🙂

  9. Well Miss Lee…. your toys all look brandy New. Mine are all dirty and messy but I still love dem. You are sooooooo lucky to have soooooooo many pretty toys in your new basket.
    WAgs,
    Ranger

    • Last weekend my mommy put all my toys in the washing machine because she said they were “crusty,” whatever that means, especially my Alli Gator toy that you sent to me. I am obsessed with Alli Gator and those magic eggs!

  10. 2browndawgs says:

    Good for you Miss Harper Lee. 🙂

    Our Golden never chewed up his toys. On the day he passed at 13 years old, he had the very first toy we ever got him when he came live with us at 14 months old. He had all the other toys we got him over the years. Of course Thunder came along and chewed up his collection pretty quick. lol

    • My mommy’s first dog she had as an adult was named Sheffield. Sheffield was very good to his toys. And then along came Talbot, the Golden Retriever who preceded me, and all of Sheffield’s toys were history!

  11. Marcie says:

    Love the new basket! It looks like a much more appropriate size for all those toys. Although, if it were just a little bigger, maybe you could have convinced them that it needed more toys! 🙂

    • You would be very proud of my mommy on that basket purchase–50% off at Hobby Lobby. 😉 It seemed really big when she looked at it in the store, but now that all my toys are piled into it she’s thinking a bigger basket might have been a good idea.

  12. dogdaz says:

    Lovely basket but it needs to be 5x larger. BOL

  13. Dina says:

    I have my own basket too! I’ve gotten through quite a few in my short life though as I did like to have a little nibble on them when I was a youngster.

  14. Dogs N Pawz says:

    That is an awesome basket and you are so lucky to have so many toys! We aren’t as nice to our toys as you are:( We kind of like to chew our toys to pieces so we don’t have a whole lot of toys to play with 😦

  15. Rebekah says:

    There is no such thing as too many toys!

  16. Your toy box is a lot cleaner than the Sundogs! Lucky girl:)

  17. evi says:

    oh you do have a great human mommy, that is a nice new basket, your toys must be very happy with their new home 🙂

  18. My dogs should take lessons from you. Their toys are all in a ragged smamble.


Leave a Reply

