Four Days, Four Walks, Four Parks

Goodwood park thek9harperlee

On Monday morning, we were finally greeted by the most glorious fall weather: cool temperatures, low humidity, and crystal clear blue skies. The weather humans promised four days of this heaven, so my human mommy and I decided to celebrate each day with a different walk in a different park. We started  the week off by staying close to home and visiting BREC Goodwood Park, which is my neighborhood park. It’s a relatively short walk from my house (in fact, the walking path that goes in front of my house leads directly to the park), but lately it’s just been too hot to visit. Not Monday morning.

Goodwood park tree thek9harperlee

As we walked through the park, we noticed our first honest to goodness fall tree. I have to admit that from a distance we thought that our grueling summer heat had killed the poor little tree and that it was covered with dead leaves; but when we got closer we realized that we were actually seeing beautiful fall foliage. Magical.

Goodwood park playground thek9harperlee

And, because no trip to the neighborhood park is complete without a little fun time on the playground equipment, I took a moment to climb up and down the steps (carefully staying far away from the slide because I am not a fan of slides) before heading home.

Park garden 2 thek9harperlee

The next morning, Mommy had to do some silly human things, so Tuesday’s park walk was delayed until the afternoon. This time we got into my chariot and headed to BREC Independence Community Park, which is just a few miles from my house.

Cone flower thek9harperlee

The centerpiece of this park is the Botanic Garden. I have to tell you that I think Mommy might have spent more time sniffing than I did.

Park garden 3 thek9harperlee

It was a little warm by the afternoon, so we cut our walk short . . .

Playground thek9harperlee

. . . but only after I spent a little time climbing on the playground equipment.

City park fountain thek9harperlee

On Wednesday morning, we ventured a little farther to BREC City-Brooks Community Park. We spent some time walking around the park’s central facilities–including an art gallery, tennis center, and labyrinth–before heading out on the walking path that surrounds the golf course.

City park ducks thek9harperlee

Along the way, we spotted these ducks who were enjoying the shade of a big Cyprus tree. After our walk, we watched some ladies playing tennis (Why don’t they catch the tennis balls in their mouths and run around like I do? Silly humans!), and then we headed home for nap time.

Dog park sign thek9harperlee

Leave it to Mommy to save the best for last: the BREC Burbank Soccer Complex . . . AND DOG PARK! Thursday morning greeted us with dense fog, but a little fog wasn’t going to stop us because the temperatures were still cool . . . AND WE WERE GOING TO THE DOG PARK! This was my first visit to a dog park, and Mommy and I were pretty excited. Can you tell? We met so many nice dogs and so many nice people (of course the people were nice; they were dog people). The picture above was taken as we left the dog park. Do I look like I had a good time? I did!

Dog park water 1 thek9harperlee

Please pardon the butt shot, but I just had to show you my first water experience. I know, I know. I’m a four-and-a-half-year-old Golden Retriever and I had never ever been in water. Pitiful. I was a little hesitant at first, but Bo showed me the ropes . . .

Dog park water 2 thek9harperlee

. . . and just like that I became a water dog. Once I got the hang of it, it was hard to keep me out of the little pond.

Dog park path thek9harperlee

We ended our dog park visit with perimeter walk in hopes that I would dry off a bit, but I just decided to play chase with the other dogs and roll around in sand.

Post park bath thek9harperlee

That’s why I leave you with this picture of me in all my post-dog-park-bath glory. I hope you’ve had at least half the week I had, and that a wonderful weekend awaits you.

49 Comments on “Four Days, Four Walks, Four Parks”

  1. What a fun post! Those water pictures are my favorite, Miss HL. I am SEVEN and I’ve never been in water! I’ve looked a few times, but it’s too much like a bath for me, so I steer clear. You are very brave on the playground equipment, too!

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    • Thank you so much! Unfortunately summer is returning this coming week–highs in the upper 80s–so I’ll just have to hold on to my fond memories of our four days of fall for a while. 🙂

  2. Oh, Miss Harper Lee – what glorious photos you’ve shown us today – we loved ALL of them. The flower photo was almost our favorite until we saw you in the water at the DOG PARK!!! OMG, please do not tell us this was truly your first water experience??? If so, shame on your mommy and daddy because you are a RETRIEVER…hello, hello, hello…all we can say is ‘Bout Time! 🙂 Enjoy your weekend, too…

  3. goldenwoofs says:

    WOWie! What a Golden week you had. Lots of Golden FUN FUN FUN! Love that playground and dog park. My mom agree with that flower that your mom took, its Beautiful. Have a PAWsome Friday and weekend. Lots of Golden Woofs, Sugar

    • Thank you, Sugar! The weather humans say that summer is returning this week (uugghh), but then the following week we should have cools temps again, so I’m hoping for a trip back to the dog park . . . and back into the water!

  4. PigLove says:

    Oh beautiful – there are some wonderful lovely shots of you. I’m glad you liked the water. I loved seeing you play in it! XOXO – Bacon

  5. thatjenk says:

    Looks like fun! And like a super nice dog park – always nice to have a water feature.

  6. I’m so proud of you Miss Harper Lee! Swimming really? You looked like a natural at it. Oh….you looked good on the purple play equipment too. Go LSU

    • Isn’t it so funny that even the playground equipment in Baton Rouge is purple? The humans here are more than a little LSU obsessed! I LOVED the water. I didn’t actually swim (it’s pretty shallow, so my feet touched be bottom), but I’m one step closer to a big swim. 🙂

  7. How fun!! Going to the park everyday must have been awesome.

  8. Wow, she did save the best for last. Can’t believe you had never been to a dog park or swimming! I bet you will want to go back there all the time now! Great photos too! Have a beautiful day!

  9. Kuruk says:

    You’ve been a very busy girl Miss Lee! And you look especially lovely in the purple playground! Woooooowooooooo, xx Ku

    • I knew you’d like that purple playground equipment! I had such a great week. I have to admit that I was a little shy at the dog park when we initially got there, but then I thought of your dog park pictures and how brave you are and I got right in there and played with everyone. 🙂

  10. Miss Harper Lee, you look beautiful in all your pictures. Is nice to see you having fun. I hope your mom brings you to the Dog Park again. I’ve seen other Retrievers have tons of fun at the beach. Your ‘people’ love the water.

  11. Ogee says:

    Uh oh…the start of something big!! Now every puddle is going to be an opportunity for scuba! 🙂 What fun.

  12. Jan K says:

    Miss Lee, I am so happy you finally got some beautiful fall weather down there! And you and Mom certainly made the most of it. I loved all the photos….and how exciting you had your first water experience! I bet you are totally hooked now. 🙂

    • It’s a good thing that I made the most of that beautiful weather, because it’s gone now. Boo hoo! We’re going to have to endure yucky heat and humidity this week, but then we should cool off again the next week . . . and I just know I’ll be back at the dog park and in the water!

  13. cafall says:

    It sounds like you had an awesome time!

    Monty and Harlow

  14. What a bunch of fun filled beautiful days. Love all the photos. Have a great weekend.

  15. Its sad I work at BREC but never visit the parks to enjoy there beauty. You should go out to Greenwood Park. It’s really nice out there. May I share your story with our Communications Department?

    • I had no idea that you work at BREC. My humans and I are so thankful for our BREC parks and all the great programs they offer. My humans have been to Greenwood Park as part of the kayaking class, and they really, really loved it! I would love for you to share this post with the communications department, and I hope that you will let everyone at BREC know how much we appreciate them. 🙂

      • I work in the Finance Department as a Capital Asset Clerk. I handle all the issues with our cell phones and Reconciliation of several bank statements. Thank you for allowing me to share this with our Communications Department. I will be lookking forward to your future postings.

  16. OMD! Your are one lucky Gurl Miss Harper Lee!!! FABulous days you had!!! I am all kinds of jealous! They don’t let doggies in our parks here, so it’s just no funs!!!! Butts Ma takes me anyhu and we walk around the outside!
    Nows, that looks like we’re gonna have to call you Ester Williams! BOL (I don’t knows who that is, butts Ma says she was a famous swim chick back in the olden days!)
    Anyhu, nice water form!! Now, I thinks it’s time to dry off and have some margaritas!!!! BOL
    Kisses,
    Ruby ♥

  17. OMD!! How pawsome is the dog park!!! And you got to swim…dog-oh-dog, what an exciting week for you, no wonder you were excited to tell us all about it!!
    Wally & Sammy

  18. evi says:

    oh your first water experience, how exciting!! this dog park seems to be pferfect 🙂 i especially enjoyed the lovely flower picture you posted!

  19. Rebekah says:

    Looks like fun, and such great pictures! I particularly love the last wet doggy pic!

  20. GizmoGeodog says:

    What a fabulous week you’ve had Miss HL! We haven’t had any cool days yet, but the early mornings have been a little cooler (finally!) and the humidity is down so Momz and I have been taking longer walks…I can’t wait till we have our first cool day!

    • Sad to say that summer returned this past Friday (boo) and it will probably stay with us through this week. Hopefully very soon we’ll both have cool mornings, days, and evenings so we can spend more time in the great outdoors. 🙂

  21. Kroten says:

    First of all…great pics!! Both you and the view.
    Reading the words give great impression how much fun you had. Good for you 🙂

  22. Marcie says:

    You’ve been waiting for a day like that! Glad you got out and enjoyed it. So fun that you got to get out in the water and try it out. Golden Retrievers and water just seem to go together. 🙂 Great pictures!

  23. 2browndawgs says:

    Oh what fun. All the parks look like fun. We have a hard time picking between the one with the ducks and the one with the water!

    the brown dawgs

    • Maybe we should all look for a park with water and ducks. Now that would truly be special. My humans and I went back to the dog park yesterday, and they have drained the little doggy pool for the winter. 😦 Silly park humans. Don’t they know that bird dogs go into the water in winter to retrieve ducks? We can handle a little chilly water. Oh well, I’ll be the first one in line when they put the water back in this spring. 🙂


Leave a Reply

