Mmm Mmm Meatballs!

Meatballs 8 thek9harperlee

My humans finally did it. After much persistent begging–yes, I’ll admit to it–they finally got a Bark Box subscription for me. When I received my first special package last month, I might have been a little over-enthusiastic. I might have eaten the bully stick a little too quickly. And I might have thrown up, leading my humans to change the name from Bark Box to Barf Box. Lesson learned: Moderation is the key to enjoying your Bark Box subscription. So when thisΒ month’s Bark Box arrived, I decided that I would slowly savor its contents.

Meatball 2 thek9harperlee

I carefully reached into the box, pulled out the Your Dog’s Diner Mutt Meatballs package, carried it to my bed (because that’s where I take all things I love), and started to play with it. That’s when my human mommy had toΒ explain to me that itΒ isn’t a toy; it’s a treat mix. Even better!

Meatball 3 thek9harperlee

So I joined her in the kitchen to prepare my very special Mutt Meatball treats. We added one egg and some very lean ground meat (trust me, it was better than the meat my humans usually eat) to the all-organic contents of the package–organic rolled oats, organic spinach flakes, organic red bell pepper, organic parsley, and organic basil. Admit it, humans who are reading this, you’re drooling right now, aren’t you?

Meatballs 5 thek9harperlee

Mommy wouldn’t allow me to mix the contents–something about trust or the lack thereof; I’m not sure; my nose was over-riding my brain at that point–so she did the honors. She made little teaspoon-sized meatballs. We put some in the oven and froze some uncooked so we can take them out and bake them little by little.

Meatballs 4 thek9harperlee

While the meatballs were in the oven, I helped Mommy with the clean-up duties. I love cleaning up!

Meatballs 6 thek9harperlee

In 30 minutes, we took the Mutt Meatballs out of the oven and drained them on some paper towels. Don’t they look fabulous? I even caught Mommy taking a little bite of one and then saying, “I may put these in your daddy’s spaghetti this weekend.” Shhh, don’t tell Daddy!

Meatballs 7 thek9harperlee

Finally it was time for me to do the ultimate taste test. (Those are my daddy’s fingers. I just don’t want you to think my mommy has man hands!) Mmm mmm good! Two paws way up for Your Dog’s Diner Mutt Meatballs. We can do that again, Mommy!

43 Comments on “Mmm Mmm Meatballs!”

  1. Reblogged this on thek9harperlee and commented:

    Please pardon the reblog on this post. Some of my email friends didn’t receive it, and I certainly don’t want them to miss out on news of these yummy treats!

  2. Oh, Miss Harper Lee, what a good ‘cleanup helper’ you are. Enjoy!

  3. Kuruk says:

    OMD Miss Lee, that looks so yumwumwumwumwum! Wooooowoooooo!

  4. MH Hatcher says:

    My mommy is cracking up over this post – especially the part about the “man hands” and the possibility of putting your meatballs in your daddy’s spaghetti!! Harper Lee, we love your mommy’s sense of humor. I’m going to ask my mommy to think about getting me a Bark Box subscription, too!
    Love,
    Jefferson

    • Mommy was really concerned that someone might mistake those fingers for her fingers. πŸ˜‰ I think my humans just might be even more excited than I am when our mailman, Mr. Leroy, delivers the Bark Box each month!

  5. Emma says:

    Oh yummy, the muttballs sound wonderful. Did your dad enjoy them too πŸ˜‰

  6. Yummy meatballs! I wish I had a Bark Box. Mom still hasn’t ordered me one. They look super fun! Nice work with the cleaning up, Miss HL.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    • We love Bark Box because they send us things that we haven’t ever seen before. So far we’ve just done the three-month subscription, but we’ve gotten enough treats to last a year. Mommy’s a little tight on the treat distribution. πŸ˜‰

  7. Dina says:

    Mom made me those once. Just without all the fancy mixes- she only added oregano.

  8. you are eating better than me. looks very yummy

  9. Thanks for re posting, I didn’t get this one in my email. Finger licking good. Looks like great stuff. I would even try it!

  10. Mmmmmmm!! Those look delish! I gotta get Mom to get some for me too!

  11. Our mouthes are watering!!!

  12. dogtailsblog says:

    Oh wow, I might have to look online for the mix! Yummm

  13. cafall says:

    We will have to look them up – they look delicious!

    Monty and Harlow

  14. You are very lucky to be an only child Miss Harper Lee. I’m not telling the Sundogs about the Bark Box because it is not a possibility in a household with five dogs. The Sundogs are lucky enough to have pet insurance…..although they could care less about insurance.

  15. Jessica says:

    This post cracked me up! You were such a good helper for your Mommy! πŸ™‚

  16. Anna Coffin says:

    I need to get bark box for my dogs. Those meatballs look good enough to eat! One lucky dog.

  17. dogdaz says:

    What a lucky dog you are. My girls would love a Barf box, but they can do it with out spending money. BOL

  18. Misaki says:

    They look AMAZING!!

  19. Rebekah says:

    Barf Box-hahahaha!!! We havent made our meatballs yet, but now I cannot wait to!

  20. Oh….my….giddy…dog…aunt!!! JUST LOOK AT THOSE MEATBALLS!!!!!! We’re drooling all over the keyboard!
    Wally & Sammy

  21. 2browndawgs says:

    Those look delicious! A little pasta and a salad and they are a meal. No? Just for doggies. πŸ™‚

  22. I love the picture of Ms. Harper licking your fingers!


Leave a Reply

