Callin’ Baton Rouge*

Red Stick thek9harperlee

Quite a while ago, I was asked by Shaye at Simply Shaye: Living Life One Day at a Time to write a post for DogVacay that shows how I represent my hometown in a fun and quirky way. My hometown is Baton Rouge, Louisiana. Baton Rouge is French for Red Stick, so obviously as a dog I just love a city with stick as part of its name. Baton Rouge is a great little city for dogs. We have lots and lots of public parks for walks and fun; and when we get tired of walks in the parks, there’s always the Mississippi River levee. We’re welcoming a growing number of dog-friendly restaurants, and autumn is the perfect time to enjoy outdoor dining in the Red Stick. Baton Rouge is home to the Port of Baton Rouge on the Mighty Mississippi River, and we’re the state capitol of Louisiana.

Calling Baton Rouge 1 thek9harperlee

But  more than anything, Baton Rouge is a college football kind of town. We are home to Louisiana State University and Southern University. A couple of weeks ago, both schools celebrated homecoming, which made me start thinking about how much I would love to be LSU’s homecoming queen. I looked into it, and apparently I don’t qualify. Something about having to be a full-time student. I’m sure it had nothing to do with the fact that I have four legs, floppy ears, and a tail that wags.

Calling Baton Rouge 2 thek9harperlee

So I decided that I’ll stick to being a super fan. Honestly, I think it just might be a whole lot more fun than being a homecoming queen.

Calling Baton Rouge 3 thek9harperlee

This is a big week for LSU football fans in Baton Rouge. We call it Bama Week–the week that our Fighting Tigers take on the Alabama Crimson Tide. Frankly, sports fans, we face a bit of an uphill battle. We’re in a rebuilding year (that’s what they all say, right?), and our Number Thirteen-ranked Tigers have to travel to Tuscaloosa to face the Number One-ranked Tide. Most of the sports pundits have jumped to January and already have Alabama playing in (if not winning) the final BCS championship game. But here in Baton Rouge, hope springs eternal. After all, Baton Rouge is a college football kind of town, so in the middle of the week hope always springs eternal that our LSU Tigers can roll the Tide when Saturday night comes around. Wish us luck!

*The title of this post comes from a Garth Brooks song that’s played in Tiger Stadium before the start of every LSU football game. I hope you’ll click here to listen to the song and see a great video of some beautiful scenes from South Louisiana, Baton Rouge, Louisiana State University, and Tiger Stadium. Enjoy, and Geaux Tigers!

20 Comments on “Callin’ Baton Rouge*”

  1. Roll that Tide, Miss Harper Lee!! We just love your accessories and total Fan Gear!! Our casa will be pulling for the Baton Rouge Boys!! 🙂

  2. Kuruk says:

    Oh Miss Lee, your hometown sound so wonderful! Maybe someday I will come visit you! Wooooowoooooo, xx Ku

  3. I can’t wait to visit Baton Rouge and NOLA someday! The pictures are always so beautiful. I have my Western Carolina University Catamount hoodie all set to wear Sat. night. Catamounts aren’t as fierce as Tigers, but still a member of the feline family. Plus the colors are purple and gold. I live in a college town, too. So I was disappointed that you didn’t include the point spread about the upcoming game. If I were a betting woman, I’d take LSU and the points, unless you know of an injury or something that I don’t. I love it when you play tour guide of beautiful places!

    • Thank you so much for the purple and gold support! As my mommy types this, we are listening to local sports radio, which of course is all Tigers all the time. There has been a lot of discussion about the widening point spread, and everyone seems a bit confused about it. Word is we are as healthy as we’ve been all season. But then again, Bama has Nick Saban,–or Satan as we like to call him–and they are at home. 😉

  4. Fernando1958 says:

    I can’t imagine a better queen than Miss Harper Lee. Their lost.
    good luck on that football game.
    to me each team has 50% chances to win: the best team wins, or the team with the biggest heart wins.

  5. What a great review of your home town. Sounds like a lovely place. Been to New Orlienes once and that was a great place. Your lucky to live where it is warm.

    • Thank you. This time of year is absolutely beautiful, and we really shouldn’t complain about our winters (although we do), but our summers can be long and hot. Not fun for girls with golden fur coats. 😉

  6. 2browndawgs says:

    Thanks for telling us about your wonderful city!

  7. Can’t wait to visit Baton Rouge someday and I am very sorry about the dang home coming queen requirements. You are SOOO darn cute MHL especially next to purple and yellow.

  8. Jan K says:

    You are a great representative for your hometown, Miss Lee. It sounds like a wonderful place! You would have made a lovely homecoming queen too.

  9. Baton Rouge sounds like a great town!!! I bet Louisiana is really pretty!

  10. followingroy says:

    Full-time student to be a homecoming queen!? Humph….their loss. You would have been the perfect queen.


Leave a Reply

