I Was Tricked, Again

Trick 1 thek9harperlee

Yesterday was Halloween, the day that dogs everywhere dread more than any other day of the year. It’s bad enough that we have to endure October walks through neighborhoods booby trapped with spooky decorations.Β Then, as soon as the sun sets on Halloween day, that doorbell starts ringing. And every time the door opens, there’s a pack of tiny ghosts and goblins yelling something that I still can’t quite understand. But wait; it gets worse. Humans insist on making Halloween an even more scary experience for dogs all around the world: They simply cannot allow us to get through the day without putting us into some sort of humiliating costume, and then they have to take pictures of our extreme humiliation. That’s why I was more than a little surprised when I woke up yesterday and my human mommy pulled out my Halloween bandana for our morning walk. Not bad, I thought to myself. My Halloween bandana is classy and understated. If this is all I have to do this year, I think I can handle Halloween. What a treat!

Trick 2 thek9harperlee

As it turns out, I was tricked . . . again. When we got home from our morning walk, Mommy started pulling out the costumes. At first she thought I should be a cowgirl. Thanks to a very creative friend from Texas, I now have a lovely pink Stetson. I must say that I think I look pretty good in it. The only problem is that Mommy has yet to find four pink cowgirl boots in my size, so that costume may have to wait for next year. Suddenly I started having flashbacks to last Halloween, when my treat of a day turned into something super tricky and I was transformed into a jack-o-lantern. What in the world did Mommy have in mind for me this year? Would it be as bad as last year?

Trick 3 thek9harperlee

I’m at a loss for words. Last night, I got to be a Halloween hula girl. I cannot begin to tell you how difficult it was to attempt to strike a dignified pose while sporting this little number. Where do I start? Let’s begin with the fit. I could have used some alterations. My large costume was a little short on me last year, so this year’s costume was an extra large. Let’s just say I don’t have what it takes to fill out that top. I mean, really, do I look like a Great Dane, or a St. Bernard, or a Bull Mastiff? What in the world was Mommy thinking when she bought this thing in an extra large? A wardrobe malfunction was all but a certainty. I may or may not have ended the evening topless. I’ll just leave you to your imagination on that.

Trick 4 thek9harperlee

So there you have it. Another humiliating Halloween has come and gone, and once again I was tricked. I just want my humans to know that all will be forgiven if this giant bucket can be my new dinner bowl, at least for one night!

44 Comments on “I Was Tricked, Again”

  1. We got lucky this year and did not have to don the costumes! That ringing doorbell sure does get on a dog’s nerves after a while, though! Hope you at least got some treats!

    • No costumes? You lucky dogs! My humans and I usually sit on the front porch. It takes all the fun out of things for the little trick or treaters, but it makes our lives much more pleasant. And yes, I did get a few extra treats. πŸ™‚

  2. I must tell you though, you DO look incredibly lovely in that Stetson!!!!!! You rocked the Hula girl look too! I’d say you came through pretty unscathed! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

    • I must say that the hula girl look was way better than last year’s horrid jack-o-lantern. Hopefully Mommy can pull something together with the Stetson for next year, because I think I’d make a really good cowgirl. Yee-ha!

  3. Agree that the Stetson is a good look… keeps the sun out of your eyes too ^ ^

  4. PigLove says:

    You looked simply beautiful my dear! XOXO – Bacon

  5. Love the pink hat!! We are lucky, no costumes or trick or treaters.

  6. thatjenk says:

    Well you sure are sporting that costume with as much dignity as it’ll allow! I hope they made it worth your while in the treat department!

  7. Dear Harper Lee, what your mother was thinking when she bought that custom is: “I have to take a lot of pictures of Harper Lee”.
    But don’t feel bad. You managed to look beautiful in every single picture.

  8. Oh Miss Harper Lee we feel your pain all the way over here in South Carolina! Your mommy is a creative disaster waiting to happen for you…the pink Stetson, btw, was our favorite…I mean, if you have to dress up, why not go Cowgirl??? You poor thing…obviously you are a much better sport than we are at Casa de Canterbury! πŸ™‚

    • Sometimes Mommy’s warped inner Martha Stewart rears its ugly head, and that’s when hula disasters happen. Actually, though, we can blame the whole hula debacle on my daddy. Mommy gave daddy the deciding vote between hula girl and skunk, and he went for the hula girl. Men!

  9. Kuruk says:

    Oh Miss Lee, you look so cute in your hula outfit! Woooooowooooooo, xx Ku

  10. Aloha, Miss HL. That costume is very cute on you. And I LOVE your morning walk scarf. Halloween was fun, but Mom is hung over from 3 Musketeers.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  11. Gizmo says:

    Oh gosh Harper Lee you got played good…Forgive me but momz is insisting on sending this link: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Infant-Toddler-Girls-Tender-Toes-Pink-Faux-Suede-Cowboy-Crib-Boots-Size-4-/131031285442 Just know it wasn’t my idea

    • Tell your momz thanks a lot. My mommy headed straight to that link, saw that there are no bids so far, and now thinks her chances of picking those horrid things up is a real possibility. Yee ha! πŸ˜‰

  12. Jan K says:

    For what it’s worth, I love your costumes! It looks like you did pretty well at humoring your Mom, Miss Lee. I don’t want to make you feel bad, but my crew doesn’t have to wear costumes, and we don’t even have trick or treaters. It was pretty peaceful here. πŸ™‚

  13. lynn says:

    You are beautiful in both the hat and the hula girl. Don’t worry about that. You have the dignity to carry off whatever you wear. We don’t have any trick or treaters so Snickers did not have to suffer a costume.

  14. evi says:

    dear miss harper lee, i can understand that you feel humiliated… but i have to say that the pink hat looks very sweet on you πŸ™‚

  15. cafall says:

    Our pups didn’t have to wear costume’s either. We cheat though by sitting outside with them – no doorbells and it’s too dark to really see what the kids are wearing.

    Monty and Harlow

  16. HERE’S TO MISS HARPER LEE AND HOW SHE DOES THE HULA!!! HULA, HULA, HUUULAAAAA!!!

    Wally & Sammy
    xxx

  17. Oh gurl….this is just terribles!!! What are the peeps doin’ to us??!! Wrong. Just wrong.
    Okays, so you DO look adorables in your outfits, and your furs look mighty lovely,and you do looks happy (though, I know this is just the work of a very good actress, right?!)…
    Wells, there are margaritas at my place!!! That makes everythings better, right?! BOL
    Oh, and I thinks your Moms should fill that bucket with treaties for all the humiliation…
    just sayin….
    Kisses,
    Ruby β™₯☺

  18. Miss harper lee glory feels your pain. She was a hula girl too with coconut boobs. You look beautiful.

  19. Rebekah says:

    Oh, evil trickery. But you’re gorgeous.

  20. Misaki says:

    you look so cute in your bandana:-)

  21. 2browndawgs says:

    LOL I don’t know, I think it is a great costume and very creative. πŸ™‚ You look adorable. The golden we had before the Chessies would allow me to dress him up so he got all the real costumes. One year he was Chippen-dog after the Chippendales…lol. Talk about humiliation. πŸ™‚

  22. Dogs N Pawz says:

    The pink stetson is our favorite and by the way, we thinks you are beautiful no matter what you are dressed up in! We were lucky cause our mommy didn’t dress us up this Halloween:-)


Leave a Reply

