My Big Pick for the Big Game

Big Pick 1 thek9harperlee

It’s almost here, friends. The Sunday when all of America gathers around some television somewhere to watch a whole bunch of really big grown men run around a field chasing a ball. Hey, dogs do that very same thing every single day at dog parks all around the world. But apparently this is different. This is what the humans refer to as “an event.” While a few humans will be very interested in the game itself, most are just in it for the party. And a few will be taking potty breaks during the game so they can be back in their seats for the commercials (at least a couple of which feature some very talented dogs).

Big Pick 2 thek9harperlee

Naturally, my crazy human mommy insisted that I get involved in the big game by picking the eventual winner of that gorgeous sterling silver Lombardi Trophy. Being the genius liberal arts major that she is, Mommy came up with this brilliant scientific plan: Let’s put treats on two different plates and then label one Seattle Seahawks and the other Denver Broncos. Then let’s see which one Miss Harper Lee picks.

At this point, I feel an obligation to issue the following warning: No matter what you do, please do not take this information to Las Vegas. A liberal arts major is asking a dog to head toward either one plate or the other and pick a treat to determine a kind of important match-up in the “gaming” world. The following information, as they say, is for “entertainment purposes” only.

Big Pick 3 thek9harperlee

So I chose the Denver Broncos, and here’s my reasoning. I am a huge New Orleans Saints fan. Archie Manning played for the Saints . . . back when humans attending the games wore paper bags over their heads, but that’s beside the point . . . and Broncos quarterback Peyton Manning is Archie’s son. Therefore, I am for the Broncos.

Big Pick 6 thek9harperlee

But wait. Mommy, the liberal arts major, decided that perhaps my pick was not “scientific” enough–really?–and that we should try one more time to make sure that I actually intended to pick the Broncos as the winner of the big game. No problem with me, Mommy. Load those two plates with more treats and let me have one more go at it.

Big Pick 4 thek9harperlee

And the Lombardi Trophy goes to the Seattle Seahawks. So my reasoning for this pick is even more farfetched than the whole Saints-Peyton connection, but bear with me. My very fun blogging, Instagram, and Twitter friends the Cascadian Nomads are huge Seahawks fans. They even dress up in 12th Man gear to show their support, so I have to back their team. Right? Well, not according to Mommy, whose liberal-arts-major brain was now blown by my conflicting big game picks. So, you guessed it, she insisted that I make one more pick to break the tie.

Big Pick 5 thek9harperlee

At this point, I couldn’t help but laugh at Mommy. I had this game figured out. If I pick a different team every single time, this could go on and on all day long and I could get more and more and more and more and more treats. Bring on Round 3.

Big Pick 7 thek9harperlee

Well, Mommy decided this would be the final round, a best-two-out-of-three kind of thing. Turns out liberal arts majors do have some sense after all. So I very carefully approached both plates . . . one marked Denver Broncos and one marked Seattle Seahawks.

Big Pick 8 thek9harperlee

And I made my choice.

Big Pick 9 thek9harperlee

So, now you tell me who you thought I picked to win the big game!

37 Comments on “My Big Pick for the Big Game”

  1. This was just too cute and oohhhhhh sooo scientific!!! (wink!) I hate Denver due to my ties to the Cleveland Browns…….so I am hoping you picked the Seahawks

  2. Emma says:

    We don’t really care since our team isn’t playing, but most of the friends we have in person and online are in the Seattle area, so we are Seahawks fans this weekend. Is that who you picked?

  3. PigLove says:

    Oh Harper – not only gorgeous but smart as well. Bless your heart!! Personally, I’m going for the Broncos cause I kind of like Manning. But on the other hoof, earlier the day of the Super Bowl I am going to be watching *our* super bowl. You know the one and only Puppy Bowl! We never miss that. XOXO – Bacon

  4. MH Hatcher says:

    Harper Lee – I bet you had so many treats when you and your mommy took pictures for this post. You are one lucky girl !! I don’t know why my mommy was laughing hysterically when you made reference to your mommy’s liberal arts degree – hmmm, my mommy has one of those too! Something about sociology and anthropology. I don’t know what those are….I’m not sure if she does either. Well, I’m thinking you chose the Broncos (you even got to eat off of porcelain plates – I bet they made your treats taste extra good!).
    Love,
    Jefferson

  5. HAHA that was cute. I’m not in to football but will have the game on and eat lots of food. Have a great weekend.

  6. as in a tennis match, you should have picked 2 treats in a row from the same plate for the ‘game’ to stop. I think mom stiff you a little bit 🙂

  7. Cascadian Nomads says:

    Science is delicious! 🙂 Thanks for having at least one treat for us, Miss Harper Lee. We hope you picked one more for our Seahawks because then there will be more cute 12th dog photos when the trophy comes to Cascadia on Tuesday. Either way, enjoy the big game on Sunday… We envy that you get to be a bit more laid back about it, we’re very nervous and excited… scientifically speaking of course.

    • When the Saints finally played in the big game, my humans were a nervous wreck. My human mommy realized when the game was over, and the Saints had won, that she didn’t remember one single commercial. She had been so fucused on the game! Try to relax and enjoy (I lknow, there’s no way), because there are few things as fantastic as watching your team in a Super Bowl. 🙂

  8. fozziemum says:

    Harper I think clearly the winner is you..score on all fronts for conning mum out of treats 😉 Down Under our idea of Superbowl is an extra big bowl of treats 🙂 have a great Superbowl ! hugs Fozziemum xx

  9. I, too, was a Liberal Arts Major, Miss Harper Lee, yet I still felt the first vote was definitely correct–albeit not especially scientific–but you do what you have to do (to get more treats). I understand the concept.
    I have my fingers crossed that your first decision will stand. Being from Colorado, you know, affects my hopes here.

    • I’m just hoping that my mommy decides to do this same silly thing for the NCAA basketball playoff. That goes on for a coupe of weeks and there are so many games to pick I could gain at least 10 pounds!

  10. OMG! Well done! Maybe you can take over for “The Puppy Predictors!?”

  11. […] My Big Pick for the Big Game – TheK9HarperLee […]

  12. Ruby says:

    I think being the decision maker (aka treat eater) is a great job. I’m going to say you picked the Seahawks… 🙂 Even though I’m from Colorado I would root for the Seahawks over the Broncos but I have no desire to be attacked by an angry mob of diehard Broncos fans. 😉

  13. FireBonnet says:

    I think you should now do a post on who will win the Animal Planet’s Puppy Bowl … you should get lots of treats on that one.

  14. Rebekah says:

    Go Broncos! As a Colts fan, I will always be a Peyton fan!

  15. Jan K says:

    When I saw your title, I thought you were going to help me make my decision for the betting pool I am in with my family. Thanks for nothing. LOL….So, I ended up picking Denver and I’m going to say that’s who you went with too.

  16. dorysbackyard says:

    We like Peyton and the Broncos for kinda the same reason as your Mama, except Mama likes his brother Eli and the NY Giants, and since the Giants didn’t make it, the Beoncos are the next best thing!

    We’re just in it for the cheetos that fall on the ground!
    Smileys!
    Dory, Jakey, Arty & Bilbo

  17. Sam says:

    Haha – we aren’t big sports fans here in our house. It will be just another quiet Sunday for us – well, except that the neighbors will all be noisy.

    Monty and Harlow

  18. 2browndawgs says:

    LOL either way you were right!

  19. Marcie says:

    Sounds like you had the game figured out…unfortunately your mommy didn’t let you keep going with the ‘pick one then the other’ approach for very long. 🙂


Leave a Reply

