Harper Lee from A to Z: J is for JOINTS

J thek9harperlee

Today, I would like to address the subject of joints. Oh, wait a minute. Maybe I should be a little clearer. I’m not talking about the kind of joints that were just legalized in Colorado. I’m talking about my joints . . . specifically my hips and elbows. When I was a little less than a year old, I was diagnosed with hip and elbow dysplasia. (You can read more about my happy hips and elbows by clicking here.) As you can imagine, this was a hard diagnosis for my humans to hear.

But we are all pleased to report that, more than four years later, I am doing quite well. I take daily walks to strengthen my muscles; I maintain my girlish figure; and I go to rehab (not the Lindsay Lohan kind) every other week to exercise on an underwater treadmill. I also take daily doses of Dasuquin and fish oil tablets. Dasuquin is a joint health supplement, and studies have shown that taking it with fish oil tablets can improve its effectiveness. If nothing else, the fish oil keeps my golden coat beautiful.

My humans and I aren’t certain what the future may hold . . . but, then again, who is. For the moment, we are all happy with my joints . . . I mean my hips and elbows.

This post is part of the Blogging from A to Z April Challenge. See you tomorrow!

Click the link below to connect with other pet bloggers who are doing the A to Z Challenge.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

27 Comments on “Harper Lee from A to Z: J is for JOINTS”

  1. MH Hatcher says:

    Aww, so happy the supplements are helping. Jefferson began taking the exact ones about two months ago – he loves them!! Harper Lee, there’s no doubt in my mind that you have many more years of health and happiness ahead of you. Your mommy and daddy take such great care of you!

  2. Dolce and Amore take their spoonful of sugar with theirs too!

  3. Bernie Mac says:

    Hehe, glad to hear your humans are taking such good care of you. You post made us giggle quite a bit. Have a good weekend 🙂
    berniethefrenchie

  4. Ruby says:

    I’ve been looking into starting Zu on supplements so thanks for the info Miss Harper Lee! I’m very concerned about looking after her joints…and here in Colorado I can legally do that. 😉

    • 🙂 🙂 🙂 I am so happy that the information is helpful. My humans have learned far more than they ever wanted to know about joints . . . the hips and elbow kind, that it. 🙂

  5. So happy you are strong and healthy, Miss HL. Plus, medicine is delicious!

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    • Thank you so much, Cupcake. My humans put my supplements right into my bowl with breakfast and dinner and I gobble them right up. I think I’d miss them if they weren’t there!

  6. Isn’t it funny how the word “rehab” takes on a completely different meaning as we get older! Not quite as scandalous…

    Stephanie Faris
    http://stephie5741.blogspot.com

    • Definitely different; but I did meet a really nice younger gentleman Golden Retriever when I was at rehab last week. It made me feel a bit like Liz Taylor when she met Larry Fortensky at Betty Ford. 😉

  7. Kristin says:

    I’m so happy you are doing well!!! Haha, I like the joints/joints joke!! You’re so cute and sassy!!

  8. Dina says:

    You mentioned a lot of drug links….are you trying to tell us something? …….JKS…BOL! Good to hear you are doing well!

  9. Jan K says:

    It sounds like your humans are managing your joint issues very well, Miss Lee, and I hope you continue to do so well.
    My goodness, you’re on J already? I am so far behind!!

    • Thank you! We’ve had the occasional setback and learned more than we ever wanted to know about dysplasia, but overall things are going extremely well and we are extremely thankful.

  10. Great post! Both products are excellent, we use Dasaquin in our clinic.

    • Thank you! We started off with Cosuquin and then switched to Dasuquin. We’re currently considering switching to a food that is specially formulated for joint care, but I don’t really want to change her food because she does so well on what she is currently eating (no skin allergies and no weight gain). We’re also thinking about Adequan injections. Uugghh . . . so much to consider. 😦

  11. Emmadog says:

    It is funny, but every dog has things that work for them. We tried Dasequin twice with my sister Katie and it was not helpful at all but other supplements have been. We are glad it is working for you as it supposedly works well for most dogs.

  12. My cat takes supplements. Good blog post to make people aware….some people don’t know that animals can take these.

  13. 2browndawgs says:

    Glad you have such a great plan to help your joints. 🙂


Leave a Reply

