Checking My IQ (and I Don’t Mean Interesting Qualities)

IQ 1 thek9harperlee

Last month, my blogging friend at Human Rescues Dog  wrote a post titled “The Dog IQ Test: Is Your Dog a Genius?” Well, I watched as my human mommy read that post, and I thought to myself, “Uh oh. I see an IQ test in my future.” And sure enough, she and my human daddy hit me with it a few days ago. It’s a simple test developed by Dr. Stanley Coren, a professor of psychology and prize-winning dog trainer who is an authority on dog intelligence. You can click here to read all about the test, how to conduct each challenge, and how to score the results. So, are you ready to find out how I did? Here goes.

But first a little disclaimer about the quality of these photos. It appears as if my mommy lacks the intelligence to administer a dog IQ test and take quality photos all at the same time, so I apologize for these less-than-stellar pictures. Hmmm . . . kind of makes you wonder which one of us should have been taking the test, doesn’t it?

Now, here goes.

IQ 2 thek9harperlee

TEST 1: Food Under Can–Take a bit of food or a small treat, place it under an inverted can, and see how long it takes your dog to get the food. I took 14 seconds to complete this one, barely qualifying me for 4 out of 5 points.

IQ 3 thek9harperlee

TEST 2: Dog Under Towel–Throw a large bath towel over your dog’s head and shoulders and see how long it take your dog to free itself. I completed this one in 13 seconds, again barely capturing another 4 out of 5 points.

TEST 3: Can Your Dog Recognize a Smile?–While your dog is sitting still, stare intently into your dog’s face, count to three, and then smile big and watch what happens. On this one, I almost immediately walked toward my mommy with my tail wagging, so I received 5 out of 5 possible points. My mommy gets a significantly lower score on this one because she could not manage to conduct the test and take a photo all at the same time.

IQ 4 thek9harperlee

TEST 4: Food Under Towel–Cover a morsel of food or a treat with a small towel and see how long it takes your dog to get to the food. By this time, I was starting to catch on to this whole IQ testing thing, and I was ready for it to end, so I really applied myself on this one and got to the food in 10 seconds to earn 5 out of 5 points. Yes!

IQ 5 thek9harperlee

TEST 5: Retrieving from Under a Barrier–Find or make a table low enough to prevent your dog from putting his or her head under it but high enough for the dog to get his or her paw under it. Place a treat or morsel of food centered under the barrier and see what your dog does. So I have to tell you that it was quite humorous watching my humans try to build the “table” for this one. When they finally succeeded, I first tried to get the treat with my muzzle, then I tried to retrieve it with my paw, and then I eventually gave up and received just 3 out of 5 points. Is it possible that I was just trying not to look too smart because my humans had looked so inept trying to set up this test? I’ll never tell.

TEST 6: Does Your Dog Know Its Name–While your dog is seated, call “refrigerator” in the tone you’d normally use to call your dog, then call “movie,” then call your dog’s name and see wht happens. I was finished with this whole silly IQ testing thing at this point so I just didn’t do anything . . . which puts me about on the level with my mommy, who once again could not get it together enough to conduct the test and take a picture. 1 out of 5 points for me . . . and ZERO points for Mommy.

IQ 7 the k9harperlee

I really don’t quite know how to tell you how happy I was when this little IQ test experiment was over. I think my humans were a little relieved too. The three of us were equally exhausted, but the humans still needed to tally my scores. Are you ready for the results? I received a total of 22 points. Had I actually applied myself and scored more than 25 points, you would now have to call me a genius. Alas, I am not a genius dog. According to Dr. Coren, I will not be attending Harvard, but the good Dr. Coren does say that I am smart . . . smart enough for a state school, which is just fine with me!

44 Comments on “Checking My IQ (and I Don’t Mean Interesting Qualities)”

  1. cornishtim says:

    Oh NO! Iv’e just seen my human, TIM reading this and he has just gone off looking for treats, towels and tin cans. I feel some treats coming on! Will play dumb so I get to do it all over again. ps Just had a haircut yesterday and I still smell like a French bordello ( whatever that is! )…….Elsiethecockapoo xx

  2. Mom says the fact that I (Wally) have finally stopped pee-ing in the bed is proof enough to her that I am of average enough intellect BOL!! When I asked her about Sammy…she changed the subject!
    Wally & Sammy

    • I think that “average enough” is a perfect level of intelligence, Wally. And as for Sammy . . . my humans say that Talbot, the Golden Retriever who preceded me, was smart enough to convince them that she wasn’t smart. That way, not one really expected much out of her. I’d say that’s pretty brilliant. 😉

  3. Mom already knows that I AM “Mensa Material” BOL! Barks and licks and love Dakota

  4. Emmadog says:

    Will your blog be changing its name to Smarty Pants??? 🙂 Nice work.

  5. PigLove says:

    Oh beautiful darling. I already knew you were a genius. XOXO – Bacon

  6. Dr. Coren didn’t recommend a specific state school like…hmmm….for example LSU, did he? 🙂
    I loved the IQ test and admire your humans for their bravery in administering it to you, and I thought the pictures were perfect. We thought of our own Pack and figured Chelsea might be a good candidate for this, and a tennis ball could be substituted sporadically with the treats for variety. Miss Harper Lee, you have brains to go along with your beautfy…we are not surprised.

    • I could see the trepidation as my humans started the test. Their faces clearly said, “What if she turns out to be a big dummy?” As if! And I have to say that LSU is my first choice, but if that doesn’t work out, I would gladly be a South Carolina Gamecock. 🙂

  7. this score 22 is your humans fault. They are always doing everything for you. They taught you that they will solve your problems all the time. I will like to see them doing one of the tests each day and do the whole thing again in a month. I’m sure your score will be more than 25.
    In any case, you are gorgeous. And smart for choosing these humans (I know… they think they choose you).

    • I think your analysis is perfectly on the money, Mr. Fernando. Why in the world should I worry myself about the silly little tasks when my humans happily attend to my every little need? If you ask me, that alone shows my incredible intelligence, or perhaps my amazing ability to manipulate my humans totally. 🙂

  8. thatjenk says:

    Haha – I’ve always wondered about this test. I don’t actually think Moses would do particularly well, but not necessarily out of stupidity – more out of laziness or ambivalence. Maybe I should give it a shot and see how Moses and Alma stack up.

    • Please let Moses and Alma know how totally sorry I am that my mommy planted the IQ test seed in their human’s mind. 🙂 Trust me, I became lazier and lazier and more and more ambivalent with each silly little test challenge!

  9. Marcie says:

    Oh, that is just too funny! I love seeing all the pictures associated with the different tasks. I bet you were wondering what was going on after all the tests.

  10. Cool test. The treat under the table would not work for my small self though. BOL I see mom trying these on Torrey though.

  11. Kuruk says:

    Miss Lee, you are plenty smart to me! Wooooowoooooooo!

  12. Dina says:

    You’ll always be a genius to me!

  13. 2browndawgs says:

    We always knew you were a smart doggie! I am not sure any test was needed to confirm this! 🙂

  14. Good job, Miss HL. Smart is good. Genius is overrated. If I could only think of a way to keep Mom from administering this test on me, then I’D be a genius! Crap. I got nuthin’….

    Love and licks and maybe I can hide,
    Cupcake

    • Look at the bright side of the test, Cupcake: lots of extra treats. And here’s a little secret: Start out by taking a really long time to complete each task. That way your mom will keep doing the challenges in hopes of upping your scores. More treats. 🙂

  15. Misaki says:

    Mummy now wants to try this on me…oh dear could be bad!

  16. Well shoot gurl! I could have told you you were a smarty pants!!! And, I didn’t need not stinkin’ test!! I remembers Ma did this to me once, I don’t remember what I scored, butts I was just lovin’ gettin’ all those free treaties!!! BOL I thinks I’ll have Ma do it again…I’ve been feelin’ a bit hungry lately….
    Now I thinks your Moms pics are pretty good considering….you should see Ma try to walk and chew gum at the same time….HILLarious!!
    Kisses,
    Ruby ♥

    • I think just the fact that you’ve figured out that the IQ test is actually a free-treat event proves that you’re a genius, Ruby, but go ahead a mess up a few times . . . you’ll get even more treats that way. 😉

  17. writetowag says:

    Very cool!!!! You are lovely as always Miss Harper Lee!!!! Missed seeing your face, trying to catch back up!!!! Have a great day my friend!!!!

  18. Brains AND beauty! You’re the complete package Miss Harper Lee! I’m afraid to try this with Rita… (Why should she reach under something to fetch what she wants when she knows I’ll do it for her??) 🙂

  19. Well done Harper…wish I didn’t see my momz reading YOUR article…now I think she’s going to make ME do it!

  20. Sounds like a fun test! You did great! I’m going to try this on Tucker.

  21. Wow that was a lot
    of work. Being a Golden explains the ease with the smile test. I wonder if they have a test like this for Horses?

  22. So Rita has trained you as well as I have trained my humans, huh? Good work, Rita!


Leave a Reply

