My Friend Penny the Pony

Penny 4 thek9harperlee

I’m one lucky dog because I have a pony friend! Her name is Penny, and she lives right here in my neighborhood. Can you believe that? I met Penny about a year ago when I was out for a walk with my human daddy. She was out for a walk with her humans, and my daddy spotted her in the distance. At first he thought she was a giant dog, but then he realized that she most definitely was not a dog.  I will admit to you that I was slightly very intimidated by freaked out by Penny the first time I met her. I had no idea what to think, so I spent most of our visit hiding behind my daddy. When we got home, Daddy said, “Harper Lee, go tell Mommy what you saw on your walk!” For the longest time, my human mommy thought Daddy and I had both imagined Penny, and then one day she met Penny’s human mom who confirmed that yes indeed, Penny does exist, and she lives right around the corner from me. See Mommy!

Penny 1 thek9harperlee

The next time I met Penny, she was right in my very own front yard, and I was a little more relaxed, but still somewhat in awe. Penny lives with two human girls, nine and 15 years old, a beautiful rescue coon hound who is about a year old, and a human mom and human dad. On this particular day, she was being walked by her two girls. Can you just imagine how popular those girls are at school? I mean, they have a pony! Penny’s family got her when she was about a year old, and on Christmas Day they’ll celebrate her third birthday. Her humans say that she weighs about 100 pounds. (Just between us, I don’t think Penny’s been on a scale lately, but you never question a female’s weight!) She eats horse feed and also enjoys bananas, carrots, grass, animal crackers, and ginger snaps. Her favorite treats are apples. This past spring, Penny had quite a delightful time grazing on the clover during her neighborhood walks. I honestly think she could have hired out in some yards.

Penny 5 thek9harperlee

Penny doesn’t really do any tricks (that’s ok, Penny; I don’t do tricks either), but she does come when called. Her nicknames are Pen, Pennage, and Crazy. She gets baths about once a week (oh, Penny; I hope my mommy doesn’t get any ideas) and then immediately rolls in the dirt. Does that sound familiar, doggy friends? The last time my humans and I saw Penny on a walk, she smelled so good and she was super soft. I think Penny’s beauty routine is working for her.

Penny 2 thek9harperlee

Believe it or not, Penny is allowed to go in the house, but apparently she can be a bit of a bull in a china shop . . . or a miniature horse in a house, as the case may be. She likes to put her front feet on the furniture. That must be some super sturdy furniture! When she’s outside in her back yard, Penny has a stall with a fan. The fan keeps her cool in the summer and also helps to keep the mosquitos off of her. Penny and her dog, whose name if Rachel, like to play. Rachel likes to nip at Penny, and Penny likes to nip right back. They also like to talk to each other, Rachel with her coon dog howl and Penny just whinnying away. I’ll bet those two have some pretty interesting conversations. So now you know my miniature pony friend Penny, and I’ll bet you agree that I am one lucky dog to have a pony friend!

58 Comments on “My Friend Penny the Pony”

  1. Stop, STOP, STOP!!! Miss Harper Lee, what are you thinking????? You are as bad as the old woman Slow is about a H-O-R-S-E!!! Let me remind you that we are DOGS and we have to guard against intimacy with HORSES…we bark unceasingly at them…we don’t nuzzle them. Oh, for goodness’ sake, what next, Miss Harper Lee?? COWS????

    P.S. Slow says Penny is one pretty pony…:)

    • Shhhh . . . Red Man . . . I have to let you in on my little plan. I’m trying to convince Penny that she’s actually a dog. Just wait until she sits up and begs. Her humans will be shocked. 🙂

  2. you are both sooo adorable together! How lucky you are to have a pony in your neighborhoo! Penny is just so beautiful and you are too!

  3. cafall says:

    Awwww, Penny is a sweetheart.

    Monty and Harlow

  4. How cute. Penney is a great looking horse. We should be friends with everyone, no matter what kind of creature they are.

  5. Ogee says:

    It looks like you loaned her your tail for her mane! What a fun neighbor to have.

  6. MH Hatcher says:

    Harper Lee, what fun to have a Penny as a neighbor and friend! Girl, you are so lucky! Please tell mommy to post a picture of you and Penny on instagram!
    Love,
    MH Hatcher (Jefferson’s Mom)

  7. Let’s see some horsing around photos 😉

  8. Fernando1958 says:

    Harper Lee, I think your story is fantastic. Penny is beautiful (so are you). I’m going to save a couple of your pictures for my PC background picture.
    You two look like very good friends.

  9. Kuruk says:

    Oh Miss Lee!!!!! You live near a pony!!!!! Me and Nalle saw some ponies recently at the SPCA pawty, but your’s is much prettier! Wooooooowoooooooo!
    p.s. but not as beauwooowoootiful as my MIss Harper Lee!

  10. Miss Lee your friend Penny is such a pretty Minature horse! You both look so adorable!

  11. O…M…D!!!! Penny is PAWSOME!!!!!! I (Wally) am fascinated by horses / ponies…I would give anything to meet Penny *PAW WAVE*.

    Miss HL you lead such a pawsome life with such pawsome furends!

    Wally & Sammy

    • Penny is super pawesome. You would absolutely love her, Wally. She is so cute when she trots, and one time Mommy got to feed her some carrots, and she has the softest snout. Tell your humans that they need to get a pony for you and Sammy. Just tell them Harper Lee said so. 😉

  12. Miss Harper Lee, if you were in kindergarten, you’d be the open-pawed, diplomatic peacemaker of the school. Penny is a lovely new friend!

  13. Wow, what a cool friend!

  14. You are super lucky to have a pony friend, Miss HL. I am not surprised she smells good. Her beauty rountine is intense. Penny is a bath-maniac!

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  15. FireBonnet says:

    Mom says ponies and horses have the most wonderful soft snorts and snuffles. I can’t imagine they are better than mine, but I’ll reserve judgement until I meet one. ~Cooper from 2catsandacattledog
    ps… are you sure you didn’t feel like herding her?

  16. GizmoGeodog says:

    Aw I love this Harper Lee…You and Penny look so sweet together…Momz dog Bruno was the same size as a miniature horse and she once took him to a farm where they were bred…He got to run with the herd and made a special friend there…

  17. Did I detect a little fear in you Harper Lee? That is Ok. Those miniature horses and ponies can be quite a handful sometimes. Don’t let their size fool you. You are right to stay on guard around her. She is pretty cute though. I bet she would love to chase you around in her yard or any yard for that matter.

  18. Terry Cramer says:

    Hi Miss Harper Lee. This is Matilda’s sister, Livvie. You’re lucky to be able to be near a little horsey! I thought Matilda was a horse when I first met her! We love your mom’s pictures of you,

    Barks and yips
    ,
    Livvie from MatildasJourney.com

    • Hi Livvie. I know you miss Matilda terribly, but I hope that you are doing at least ok. I can certainly see how you might have thought Matilda was a horse, but she was truly a gentle giant, just like Penny.

  19. 2browndawgs says:

    Penny is super cute!

  20. dailyspro says:

    What a fantastic new friend you have Ms. Harper Lee!! After dogs (of course), they are my favorite animal! Penny is also the name of one of my fur-neices, so obviously I’m biased 😉

  21. Marcie says:

    Oh my goodness! That sure is a rarity to have a pet horse in the suburban (I’m assuming) neighborhood! Must be a fun friend to have! 🙂

  22. You are so lucky and she is very pretty

  23. OhMelvin says:

    “I don’t think Penny’s been on a scale lately…”, i snorted! Too funny but also way cool to have such a unique neighbor!

  24. writetowag says:

    Oh my paws…A.DOR.A.BLE beyond words!!!! I love this!!!!

  25. HOLY PONY TURDS!!! You have a PONY??! WOWSA! I asked and asked Ma for a pony and she always says NO! Well, she’s gonna have to give in NOW!! All I have to say is ‘Miss Harper Lee has a PONY!’ What? SHE doesn’t have one? Oooooh, the NEIGHBORS have a pony…..shoot. Nevermind.
    Anyhu, I thinks your Pal is just FABulous Miss Harper Lee!! And, no, I thinks they need a new scale…100lbs? Pffffft! I wants HER scale! BOL
    Kisses,
    Ruby ♥

  26. Sage says:

    I do have to say, that’s one cool furiend, MHL. I think I could even get to like a horse like Penny. After all, she’s not much bigger than some of my dogster furiends–even the Great Dane I ran with today. And maybe you can learn some tricks together–how much fun would that be?

  27. dogtailsblog says:

    Nice to meet you 🙂
    It’s not everyday you see a pony taking a walk like that. We see lots of horses around here, but they’re working, pulling carts, so they can’t stop to say hello!

  28. Jan K says:

    That is sure a different and interesting neighbor to have, Miss Harper Lee! I can’t imagine having a horse in my house….miniature or not, but each to his own, right? 🙂

  29. tylersat99 says:

    Wow a pony! We have never seen a pony they aren’t allowed near us. She looks very pretty, but since we both weigh over 100 lbs. she may not be a lot bigger than Mica. Mom loved horses and ponies and use to ride horses not miniature ponies we she was young 🙂


Leave a Reply

